We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Some tips for a smoother stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Deck
Lush Gardens Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Pool Deck
Lush Gardens
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
3rd Bedroom
4th Bedroom
Foyer
Living Room
Living Room & Home Theatre system w/ Blu Ray Player
Computer with built in video for Skype & Google Voice
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
luucciiee
davie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some tips for a smoother stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This villa was really great but here are just a few tips that will help your stay be a little smoother.
First, the cook (keisha) only works 9-5. We didn't know that so we were told it was too late for dinner (twice!!!!). I would suggest going to the store with keisha & planning out some lunches & dinners so she can just have them ready for you when you get home. She's a great cook so you definitely don't want to miss out on her cooking. We wanted to get an early start every morning so we wanted breakfast far earlier than 9am. I would make arrangements if possible for her to change her hours to maybe 7:30-3:30 (or something that works so you could get you breakfast& she doesn't have to work OT).
Second, there is only A/C in the bedrooms (which we are not use to) so it is very hot in the rest of the house. I would get Keishas phone number so you could call her about 30 minutes prior to coming home so she could go & start up all the A/C units & ceiling fans.
Third, be SURE you are renting the correct number of rooms. We assumed we were renting the whole villa but we didn't click on the option for all 4 bedrooms (we didn't even see there was an option!!!!) so when we arrived we were very surprised by not having the room and even more surprised by the increased amount we now owed. Thankfully christine was amazing & we worked everything out. Vacation saved!!!!
Overall the villa was great, very clean, nice central location for both negril & ocho rios. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and really appreciate your tips for a smoother stay.

Our staff is there to serve our guests during their stay, so I'm quite surprised to hear you were told that it was "too late" for you to have meals prepared AND on more than one occasion. While it is helpful to set up some sort of meal plan/schedule, we will certainly make sure that future guests are not frustrated in this same way.

We turn off the air conditioning units as a way to keep our electricity costs, and the rates we charge our guests, down. Calling the villa to let us know you're on your way back is a great tip to help us maximize your comfort without a lot of additional cost - good one!

Our pricing model is different than a lot of other villas - we only rent to one party at a time, but we charge based on the number of bedrooms that you occupy. The FlipKey website is not really set up for this unique pricing model, but we do our best to communicate clearly what is included in the quoted price. We try to communicate this clearly on our website description and in the initial email giving the price quote. Now, we're also looking into modifying the standard FlipKey contract for our property, so that it clearly states how many bedrooms the guest is renting in addition to the number of guests that are expected. We hope that this will make the rental experience smoother for future guests.

Thanks for your feedback, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Davelyn Villa and in Jamaica!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KellyOliv...
Vineland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting - prefer all-inclusive”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have always stayed at all-inclusive resorts and prefer adults only when we are away. We decided to try a private villa this year and due to the good reviews here choose Davelyn Villa. The house manager met us promptly and easily at the airport and our quick drive to the villa was nice. Kiesha greeted us at the door with "Welcome Home" hugs. She is really a great person! The villa itself is very large and well appointed. The bedrooms were at one end and the living and kitchen area at the other. The master bedroom was very large and each room has its own bath. After getting settled we were taken to get some essentials for the evening (rum/beer and food! LOL) and we would do our large shop the next day.

The next day we went grocery shopping... WOW things are expensive! We truly did not think that things would be so expensive. We likely spent at least $600-$700 USD on food and booze. Then we went to the "veggie" stand...then we had to go back about 2 more times for items forgot or missed.

It is advertised that paper towels, napkins and shampoo are provided... They where not and we had to purchase them. I also would have expected that basic items like spices and condiments would be provided....they where not.

We did walk down to Scottchies 3 times. It is 1.8 km from the villa so it was a nice walk.

Kiesha cooked us some simply delicious dinners from her fried chicken, curry, fried plantains, rice and peas...all was SOOOO YUMMY! There was always a hot pot of coffee awaiting us as we got up each morning. We are not big breakfast ppl so coffee was perfect!

Kiesha was very diligent in making our beds each day and cleaning the bathrooms.

In my husband's bedroom the air conditioning broke after 3 days so he slept with me. It was fixed after 3 nights but he didn't bother going back in the room.

The most disappointing part was the pool. It was only cleaned once (our last night) for the entire week. Except the one day my husband used the skimmer to clean out all of the leaves and bugs one morning. I was, quite frankly, worried about going in it but didn't have any other options and it was hot! The jets were on a timer apparently. They were never on to circulate the water all day long! I grew up with a pool and we never shut off the jets so the water would not get stagnant.

As this location is a very short drive from the airport, you could hear the planes taking off all day long. Something to keep in mind.

We both feel that the villa route is good if you have a large family or a group of people and you do not drink much. At a resort you can have a rum, then a pina colada, then a daquiri, etc. At the private villa you would need to purchase all of the ingredients for these and then have to make it yourself. This is not something against Davelyn by any stretch but it is something we did not consider and really missed. We also really missed being able to walk into the buffet and pick different items for lunch and/or dinner. Having to plan all your meals at the villa was not something we liked.

Other than watching tv each evening there was nothing else to do. Again, if you had a large group, you could play cards, if you brought them. There were no games offered there.

We have realized that we prefer the pampering and activities that an all-inclusive offers over the private villa holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kiesha and the "puppies".
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness of the pool - nothing to do in evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood2...
Garner, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, large villa on the golf course”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A group of 3 couples stayed at Davelyn Villa for 3 nights. Very nice, clean villa. We enjoyed the swimming pool and eating breakfast in the screened patio. Just a short drive from the airport. We walked down the street to the "fish market" and had excellent snapper and lobster prepared by our cook, Keisha. Keisha took us shopping at the local grocery store and prepared breakfast and dinner each day. The rooms and beds are all comfortable. AC and ceiling fans worked well to keep the bedrooms cool. Wi-Fi and cable tv available. The men in our group golfed on the Iron Shores golf course. A player-friendly 18-hole course with nice greens.Not too expensive and handy that the villa is located on the course. The villa is only a 15 minute drive to Doctor's Cave Beach. Davelyn is an lovely affordable alternative to a large resort or a more expensive villa on the beach. The owner stayed in close contact and made our travel plans easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the airport
Liked least: We should have arranged to have food/beverage at the villa before we arrived.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
Hi Kristi,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! While we strive to make the villa place that we would want to stay ourselves, we know that our staff really make the experience wonderful and relaxing. Glad you found us, and you're always welcome to come back!

Kristin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arizona
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing