We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and Enjoy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Secrets Jamaica consists of two connected resorts, Wild Orchid (where I stayed) and St James. This makes for a resort with plentiful restaurants, bars and activities, multiple pools and a long beach. But, since it's broken down into two separate resorts it doesn't feel overwhelming.

Overall this resort is a generally well managed all inclusive. What this has over the competition is:
- close to the airport (only 15 minutes) to minimize travel time
- a wide variety of restaurants. Like many all inclusives the food ranges from mediocre to good (at least by the standards of those of us who live in or near large cities in the Northeast). The only thing to write home about is the jerk chicken cart in the afternoon (be prepared to wait in line).
- plenty of seats by the pool and beach so no need to go out early to stake out a spot.
- A nice gym, kayaks, Bocce Ball.

We stayed in the Preferred Club which I'd recommend for the following reasons:
- private pool which is much quieter than the main pool.
- full bar with top shelf alcohol in the club lounge. But, after I drank too much grey goose one day one they re-filled the bottle with local vodka.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room. Although a swim out pool room has the novelty of direct pool access it mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,074
    1,434
    523
    180
    99
See reviews for
430
4,343
128
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,288)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from our second visit to Secrets Wild Orchid, and so pleased it still lives up to our wonderful trip last year!
The Service & food are amazing, the pink champagne is to die for and very pleased they have upgraded the white wine provision with a nice sauvignon blanc, Royalty I believe!
Had a lovely room on 5th floor with view out over the pool & ocean and the wonderful sunset! From the minute we stepped into the lobby we were totally looked after, they remembered and recognised us as returning guests and also that we were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. There was a lovely fruit platter & bottle of Appletons rum for us in our room!
Every server, waiter & bartender we encountered were so friendly & efficient, especially Winchester & Orville in the Bordeaux restuarant!
The beach & pool drinks runners were amazing, they worked tirelessly on keeping all the guests topped up with plenty drinks! Oh and who could forget the jerk chicken cart....just the BEST jerk chicken EVER!!
My only criticism of the resort is that there are no foot baths to wash your feet when leaving the beach, the showers seem to be situated in places that really aren't suitable,& there should be some more beach/pool bathroom facitlies, the only external ones are the other side of the Wild Orchid main pool.
So Secrets, many thanks for recognising that white wine drinkers don't ALL drink chardonnay, although the nice Royalty sauvignon blanc was only available in the restuarants, shame, it should be at all bars too!
Secrets The Vine in Cancun has a selection of at least 6 different whites in their all inclusive provision, including a very nice sauvignon blanc, a semillion sauvignon blanc & a pinot grigio, this should be standard across all Secrets Resorts.
So a very good time was had by us and our two friends who were also celebrating a special birthday, a 50th!
Well done again Secrets Wild Orchid, and I am sure than my son & his new wife will have a fantastic time also when they stay with you in October for their honeymoon!

Room Tip: They're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brewsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fun. fun.. fun !! So much to do. You could stay on resort alone but you must force yourself to tour the city and neighboring cities as well. Excellent service...great people. Went during Jamaica's 50th Anniversary celebration of Independence/ 2012 Summer Olympics. Once in a life time experience and energy. Could have easily stayed another week!!

Room Tip: Wild Orchid side highly recommended or swim out. So glad we upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just spent 7 days at the Secrets Wild Orchid Resort in Jamaica. What a fantastic experience and venue to sit back, relax and enjoy time with your new spouse. Highly recommend as fantastic amenities, food and service was top-notch.

From the time you walk onto the resort to the time you leave, the people were great. Friendly service all times of the day. Food was available and fantastic. We didn't have one bad meal.

I highly recommend the Booze Cruise/Snorkeling and the romantic Dinner on the beach.

Top notch resort and can't wait to hit another Secrets resort. If looking to spend some time in a relax, adult environment, Secrets is the way to go!

Room Tip: Preferred Club was a great option for us. Junior Ocean view suite gave a perfect view in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall mixed feelings about this place:
1. Got a swim up pool on the first floor of the "club." We had friends staying in regular rooms. The difference between our rooms on the inside was negligible. Size and Furnishings very similar. One of the perks of the preferred room was The "Club" lounge. This was a few seats around a TV at a wet bar. If no one was around you could poor your own drinks, but at an all inclusive you could get drinks anywhere.. The swim up pool was a cool concept but for some reason it wasn't connected to the main pool. So you had a lazy river in front of you you had to get out of to get into the main "preferred" pool. Speaking of the club level pool... it was indeed a lot less crowded but had no bar. There was a waitress who went back and forth from the main pool to deliver your drinks, which could take a while. Finally, the staff told us to have our "black key cards" at all times to prove we were in the preferred rooms but not once was I checked and our friends from the regular section came over all the time.

2, Service was hit or miss. I guess you gotta assume that a big resort. Some people loved their jobs. Some workers acted like they hated life. I will say I tipped a lot (only 1 or 2 bucks at a time for drinks) and this did seem to get me better service. Surprisingly I never saw anyone else tipping... ever... even at the bar. So after the bartenders knew we were tipping they would get orders for the people in front of us in line, but we always got out drinks first. Change is hard to come by so bring one hundred 1 dollar bills and you will be fine for a week.

3. At breakfast and lunch you are limited to a buffet style. Quality was average. Dinner was a bunch of restaurants with different styles. The french and hibachi were pretty good. Mexican was average. Didn't try the Italian.

4. There were a few separate small beaches. Water was warm clear and nice. Sand was clean.

5. Overall quality was above average but not luxurious. Except for the occasional "One Love!" or "Ya Mon!" from the staff, I had no idea i was in Jamaica the whole time.

Would I return: Nope. There are other Secrets resorts I Would try before ever returning to Montego Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dingo21Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid from 6-11-18th. Love Secrets resorts as we've stayed at 3. so far. We were greeted with "Welcome Home", cool towels and a drink of your choice. Check-in was quick and efficient by our concierge, then the Vacation Club (timeshare) sales pitch starts. If you're not interested, just say "no thank you" firmly and leave to go to your room.
Room
Our room was beautiful with a perfect oceanfront view. Nearly every room faces the ocean so everyone has at least a partial ocean view.. We were on the 5th floor which was perfect (both for the view and noise level b/c the swim up bar was just below). We didn't do the preferred club this time which is a quieter pool and beach area, but never regretted our decision. as everyone was so nice and service everywhere was incredible.. Tons of palapas available all week-never a problem getting towels or drinks on the beach.
BEACH
Beach was beautiful with clear turquoise water and soft beach sand, but there's lots of small pebbles/shells in the water that can cut your feet. We brought beach shoes and glad we did .Also, rocks near the gazebo where you can feed the fish; they will eat right out of your hand.
Grab some bread from breakfast & throw small pieces in the water and you'll be surrounded by lots of small fish (4 different kinds).
There are 2 beautiful parrots in a cage outside World Café and lots of peacocks roaming freely throughout the resort.
RESTAURANTS no reservations needed for any restaurant ever.
Our favorite was the Italian-Portofino- great lasagna, eggplant parmesan appetizer
& minestrone soup.
French was also excellent with a great steak & lobster and onion soup.
Himitsu was a bit disappointing , but they did have an awesome spicy soup.
Blue Mountain was also very good.Jamaican grilled, curried fish and jerk chicken.
Mexican was also pretty good.
Lunch restaurants were just Ok.
We wanted to go to Oceana for dinner till we found out their surf/turf was shrimp and bacon. Back to Portofino we went!
Seaside at St James did have a good grilled fish sandwich.
Barefoot grill had hot dogs, burgers, nachos and Bams (bombs which are delicious spicy fritters and great.
Best option for lunch is the Jerk Chicken cart that arrives about 12:15. Excellent marinated chicken. Be sure to get the Magic sauce and get lots of it. Delicious. Also, there was a cooking class on the beach and recipes for jerk chicken.
WORLD CAFE
Breakfast was fantastic- anything and everything you could possibly want and it's always HOT when you get back to your table. Also open for lunch.
LOBSTER NIGHT AT WORLD CAFE FABULOUS! DO NOT MISS!!!!
Every Saturday from 6-10:30
Best buffet ever! Lobster cooked at least 3 different ways- all excellent! Also, a 25 lb turkey which was also fantastic! plus rice, eggplant, jerk pork, chix. Tons of desserts!
TOURS
This was our 3rd time to Jamaica so the only thing we needed to do was shopping which was the biggest mistake we made.-A 2 hr.taxi tour that cost $30pp and made 1 stop, then back to hotel in 1hr and 15min. If you need a taxi, go outside the hotel and everything is half price! Total RipOff!
Also, if you buy anything at the hotel shops, you can only pay credit
card or charge to your room-NO CASH.
ENTERTAINMENT
We were there for opening day of the World Cup games! Totally Carnival atmosphere; beads, bands, dancers- Unbelievable!1 Also, a great carnival show at night.
Other nights we sat outside at the Piano bar with the Secrets Band or a steel band - not much else to do unless you go to the disco. or watch a movie outside.
POOLS
Pools were clean, but very noisy, especially the swim up. We're mostly beach people so that's where we stayed. Hot tubs were nice, but not always working!
Grounds are perfect! Someone always working to keep them that way.
Mosquitoes
My hubby is a mosquito magnet and if there is one anywhere, he will get bit. Bring Raid an repellent with Deet to keep them away. They do spray but not enough.Also, there are "no see ums" You won't feel the bites but you'll notice welts where they found you!
Everyone at Secrets Wild Orchid was wonderful! Very hard working and deserve every tip they get. Everyone always had a smile and all were so friendly, courteous and helpful.
Our only complaint was the mattress!! Time for a new one! We had to sleep atop pillows to be comfortable.
TIPS
Bring insect repellent with DEET and Raid
Bring a raft for beach/pool use
Bring extra sunscreen with a higher spf than usual
BRING BEACH SHOES

Loved and enjoyed Secrets Wild Orchid
Go, and enjoy





rocks near the gazebo where you can feed the fish. Grab some small pieces

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was my 1st real vacation and I must say that I was impressed. I was greeted by the hotel entrance where they took my luggage and offered me (insisted) any drink I wanted while I waited for my room.
-The room was immaculate. The dark brown wooded tiles were a nice touch
-The food was delicious. You can order in at no extra charge
-Drinks are at the tip of your fingers: in the bedroom, lobby, lounge, on the compound & by the pool
-Two peacocks were on the compound
The service almost everywhere was very good
I would live in an almost exact replica of the resort. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamSasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,094 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
22.5 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Property: Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Destinology, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing