We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Secret's Out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent a week at this resort for a family wedding and were overwhelmed at the great place it is for both relaxing and enjoying so many activities at the same time. The staff was second to none in meeting (with smiles and courtesy) any need we had, from providing attentive (and even entertaining!) service at meals or bringing coffee and cookies to the pool deck at 6 in the morning, to walking into the ocean to deliver a drink for someone cooling off in the surf. The restaurants were excellent, and the evening entertainment very enjoyable. I just wish I could have stayed awake all night to enjoy more of it. The holiday was 51 weeks too short! Yah mon! Wow!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,801)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,087 - 4,093 of 6,801 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was our second time at Secrets, and we loved it just as much if not more. We were there with 2 other couples for a quick 3 night stay in the beginning of November. As we always do, we booked our trip with Steve from Beach Bum Vacation!

The first thing you notice upon arrival is the stunning beauty of the resort, and smiling faces. The pools, swim up bars, hot tubs, beautiful beaches, charismatic entertainment staff, and of course the anticipated daily arrival of the jerk chicken cart fill your days. Each night we went to a different restaurant, where we had delicious entrees with unlimited cocktails. (We went to Portofino, Bordeaux, and the hibachi place) Nightly we also visited the piano bar so socialize and hear some good music.

We stayed in a Preferred Club ocean view room. Beautiful view of the ocean and pools. Room service is available 24/7, which is always nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Was looking for a Great Resort with no kids and found one here...Room and room service was excellent. We were in the Preferred Presidential Suite and my Children and there spouses were in Junior Suites...All the views were perfect, and we loved the fact that we weren't bothered by people walking the beach soliciting. Very quiet and private in our area. Very clean and lots of helpful people... Loved the Jerk chicken everyday which was served from a cart// real deal!
Lots of restaurants to choose from however the Freshest was the Hibachi..
Will definitely be returning...one slight no so good would have to be that the food, while looking wonderful, did not always have great flavor...a small token from really a Super resort.!! .

Room Tip: Preferred area is nice if you like it a little more quiet...all other areas are open to all so you c...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nts. at SWO Nov. 6-12, 2013. We have stayed at many other 4-5 star all-adults, all-inclusive resorts, including one other Secrets resort, and we travel frequently to the Caribbean with our family. We both agreed this resort offered an overall wonderful experience. We would definitely return. The complex, beach, food, drinks, and activities were all outstanding, but the people really make this place---the vibe and friendliness of the staff makes your stay so enjoyable. We would recommend this resort to our family and fiiends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
Thank JTT-AMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The resort was a great place for a relaxing and entertaining honeymoon! We went the week of Nov. 10-16 and stayed in a Preferred Junior Ocean Suite.

The room was very comfortable. The bed was so nice and we both slept great every night that we were there. The view from the balcony was incredible and it was so nice to wake up to every morning! The cleaning staff and turndown staff left the room so clean and put together every day. When we ran out of shower gel, the room service to deliver it was very quick. We also got a champagne breakfast as a complimentary honeymoon gift and it was delivered exactly when we asked for it and it tasted awesome! The employee who delivered it was quick and friendly and quickly laid out the meal and departed so that we could enjoy it. The bathtub has jets and it was nice after a day of kayaking. There is also a soaking tub on the balcony and it was nice to rinse the salt water off after a day at the beach.

The food is delicious. The breakfast buffet has so many options and they are all delicious, plus you can get a bloody mary or mimosa while you wait to be seated (which never takes more than 5 minutes, but we did get there at about 8am every day). The lunch options are all on the beach and only require that you cover up your bathing suit or put on a shirt to eat. They offer simple and quick foods. For dinner, there are 5 options that are all located near the outdoor and indoor stages where the nightly entertainment is located. There are about 4-5 choices at each dinner restaurant for entrees and about 2-3 for appetizers, salads, soups, and desserts. We really enjoyed the pumpkin soup at the Jamaican restaurant, the jerk chicken at any restaurant, and the dessert everywhere! If you are a super super picky eater, you may not find something at every restaurant, but there is a central location where they keep all of the menus, so you can go find something that you like before you head to the restaurants.

The staff was very helpful and incredibly friendly! They were always willing to help you with whatever you needed and not once did they ask for a tip (the only one who did that was the shuttle driver from the airport - and we were okay with it because we planned on tipping him anyway). They were always willing to answer questions or direct you to the correct place to get your questions answered and their response when thanked was always "no problem mon" or "no worries". They were always smiling and making us feel at home. Never once did we feel like we were inconveniencing them to ask for help.

The spa was very relaxing and offered a wide variety of services. They are a little pricey and that is not included in the all-expense paid amount; but they offered coupons and discounts throughout our stay which made the prices more reasonable.

The beach and pool were incredibly beautiful. The preferred section of the resort is much more relaxed and quiet than the non-preferred section. There was always a waiter/waitress walking around to get you drinks, so you didn't have to get up if you were patient enough to wait the 15-30 minutes for them to make another trip around. After the first morning, we got down to the beach at about 8-8:30 in order to get a good spot. There were not a ton of people, but there were these open beds and sphere-shaped beds that we loved (shade for me and none for my husband because he never burns!) so we wanted to make sure that we could get them. Even the few days that we slept late, we still got great beach spots, just not the beds. Most of the lounge chairs have umbrellas over them anyway, so there really wasn't a bad spot. As for the pool, it looked great, but we never actually got into it. We are more of beach people anyway.

We took part in the non-motorized and free sports. We went kayaking one day and it was as simple as walking into sports hut and asking for a kayak. They gave us a waiver to sign and then showed us to the boats and let us loose! We had a great time taking pictures and paddling around the bay looking for fish! The water is so clear and when the sun shines, you can see fish and reefs all the way to the bottom even when you are far out in the bay! We also went snorkeling on the guided snorkeling tour. You can go on your won as well, but we wanted to see the highlights that they knew of and I'd never been before, so we thought it best that we went in a group. The group was about 10-12 people and there were 2 guides. They swam in front to keep everybody on the same path, but they also pointed out certain sights. They picked up and showed us live sand dollars and female sea urchins and taught us about them. They also made sure that they pointed out cool underwater reefs and fish and then when we swam over a shark, they made sure everybody got to see it! It was a nurse shark and the one guide actually took our underwater video camera and dove down to get it on film for us! There are a lot of other sports to take part in there, but we just chose to spend most of the time with each other relaxing instead of being involved in a ton of activities.

Overall, if we ever went back to Jamaica, we would most definitely stay in this resort or another Secrets Resort if we decided to explore another area of Jamaica! Great hotel, fantastic food, incredible staff, and beautiful views! It was an amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: Preferred area is more relaxing and quiet (beach and pool), non-preferred is more of a party.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAB11913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beautiful resort, sketchy details on resort vouchers. Room service 24 hours great snacks. Watch the greeting before you know it you realize unlimited luxury is a brand not what u necessarily get. Nice stay, didn't ruin my vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beach 3/5
There are some rocky parts and it is very narrow, not a lot of actual beach area. It certainly isn't the highlight at this resort. You could see the planes coming in and out of Montego Bay, but couldn't hear them.

Pool(s) 4+/5
Featured a swim up bar, lots of chairs, umbrellas, floaties. There was a sunny side and a more shaded side. Music could be loud at times.

Rooms 4+/5
Spacious, modern décor, Jacuzzi tub, double sinks, "do not disturb" light, digital safe and secret box for room service dishes. There was only a curtain between the bed and the bath area. Elevators (5 floors). 24hr room service. Slipper in room

Fitness n/a

Spa n/a
It was certainly cheaper than Red Lane Spa (Sandals/Beaches)

Dining 4+/5
3 omelette stations at breakfast. Good variety of a la cartes and NO reservations (other than teppanyaki grill).

Other:
There were a variety of ages at this resort. It was not stuffy at all. All the action and most of the restaurants were at the Wild Orchid side. It was quieter at the St. James side. Friendly, attentive service. You do have to pay for internet, unless you stay in a preferred club room. It was $15/day. Great themed activities, as we were there over Halloween. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fricknzorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,581 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.7 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#16 of 64 in Montego Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £298 - £644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing