We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing week at Secrets Wild Orchid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing week at Secrets Wild Orchid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I am OCD about reading reviews about where to stay when we vacation so I will try and give a thorough review and pay it forward. My first time at Secrets. It is on par with the Sandals Royal Bahamian in Bahamas with better beach service at this Secrets.

My husband and I did the Preferred Club, third floor Junior Ocean View Suite. Preferred Club has its own lounge with fully stocked premium bar and great snacks and food (from sushi to grilled lobster tail to desserts, etc.). There are two computers nearby with a printer (which was awesome because I could print boarding passes for departure). The room was very nice, great views. We passed on the swim up first floor rooms and although they look nice, we're glad we had higher floor (better views over palm trees and more privacy). You get a mini bar with vodka, rum and one other liquor in your room with bottled waters, guave juice and Cokes, sprite, etc.). Would have preferred orange juice in mini bar but never asked concierge for it.

Our friends who came with us stayed on non-Preferred Club side of Wild Orchid. Their room is the same except for no mini bar and no lounge chair/tub on the deck. They did pay a little extra for Preferred Access (but not nearly as much as we did at Preferred Club side). They got to come on the Preferred side beach and pool and had access to the lounge in our building. My husband likes having mini bar in the room and I like having any chair at beach I want, so no regrets. But I do think you can have just as good a stay on the non-Preferred side. It is more crowded on that side and you may need to get up early for a "good spot" but all in all anywhere on the resort is excellent.

If you want more of a party scene, non-preferred side is the place to be. We actually enjoyed the more quiet side.

Checking in was a breeze...cold towels upon arrival and drink service as we check in. Got to the resort at noon and room was ready. Another plus!

Restaurants were great... Partofino and the French restaurant were my favorite. Service was good too.

Kerry-Ann, our server on the beach at Preferred side was amazing...always there with more drinks and even brought them to us when we were in the water. Nalina at front desk was super nice. But everyone at the resort was very friendly and always smiling.

Entertainment at night was great. Fire show, the resident band were my favorite. The resident band on Saturday night really got the crowd up and dancing.

Beautiful grounds. There are resident peacocks walking about and parrots. Got a really cool picture with parrot on my shoulder.

Very clean rooms. Always came back to fully stocked fridge and turn down service every night.

Will come again to another Secrets property. I'm sold. :-)

Tipping - it was not expected but my husband and I did tip with great service. Well worth it.

Also did a catamaran tour through agency with a desk at hotel. Was awesome. Went snorkeling and to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville with Catamaran. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,074
    1,434
    523
    180
    99
See reviews for
430
4,343
128
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,288)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Retirement celebration - we love all inclusives and and this was great - in the preferred section and that cut down the noise and crowds. Restaurants were great - we went to all of them! Japanese and seafood were the best. No wait at any restaurant. Beach was fantastic. Room was clean - we requested early housekeeping and that helped. Night turn down only occurred on a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this resort. We felt the staff was very Friendly and helpful. The food was good. The entertainment was great. The beach is small but Beautiful. The drinks were very good, just the right amount of alcohol. We would definatly return to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessemer City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

we Loved this place and highly recommend it. The service was wonderful (LEO), room wonderful, food wonderful and only thing bad was leaving. We were treated like royals and will return again to this resort. I did not book thru trip advisor went with my travel agent.
AGAIN WE LOVE THIS PLACE AND YES WE WOULD GO BACK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamBelt9760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoga Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Kudos:
• On day 2, the hotel moved us to an ocean view room like we booked
• Spa was nice. Enjoyed the massage and facial. After I cut myself, the Spa manager and employees were empathetic
• Hotel credited back the charge for the romantic dinner after they asked us how it went
• Preferred building front desk employees were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating
• Plenty of pool chairs and umbrellas
• Plenty of choices for nightlife within the resort
• Servers at Bordeaux, Portofino and the Tepan restaurant were very good at what they do
• Loved the lobster night
• Plenty of day activities to choose from
• Housekeeping staff in the 2nd room kept our room clean and was friendly
• Coconut and jerk chicken carts

Needs improvement:
• Booked ocean view, was given a room facing the inlet before the hotel moved us on the 2nd day after we brought it to their attention
• Hotel shut off water for a couple of hours before dinner the 1st night we were there
• Seriously filthy and disgusting bath tub in the 1st room we stayed in
• The nurse was unimpressed and not empathetic with my cut. Mentioned the charge for such a visit is $40. When I said never mind, we’ll buy Neosporin, she showed us an antibiotic ointment selling for $14. Because it couldn’t be charged to the room and she didn’t have change, we paid $20. Since I got cut in the water spa bed, it should’ve been free
• Server was late for the romantic birthday dinner, which took 2 hours to finish. Server took too long between courses. Bottle of wine broke during dinner. He offered to replace but we declined fearing it would take him too long to return with a new bottle. Steak was overcooked, so was the lobster; it was gummy. Mashed potato was burnt on the bottom. Server didn’t notice we left after dessert because he was smoking and chatting with a buddy
• Beach is man-made. It’s a bay with lots of rocks and seaweed on the Wild Orchid Preferred side
• Pool people did not help in opening umbrellas and moving them
• Food at the restaurants by the pools was just ok
• Not impressed with room service menu or wait time in answering calls and delivering food
• Beds in both rooms were too soft

Secrets Wild Orchid pales in comparison with an all-inclusive resort we stayed at in Cancun. This caliber resort should not need improvement in the items listed above, maybe except for the beach. Not much can be done there.

Room Tip: Coconut trees block views on the lower rooms. Get 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Probably a very good resort for couples, but I recently attended for a conference. Due to flights, I determined it easiest to stay for an additional two days and work remotely. No internet access in the rooms (we had two boosters and still couldn't get enough of a signal to work in the room), meaning that work needed to be done adjacent to the check in desk at the preferred club. It's very awkward to be doing work in that environment, especially if calls are required to teams back home. Also, for some reason, this area had a very strong sewage odor for the duration of the week the week.

The staff in the restaurants and shops were lovely, but once you asked for assistance related to internet connectivity, scanning a document, etc. to the front desk staff it was a struggle. It seemed easier for them to pass me around than actually help.

Again, it probably is a lovely place for couples. It was uncomfortable as a business traveler to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calicayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is awesome...one of the best we ever stayed at. The staff is exceptional. Great food, drinks, and entertainment.
And very CLEAN!!!!
The beach is amazing....pool was always immaculate.
Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,090 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
22.5 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Destinology, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing