We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bessemer City, North Carolina
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we Loved this place and highly recommend it. The service was wonderful (LEO), room wonderful, food wonderful and only thing bad was leaving. We were treated like royals and will return again to this resort. I did not book thru trip advisor went with my travel agent.
AGAIN WE LOVE THIS PLACE AND YES WE WOULD GO BACK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamBelt9760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,187
    1,461
    544
    185
    99
See reviews for
446
4,453
133
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,354)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canoga Park
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Kudos:
• On day 2, the hotel moved us to an ocean view room like we booked
• Spa was nice. Enjoyed the massage and facial. After I cut myself, the Spa manager and employees were empathetic
• Hotel credited back the charge for the romantic dinner after they asked us how it went
• Preferred building front desk employees were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating
• Plenty of pool chairs and umbrellas
• Plenty of choices for nightlife within the resort
• Servers at Bordeaux, Portofino and the Tepan restaurant were very good at what they do
• Loved the lobster night
• Plenty of day activities to choose from
• Housekeeping staff in the 2nd room kept our room clean and was friendly
• Coconut and jerk chicken carts

Needs improvement:
• Booked ocean view, was given a room facing the inlet before the hotel moved us on the 2nd day after we brought it to their attention
• Hotel shut off water for a couple of hours before dinner the 1st night we were there
• Seriously filthy and disgusting bath tub in the 1st room we stayed in
• The nurse was unimpressed and not empathetic with my cut. Mentioned the charge for such a visit is $40. When I said never mind, we’ll buy Neosporin, she showed us an antibiotic ointment selling for $14. Because it couldn’t be charged to the room and she didn’t have change, we paid $20. Since I got cut in the water spa bed, it should’ve been free
• Server was late for the romantic birthday dinner, which took 2 hours to finish. Server took too long between courses. Bottle of wine broke during dinner. He offered to replace but we declined fearing it would take him too long to return with a new bottle. Steak was overcooked, so was the lobster; it was gummy. Mashed potato was burnt on the bottom. Server didn’t notice we left after dessert because he was smoking and chatting with a buddy
• Beach is man-made. It’s a bay with lots of rocks and seaweed on the Wild Orchid Preferred side
• Pool people did not help in opening umbrellas and moving them
• Food at the restaurants by the pools was just ok
• Not impressed with room service menu or wait time in answering calls and delivering food
• Beds in both rooms were too soft

Secrets Wild Orchid pales in comparison with an all-inclusive resort we stayed at in Cancun. This caliber resort should not need improvement in the items listed above, maybe except for the beach. Not much can be done there.

Room Tip: Coconut trees block views on the lower rooms. Get 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Probably a very good resort for couples, but I recently attended for a conference. Due to flights, I determined it easiest to stay for an additional two days and work remotely. No internet access in the rooms (we had two boosters and still couldn't get enough of a signal to work in the room), meaning that work needed to be done adjacent to the check in desk at the preferred club. It's very awkward to be doing work in that environment, especially if calls are required to teams back home. Also, for some reason, this area had a very strong sewage odor for the duration of the week the week.

The staff in the restaurants and shops were lovely, but once you asked for assistance related to internet connectivity, scanning a document, etc. to the front desk staff it was a struggle. It seemed easier for them to pass me around than actually help.

Again, it probably is a lovely place for couples. It was uncomfortable as a business traveler to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calicayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is awesome...one of the best we ever stayed at. The staff is exceptional. Great food, drinks, and entertainment.
And very CLEAN!!!!
The beach is amazing....pool was always immaculate.
Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just got back yesterday. Had a great trip. From start to finish we did could not think of anything we would need to really improve. Food was good, never had to wait more then 5 minutes for a table and that was with them getting a table for 6 ready. Staff was always friendly and ready to go the extra mile to help you out with any requests you had.

Room Tip: We got a room on the top floor, It helped out a bit with the noise from the pool, and also the peaco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were greeted at the hotel with a cold/frozen towel which was very refreshing to cool down with after hours of traveling. We were also served a drink right away!
Check in went smoothly, with the minor issue of our room not being ready for another 2 hours. We were shown were the lobby bathrooms were to change into something more suited to the beach, and told which restaurants were open to eat lunch while we waited for our room. The bellhop watched our lagguage (I kept all our valueables with me, however)
Before we knew it our room was ready. We were on the 5th floor. only thing not "perfect" was the AC was not on very cold. My husband easily adjusted that and our room was an ice box for the rest of the stay. Only other issue with our room was the shower leaked into the toilet room. We just laid an extra towel down. Not the end of the world.
I highly recommend taking some time to just walk around and get a feel for the layout of the resort. Also, take advantage of the daily "Sundial" newsletter that is either placed on your bed with turndown service, or placed under your door if you have the "do not disturb" sign up. It wasn't until halfway through our stay that we started reading it. It will tell you what fun events and entertainment is happening and where. Bonfires, steel drum players, contests, etc.
Our favorite place to spend the day was the Wild Orchid Pool bar, Sugar Reef. The bartenders are fast and friendly. Harry, Owayne, and Leo were very entertaining. Leo would be speed-walking/running around the pool deck all day delivering drinks to anyone sitting around the pool. I have no idea how he kept that pace up all day!
The food at every restaurant is AWESOME! Don't miss the Jerk Chicken Cart when it comes by!
Our favorite restaurant was El Patio (Mexican). The manager, Geoffrey, was very nice and welcoming. He also remembered us by name when we returned to that restaurant later in our stay.
The most memorable part of our trip was sitting on the beach watching the sunset and seeing wild dolphins swim right by the beach!
I would love to go back here!

Room Tip: Room 2516 - faced the pool bar. great for people watching. but a little noisy if you want to take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannaha517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

it was the first time for my wife and i to visit Montego bay and i can honestly say staying at secret wild orchid made the trip just so much better. the numbers of restaurants and room services were amazing, the staffs were extremely friendly and helpful, beaches were simply amazing. i would honestly say this is one of the best resorts in Montego bay.

Room Tip: preferred club rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,232 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing