We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour, Beautiful Experience!”
Review of Croydon Plantation

Croydon Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
Croydon Plantation with Jamaican Lunch
Ranked #9 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Tour, Beautiful Experience!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a small tour bus with a small group of tourists from several countries and a wonderful guide, which made for an excellent day. As the other reviews have said, the plantation was gorgeous! Lush vegetation, hummingbirds, wonderful, fresh fruit samples, and an explanation of how different herbs and plants are used. Winston, the guide, was very interesting and could answer any question that was brought forth.

The trip to and from the plantation was an experience in itself. The winding, narrow road was an adventure, but we had a great driver, who was also very knowledgeable, so no worries. We did get to see how the people in the area lived, saw the school children getting out of school, and the workers on the plantation in their roles on the property.

This trip will really open the eyes of the tourist, who like me, stayed on a resort other than when on an excursion. I was very glad to be able to see reality.

The owner of the plantation came out and met us while we had an excellent chicken barbeque (jerk chicken). We did have that wonderful Blue Mountain coffee, which is the smoothest coffee I have ever tasted!

This trip is not as highly promoted by the tour operators, so I had to actually ask about it from the recommendations from Tripadvisor. Make sure you ask and go on this adventure.

Note: Probably not for young children, you do have to sit for a time during lectures. The discussions can be long, but perfect for someone who is wanting to learn. Bring sunscreen, a hat, and of course, a camera!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fjeldbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    92
    22
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We did not have a tour guide on the bus, only the driver who tried to point out some areas of interest along the drive. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained. The tour guide's discussions were a little long winded but for the most part, enjoyable and informative. Sampling the juices, pineapples, etc was a great touch. The lunch was very good. It rained a little while we were there and the assistant guide was immediately handing out rain ponchos and spritzing us with bug spray which was very effective. The drive from the hotel was an eye opening experience. Witness the abject poverty of some of the Jamaican's gives one a real appreciation for life in first world countries. Overall, this was the most enjoyable excursion I had on my vacation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillonvacation Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Tasty Trip to the mountains”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

With fantastic view this was a wonderful way to see how local fruits and plants grow, taste all the great produce and meet the owner of the plantation. It truly is an award winning plantation with views and people. You learned about all the different types of pineapples, how coffee is really made as well as how honey in the Caribbean is made - very different from what many know from a North American perspective. The tour guide Alicia was beyond excellent - she was friendly, informed and made the time fly by. Let's not forget at the end of the tour a great meal made by the locals with traditional Jamaican dishes. It should be noted that this is not a tour for a child under the age of 9 as they will not find it interesting and the walk too long. Also, the drive up is not for the faint of heart as the winding roads of Jamaica do not lend themselves to those with a weak stomach. But once you get up there the views are breath taking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetogo3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Unique Experience!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been on various excursions in other Caribbean countries and this was by far the most fun and unique one yet. We had Winston as our tour guide and he was very knowledgeable and fun. We even met the owner of the plantation! Had the opportunity to taste different types of pineapple - I didn't even know there were different types! There was also a delicious authentic Jamaican lunch provided at the end. The coffee is also delicious! The drive up there is great too, as you drive through different townships and get to experience the culture a bit. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to the Montego Bay area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a place for babies/small children”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Informative and interesting. Didn't realise that pineapples could taste so different from each other. Coffee demonstration interesting and lunch was tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Croydon Plantation also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Croydon Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing