We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times sailing, great crew.”

Jamaica Water Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail the Clear Blue Waters of the Caribbean an enjoy your sailing experience to the fullest. It will be just the way you want it. Celebrate sailing with lots of music and dancing.
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I booked a private charter with Jamaica Watersports to take my 24 wedding guests on a snorkel/sail tour in November 2012. I worked with Denise to book the tour and finalize the details and I found her to be very easy to work with and prompt to reply to my e-mails. Once I arrived in Jamaica, she even called my hotel room to confirm the last minute details with me. Denise arranged for a shuttle bus to pick my group up from the lobby of the resort we stayed at and the morning of the tour, the bus was right on time…actually it was even a bit early! The tour was delivered exactly as I had arranged with Denise and included a stop for snorkeling and a sail. We had to make one change because we couldn’t stop at Margaritaville since it was closed due to damage from the hurricane, but we went for an extended sail to make up for this. I have no complaints and my group had lots of fun on this tour!

1  Thank woodypi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niles23, Manager at Jamaica Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I am also pleased that you did not mind that we had to alter the trip due to damage from the storms. We do our best to ensure that you our guests have the best possible time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private catamaran"
in 6 reviews
"catamaran trip"
in 2 reviews
"denise"
in 13 reviews
"freestyle"
in 9 reviews
"crew"
in 12 reviews
"sailed"
in 5 reviews
"margaritaville"
in 7 reviews
"boats"
in 2 reviews
"jamaica"
in 13 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

We found this tour online (jamaicawatersports.com) and read the few reviews here on Trip Advisor. We contacted Denise (denise.eventsmadeeasy@gmail.com) - and received an instant response. We booked the 'non-booze' catamaran trip to Doctor's Cave Beach with snorkeling. The day finally arrived and we went to the pier - a quick call to Denise by the port lady (silly us, we didn't send email as instructed before we left USA for rendevous info - duh!) told us where to find the cat - directly behind our ship! And get this, Denise said 'you have an exclusive!' Why they didn't cancel with only 2 of us, I don't know, but I am ever-so-grateful that they didn't! The 2 of us and the 3 of them - it doesn't get any better than having your own private catamaran in Montego Bay!! It was a great value to begin with, at $35 each, and it quickly became the 'deal of a lifetime!' Let me say that the cat would easily hold 10-12 or more comfortably and you would still get all the benefits. I hope they don't have to sail with just 2 again because it can't be very profitable - and these folks need to stay in business - they deliver a quality product. The super-friendly crew was Captain Glenn, First Mate Malcolm, and Cruise Director/Snorkeler Extraordinaire - Patrice. Along with super-efficient, Denise, they make quite a team!

We sat up front and sailed out past the Carnival Valor enjoying the motion and occasional splash as we headed to the reef near Doctor's Cave Beach. Someone in another review said this was airport reef. I didn't ask but there were many opportunities to see planes coming in. Malcolm hooked us up to a buoy and Patrice took us in the water. My friend is a novice snorkeler and Patrice put her on a life ring and took her from one end of the reef to the other! It was the first time she ever REALLY got to see anything worth while. That was worth a premium, right there! The reef was super! There were many kinds of sponges, coral and different, and colorful fish - what a treat! The water was super-clear to depths of probably 30-50'. Some of the reef was in water so shallow that you had to be careful not to touch it. I followed along keeping Patrice and my friend in sight and had the time of my life. This was one of my very best snorkeling experiences (and I've had many).

When we tired of snorkeling, Captain Glenn took us to Doctor's Cave Beach. Our admission was paid as part of the catamaran fee (I told you it was a deal!). He docked the cat at the pier and we walked ashore (very close) to sunbathe and swim - heavenly. The beach was clean, there were no pushy sales people, there was food available, and the hip strip is right there if you want to shop. We didn't. We flopped down on our beach towels and savored the day. The sand was very white and soft - perfect. And, the water was amazing - comfy temp in November, clear enough to see your painted toenails. Couldn't have been better!

We had investigated just taking a taxi to this beach from the ship - it's $5-10 fare each - each way and $6 beach admission. Well, that's about $25 and this was $35. Even if you don't snorkel, taking a catamaran - just being on a boat and maybe getting out to swim, makes it worth it. Think how much better a boat is than a taxi!

I snorkeled from the beach - there is a grassy (eel grass) area at about 4' depth straight out from the beach. And, well, okay - maybe what I saw was an eel - but it looked like a snake. I'm from the South - I've seen plenty of each. Anyway, this thing was about 2-3' long and it was yellow with navy bands. I've googled and googled and haven't found it. It is said that there are no sea snakes there - well, maybe.... scared the heck out of me. Probably just an eel. Not my fave. None of this was near the beach, however. You had to walk/swim out quite a ways to get to the grassy area - just don't go out there if you are not comfortable with eels/snakes.

After an hour or so on the beach, we were ready to head back. We boarded the cat and set off for the ship dock. What a fantastic excursion! Our heartfelt thanks to Glenn, Malcolm, Patrice, and Denise. We are sold on Jamaica Water Sports! You made us want to come back to Jamaica!

5  Thank vabchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Securelysocially, Manager at Jamaica Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do our best to ensure that everyone has a great time and that we give everyone a experience to remember. Please share this with your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our group of 5 (3 teens) sailed with Jamaica Water Sports last Thursday, 3/29/12. Great day. They have 2 tours- a WetnWild 'booze' cruise and the Sail/snorkel to Doctors Cave Beach which is the one we reserved. Both $35pp. We were told by email to get off our ship, Carnival Magic, as soon as we could and turn right when we got off. Everyone else would be going left to the port terminal. There was a lady waiting with a sign that said 'Freestyle'. Confused me a bit until I remembered the boats name was Freestyle. We waited 10 minutes or so until she gathered all 50 people with reservations. Easy. No taxis or buses. Boat was waiting at the end of the dock.
Everything was exactly as advertised on the website. I mention this because I had read a scathing review on another site- they must have been on the 'booze' excursion. We sailed up the coast for 40 minutes or so, then they passed out snorkel equipment and let us snorkel for 45 minutes or so- hint, jump off the front of the boat instead of using the ladder in the back- the reef is in front of where they anchor.
After seeing plenty of fish- my son got great underwater photos- they gathered us back onto the boat and sailed a bit to Doctors Cave beach. Told us they would pick us up at 2:15pm. Entrance fee of $5- is included. You can rent chairs/umbrellas for $5- each but we found a spot under the palm trees in the shade. Lots of people but nice and quiet. SO glad there wasn't loud music. We hung out for an hour or so then decided to walk to Margaritaville. Now that was crowded. Kids all went down the slide while waiting a half hour for a table. Slide is free but you should tip the guy at the top($1). Had never been to a Margaritaville- got the 'bucket' of nachos for 15-. Really good nachos. We ordered 4 sodas and 1 drink. Spent about $40 with tip.
Walking the 'hip strip' was interesting. I had been 'warned' that Jamaica shop owners could be pushy. Didn't find that at all. They do stand outside of their shops and 'invite' you to look at their wares but wasn't anything different than Cozumel.
We walked back to Doctors Cave (a few blocks) and the Freestyle was just unloading another group- must have been the 'boozers'. We waited about 10 minutes or so because we were missing 2 people- then it was determined they were taking a taxi back because they wanted to shop more. No problem, mon.
We sailed back towards the Magic. There was great music. You could help yourself to soda and cold water. I think there was Jamaican beer available for purchase. The crew put out a tray of beaded jewelry but never mentioned it again. I think a few people bought things. One young man sat next to me and told me he was there to give me a foot massage. Absolutely wonderful.
My twins and our exchange student had fun sitting on the edges of the boat, and up front on the netting. Room for all of them. Delivered us back to the dock about 3pm.
A perfect day. A little bit of everything plus a foot massage! We will definately do this one again.

2  Thank Twinwithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This sail, snorkel, and beach day was a great value at 35.00. We got picked up directly behind our boat in Montiego Bay (did not even have to go through terminal) and left within an hour of the ship docking(8:00). We sailed for about 30 min, then got to snorkel for over an hour. After that we were dropped off at Doctors Cave beach until 2:30, when we were picked up and sailed back to the ship. Soda and Rum Punch were free, and red stripe could be purchased for 3.00. Again you wont find a better value.

2  Thank rusty0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2016
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamaica Water Sports also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jamaica Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing