We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From reading all the reviews I think I was expecting something so exceptional. Upon check in I was in awww, beautiful resort, cold drink made for us then up to our room beautiful....until I go to the bathroom and noticed throw up splatter from the previous guest! Not quite clean and it took them almost to the next day to get it cleaned. Called to let them know went to the beach came back and still not cleaned, it took 3 visits before my boyfriend had to walk them to the toilet to show them the throw up splatter! The restaurants were wonderful food was fantastic. The weather was perfect. Unbelievable not one insect, I even cut the air off and kept the patio door open to get the ocean breeze. I have traveled to other Islands and other resorts and felt more genuine love. Although the resort is nice the workers looked worked and not quite enjoying what they do. Let's just say they show up and do their jobs. No love felt. I met maybe two workers who seemed to be having authentic fun with their jobs. Also, I was not too happy that the taxi provided at the resort to ride to the strip (15 min) ride cost us $90 US dollars. that was crazy and put a bad taste in my mouth. Overall, Well worth the money spent!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosweet4u2deny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,589 - 4,595 of 6,877 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I cannot say enough amazing things about this resort. Just spent a week here in Montego Bay. Was totally spoiled for a week. Fabulous restaurants, amazing beach and accomodations, if something wasn't exactly what we wanted it was fixed IMMEDIATELY. Beautiful surroundings.....Immaculate room overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Great food and buffet, the staff and employees are all friendly and make sure you have what you want. We went on a few excursions which were all great. Zipline, snorkeling, trip to Dunn's River Falls......the whole week was FABULOUS. Kudos to the staff, a big thanks to Carissa who accompanied us on a trip to Margaritaville and to Renae who checked us in. We will be back! A big thanks to everyone who made this past week possible!

Room Tip: A view of the Caribbean Sea is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and are happy to be advised that you had a full week of ‘paradise’ here at Secrets Wild Orchid.

We do take much pride in creating just the right environment for a great vacation and will remain committed to ensuring that the standards of the Secrets brand are maintained to ensure that our guests are satisfied with our overall service delivery.

We are indeed happy in knowing that you enjoyed the restaurants, beach and accommodations. Customer service is our number 1 priority and it is pleasing to know that you were provided with excellent prompt service in times of need. It is always good to experience ‘Jamaica itself’ and it is great that you were able to explore outside of the resort, engaging in the different excursions offered.

We thank you for the acknowledgment of Carissa and Renae; it is greatly appreciated as this recognition can be a motivational factor for them both.

Once again thank you for posting your review and we look forward to your return visit soon.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from a two week stay and we enjoyed every minute. Great Resort! Accommodation, food and all amenities were very good. But what makes Secrets Wild Orchid so special are the staff. Warm, welcoming and will go out of their way to make your stay so enjoyable. They greet you with a "Welcome Home" and it certainly felt like it. Special mention for Andrew in the Lobby bar and his "Sexy Margaritas" Beach waitresses, Kamara, for her wonderful smile and warm genuine greeting and to Kedishia for her extrovert fun loving craziness! Also to Lemar and Ryan in Portofino restaurant for their great service and impromptu singing and dancing (whilst serving) to the live show! It was our first time in Jamaica but will not be out last. Had a fantastic holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us via Trip Advisor and are fulfilled at the fact that you had a ‘fantastic holiday’.

We are delighted that we were able to host you at our beautiful resort and it is very pleasing to hear that you had a ‘fabulous’ stay. I will be sure to pass on your commendations to our department so they can be shared with the persons mentioned. We are very grateful for the time you have taken to update us on the quality of your stay.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we most certainly value your input as this increases the confidence of our team members and undoubtedly other team members will be encouraged and strive to achieve the same level of excellence which you had the pleasure of experiencing.

We are happy that you enjoyed our Resort and we look forward to welcoming you Home again soon.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 6 night stay at Secrets Wild Orchid for our honeymoon. The property is immaculate with a variety of trees and plants. We really enjoyed the room with a very comfortable king bed and nice linens. The vast majority of employees were friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the excellent service of Leo at the WO pool (try his ‘energizer’ frozen drinks), Daemon (bell hop) and Isaac (bike tour guide). Overall the food was excellent with the exception of our breakfast in bed which came with rubbery cold eggs and stale hash browns.

The catamaran tour which includes snorkeling and a visit to Margaritaville was really a blast! We also enjoyed the shopping tour as it was a good opportunity to see Jamaica outside of the gates at Secrets. If you are there on Thursday night, the beach party is fun too!

I strongly suggest taking sufficient small bills for tipping. When we ran out of money, it was nearly impossible to get change from anyone at the resort. The Foreign Exchange window only had $100 and $50 bills the first time we checked. The next day the attendant was rude and only had $20 bills to dispense (after charging an 18% fee to get cash on my credit card). The front desk never has any change and their only recommendation was to ask the bell hops for change. At checkout, we had an $11 charge on our room and the front desk employee was offended when I handed her a $20 bill and didn’t have exact change. Although this might seem minor, it became extremely frustrating when we couldn’t tip the employees who were providing excellent service. Secrets needs to fix this issue!

One other issue was with the air conditioning. The thermostat wouldn’t allow you to go below 22.8°C (73°F) and would cut off in the middle of the night for hours at a time. The power went out entirely on our last night from about 2am to 4am. These things happen, but preventing guests from lowering the AC below 73°F on a Caribbean island doesn’t seem to fit with a 5 star resort.

Overall, we had a good time and enjoyed the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Your shared experience with us is greatly appreciated! We are happy to know you had a ‘good time’ and you enjoyed the many amenities offered to you at our resort.

It is great to know you were satisfied with the grounds, your accommodation, the team members, and the entertainment activities. Your recognition of Leo, Daemon and Isaac is invaluable to them and will be passed on to our Human Resources Department so that they can be duly recognized.

We truly regret that we were unable to provide you with an entirely great stay and that our service delivery was sub-par in addressing your concerns with change as well as room temperature. We thank you for bringing this to our attention as it is with this type of feedback that we are able to re-assess our current practices with a view to implementing the changes necessary to consistently deliver on our promise of Unlimited Luxury.

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we do look forward to a return visit as we continue to enhance and perfect our product.

Best regards,
Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A friend and I visited Secrets Wild Orchid April 7th to the 14th, and we had the time of our lives. We decided against preferred club, and stayed in a junior suite (room 2529). The room was gorgeous! We had a beautiful view of the pool and the ocean, with an incredible sunset. It was kept spotless by Nicola, our housekeeper, and our mini-bar and coffee/tea tray were always full, courtesy of Hillary, who came by every morning to see what we might need. Room service was always prompt and friendly. Try the mango juice!

The food is delicious. My friend is a vegetarian, and was always able to find something to eat at the evening restaurants. Our favourite place for lunch was the Barefoot Grill, which served an amazing veggie burger, as well as many other snacks. They were out the first day we were there, but the manager, Xavian, tracked one down specially for my friend, which made her day. Every time he saw us, he took the time to see how we were, and made us feel like family. Xavian also ran the Jamaican cooking class, which I highly recommend. You get to jerk your own fish, then enjoy a patois lesson while it cooks. It's so good, I've started making it at home. We tried every restaurant, except Himistu, and enjoyed them all. All the wait staff were friendly, and we never had to wait long for a table or food. The food at the Mexican place was a little strong, but still quite enjoyable. My favourite dinner was at the Blue Mountain. It was both the first, and the last restaurant we ate at, and our hostess, Martina, remembered us. She, and our server, Troy, made our last night special, wishing us a speedy return. Troy went out of his way, to make my friend feel like a princess, and it worked. The smile on her face, when he served her dessert, off of his head, was priceless.
The entertainment was great. The Pace band was awesome, and played a great mix of songs. The piano Bar was great, with lots of laughs, and great music. The entertainment crew, including Bon Jovi, Vanessa, and Happy Feet, kept the party going, and got people dancing. There was also volleyball, and other activities during the day. The Sundial (a pamphlet you receive each day), has a complete itinerary full of fun things to do. My favourites included watching the Pace Band, the karaoke, and the circus performers. There are also water sports offered. We tried para-sailing, and loved it. There is a Club (Desire's Lounge) that is open until about two am. Amazing drinks, and lots of music. A lot of top 40, but if you ask the DJ for something more local, he's happy to oblige. The booze was amazing and plentiful. Our favourite bartenders were O'Neil, at the Desires Lounge, and Dermon, at the Wild Orchid Lobby Bar.
The people at the front desk were always extremely helpful, as were all the other staff we came across.

The beach was clean, and despite what I read before coming, I never had a problem finding two unclaimed chairs. Not only were there beach chairs, there were also outdoor day beds and hammocks. During the day you can find the jelly man, handing out coconuts to drink from, as well as the jerky man, who makes amazing chicken, and some people handing out fresh fruit.

In conclusion, we loved our time at secrets, and would love to return. We avoided preferred club, and were glad we did, as it seemed less social, and offered limited upsides that we could see. We would like to thank the following people: Ruth & Nichola from house keeping, Devon Cunningham- driver, Xavian Roach (this man deserves a raise!) manager Barefoot Grill, Anthony Campbell- night time cleaning, Garfield- bellhop, Vanessa, Bon Jovi, and Happy Feet-entertainment, Dermon & O'neil-bartenders, Benford and kevin from watersports, Patrick- server at Portofinos, Kevin at the front desk, DJ Manny- music, and Martina and Troy from the Blue Mountain.

And a special thanks to all the managers, servers, hostesses, groundskeepers, photographers and performers, whose names I didn't catch.Thanks for making this an experience of a lifetime!

Sincerely,
Drew Stanford

Room Tip: Above the third floor has amazing view. Our junior suite had an incredible view of the ocean and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My sister and I just returned from Secrets Wild Orchid and this is a must go to Resort in Jamaica. The place is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is fantastic. Food and entertainment was terrific. Everyone was so nice and went out their way to make us feel at home. I want to acknowledge a few special people on the entertainment staff. These girls.....Mello, Chevy, Corn Flakes, Genius, Vanessa, Cassie and Tia Maria were absolutely amazing. They always made us feel welcome and took the time to chat and get to know us. These beautiful Ladies ALL get 5 HUGE stars from us~we love you girls!!!
~Also, Billy at the piano bar...always there to get our drinks without asking...and the forever entertaining, Shane, singing his heart out every night!
Thanks for a memorable vacation~~~WE WILL BE BACK!!! Hugs, Kathy and Sandy

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to be of service to you both and we are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations.

We are glad we were able to make your vacation a ‘perfect and memorable’ one as at Secrets our team members go above and beyond to ensure our guests are provided with excellent courteous service and we are content in knowing you received this from your dining to your entertainment experiences.

We are thankful for your recognition of our team members who you thought were absolutely amazing and a copy of your review will be forwarded to our Human Resources Department so that they can be duly recognized and their files updated.

We certainly appreciate you posting your review to Trip Advisor and thank you once more for making Secrets Resorts your vacation destination.

We are anxiously waiting to welcome you back Home and look forward to being of service to you once again.

Warm regards,
Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here over memorial weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I wasn't a fan of the food. The only restaurants I enjoyed and loved were Hibatchi and Portofino. The food at the buffets, room service and pool grill reminded me of a carnival cruise, but worse. The service was amazing and the hotel is full of employes to help you out in whatever you need. They had a beautiful bonfire at night by the beach where they would sing & you had the option to make smores. There was entertainment at all hours of the day till 2am which we loved! The hotel was kept really clean, I was impressed with the rooms and how comfy the beds are.

If you plan on booking any tours while you stay I recomend not doing it from the hotel. The tour companys are very commercialized and you would just be a number on a bus with crowds of people. I suggest you contact LIBERTY TOURS JAMAICA, we are so glad we called them. Ricardo was our driver & he took us on a PRIVATE tour of Jamaica and to places that were breathtaking and not full of crowds. He could customize the tour for whatever you want to do. We felt safe in his hands and he's a very respectful guy. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattyPats14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#16 of 64 in Montego Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £306 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing