We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Let me start by saying this is my first time out of the U.S. and as such, my first all inclusive resort. I traveled with my wonderful girlfriend as a surprise vacation. So how was it? AMAZING! First of all, Secrets is an amazing company and they are doing something wonderful here in Montego Bay. I heard they are opening a new resort outside of the city and I hope I can stay at that resort when it opens! The property is gorgeous and perfectly maintained. All the pools are pristine, the beaches are combed, and the restaurants are beautiful. The staff at Secrets were always greeting you with a smile and a greeting. If you ever needed anything, anywhere you were in the resort, there was someone VERY willing to help. Some names I'd like to mention specifically were our server from Portofino, Travis, the bartender at the Piano Bar, Michael, the bartender at one of the poolbars, Cordiff, and the server at the Bordeux, Dwayne. They all gave extremely professional and perfect service, along with great personalities! Half of our enjoyment of the trip came from the great people of Jamaica! I can't emphasize it enough! My girldriend mentioned how mellow I seemed on the whole trip. Its because Jamaica is so beautiful, warm and with nothing to worry about on the resort, I was truly at ease. I could go on and on about Secrets, Jamaica, and its people, but I'd rather you go experience it yourself! Two complaints I had about Secrets though...the club, Desires I think it was, smelled HORRIBLE. It was very off putting. And I was approached by several staff members, in a very friendly and subtle manner, asking if I needed drugs. I don't use drugs and while I appreciate that some people go to Jamaica for that specific reason, it made me feel uncomfortable. I had read that this happens in Jamaica, so I expected it to happen. But I still didn't like it. But those two things didn't ruin my trip! Love Jamaica and WILL be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacoma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you for your kind review and we are happy to know that we were able to make your stay an ‘amazing’ one. As a team we do our very best to provide all our guests with a great friendly atmosphere and exceptional service.

It is great in knowing that you found the different areas of our resort to be ‘gorgeous, well maintained, pristine, combed, and beautiful. Consistently good customer service is of the utmost importance to us and it is certainly thrilling to hear that our staff always greeted you with smiles and very willing to assist.

Your mention of a few of our staff members is indeed invaluable and this recognition will certainly be passed on to the relevant department for them to be duly recognized. We are indeed cheerful knowing that they were all professional and provided ‘perfect service’.

It was our extreme pleasure being of service to you and it is happy to know that you had a relaxing vacation. Feedback from our guests is welcomed as it provides us with an insight as to our guest’s experience. We thank you once again for highlighting deficiencies and certainly your time and the expression of your vacation stay – ‘paradise’. This allows us an opportunity to review our current processes and implement the changes required to ensure that we are consistently delivering the best possible service to our guests in all areas of our operations.

We are happy you had a wonderful stay with us and we can’t wait for you to return Home. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,183
    1,460
    543
    185
    99
See reviews for
445
4,450
132
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I were at Secrets Wild Orchid May 19-May 26, 2013. The resort was fabulous!!!! Everything looked as good or better than the pictures on their Facebook page and website.

The food was excellent!!! We tried all of the restaurants except for the French restaurant. My favorite was the Blue Mountain Jamaican restaurant. But, some nights the World Cafe has a buffet and you can not order off of the Mexican or Jamaican restaurant menus. So, be sure to check the schedule the housekeeping staff leaves for you every day. We never had a problem being seated at any of the restaurants. But, be sure to make your reservation for the Japanese Hibachi tables - those fill up fast.

The service was excellent (especially the bartender/server, Leo). The housekeeping staff was excellent and did a great job every day.

We LOVED the beach and the ocean. There were a lot of seating options on the beach and it was so nice to not have to worry about rushing outside to make sure you had a chair.

My only suggestion would be more “reggae” type music and access to Wi-Fi….never could get the Wi-Fi to work.

We will definitely go back to Jamaica and I am certain we will stay at Secrets Wild Orchid again.

Room Tip: Request rooms that are 3rd floor or above for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel23Lexington_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

April 2011. Great experience. All junior suite ocean views. Our cocktail guy Leo was hysterical. He gave us our drinks then dove in pool to take someone elses order. Night club was good and had the final 4 on. It was open late which you dont usually see from resorts bars and clubs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferenzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you for your shared feedback via Trip Advisor and are happy to know that you had a ‘great’ experience here with us and that you received excellent service from our team especially Leo who went above and beyond.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we are indeed pleased to know you were satisfied with the resorts facilities and that Secrets Wild Orchid is one of your favorites in the Caribbean.

It was our pleasure being of service to you and we do look forward to a return visit.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have not stayed at a lot of all-inclusive resorts, but this is the best so far. Number one, the food was very good. The breakfast buffets included just about anything you would want. The a la carte restaurants were also very good. There is a choice of French, Italian, Japanese, Seafood and Jamaican. They don't take reservations (except for the grill tables at the Japanese restaurant), but we never had a problem getting into the restaurant of our choice. All that we tried were good, but we liked the French, Italian and Seafood so much that we did not get to the others. Lobster was on the menu most nights, and it was excellent. For lunch, there is a jerk chicken cart which was very good and a seaside snack bar which was fine for a quick snack. We ate so much for breakfast and dinner that we didn't even go to the buffet for lunch and only had a sit-down lunch a couple of times (but they were good also).

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was well-appointed with a beautiful ocean view. The pool area was nice and although many people reserved lounges early and then abandoned them for a long time, it was still fairly easy to find an empty one most of the time. The pool area is large enough that one can find a quiet spot if that's what you want or an active and noisy area if that is what you want. We opted for the quiet areas and we met some really nice people there from other areas of the U.S. and from Canada. The swimup bar area isn't very large and people tended to "park' there so it was not very accesable, but the servers do a good job of supplying drinks at your lounge chairs. We enjoyed our one visit to the spa, although it was pretty pricey.

My only disappointment was the beach areas. The beaches are rocky (both in and out of the water), so beach shoes are a must if you want to spend any time in the water. In addition, there are several beach areas broken up by rocky outcropings so there is not a long stretch of uninterrupted beach to walk. In spite of this, we had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We wanted to stay in the "preferred" area, but it was booked. It turned out that we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarienBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We did not want to leave food and drinks were wonderful I can't wait until we can go back service was great. Only thing I would change wouldn't upgrade the room wasn't worth the money. Had trouble getting into internet service. Wish the weather would of been better but next time we. Will look that up I would definitely recommend this hotel the little stuff didn't matter

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uden7682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review via trip Advisor. We are content in knowing that you had a great vacation here with us and to know that you enjoyed the ‘wonderful food and beverage’ as well as the ‘great service’. As it was our pleasure to have hosted you here; we do look forward to your return visit and to welcome you back Home with warm smiles.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I went here for a wedding with a rather large group of friends. Let me be honest, I am not one to go on vacation and sit. I prefer to move and see things, that being said, everyone in my party did not want to go off the resort, we stayed on the resort. It was a wonderful time.

The people were very polite, ready to do anything they could for you. They embodied the Jamaican spirit of "no problem mon." Although the resort was all inclusive, they were offering great service. When they cleaned the room, they did not just move things aside and clean around, they cleaned and folded the clothes.

The pools were great, they had a nice workout facility (yes, I am one of those people.) They had a small casino with slots and pool tables and ping pong tables and other entertainment. They did have water sports that you could pay extra to do, I did it and had a blast.

The food was good. They would offer room service any time throughout the day. They had a total of six restaurants of any variety. For lunch they only had three places, but let's be honest are you really going to be up that early? The wedding was wonderful.

We stayed in a preferred club room. They had a fully stocked bar that you could walk up to and get whatever you wanted as well as snacks.

This is a 21 and up resort. I would also say go as a couple, not alone, you won't find many people to pick up here.

Why the 4? two things bothered me a lot one, they never said that there were Jelly Fish in the water. Minor detail I know, but when we went into the water at night security told us to get out of the water, but not why. We assumed that they didn't want us swimming for our safety, we did not think that by walking on the beach at night would get us stung. Second, the incense in the hotel lobby was a bit much. (I know, I know)

Room Tip: Go ahead and go for preferred, it's well worth it. Also, the swim up is not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flakenbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a phenomenal hotel! It looks JUST LIKE the website, which cannot always be said about vacation locales.
Staff was great. Perhaps a little too much pressure from the time-share "like" folks on hand, but we managed to escape them! LOL
My only complaint was the "music" throughout the hotel. NEED MORE REGGAE! I don't come to Jamaica to hear "Frank Sinatra" or other "American music!" I shouldn't have to sit at the pool in the middle of the afternoon, just to hear "a little" Jamaican music. It should be in the lounges, and other public locations playing music throughout the resort.
This is what happens at other great hotels, like Half Moon and Wyndam Rose Hall. If you want us back, please UPGRADE the music to your native sounds -- REGGAE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to be of service to you and we are extremely happy to hear that Secrets Wild Orchid is a phenomenal resort.
It is indeed pleasing to know that you enjoyed your time here at the resort and the team members were great.

We are grateful for the time you have taken to update us on the quality of your stay as well as your recommendations. We have forwarded your concern/tip regarding the daily music played here on property to the respective Department Head for consideration. It is with the expression of your concerns that we are able to review current practices with the aim of implementing the changes necessary to ensure that our guest are fully satisfied during their time with us.

Your review is most appreciated and once again we thank you for sharing. It is our hope that you will make Secrets Resorts your vacation destination of choice in the future and trust that you will see marked changes overall.
We do look forward to welcoming you back Home.

Best regards,
Christina Smith
E-concierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,225 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Travelbag, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing