We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to the Hip Strip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“walking distance to the Hip Strip!”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

You can walk to and from the Hip Strip from here. You have to go down/up a steep hill, but it's good exercise and better than having to haggle with a taxi or get ripped off over a 1 minute ride.

The room was clean and had everything we needed for our 1 night stay in the end of August. I wish we could've stayed on a higher floor, but I think there are no 1-bedrooms up there.

The pool is very nice. We swam at night, the water was a good temperature. The guest house maintains very beautiful plants and flowers. The trees

The proprietor, Francis Morgan is a very friendly lady. The front desk let us have our room before check-in time (Our flight was changed to an earlier one.) The staff who watched the entrance at night were friendly too. If you want to go to Negril, you'll be able to get a driver close by. In our case a driver was parked in the lot, ready to take anyone for a ride.

Thank you for the stay. We will stay here again if we come back to Mo Bay.
Nick & Kirstin

Room Tip: Get a 2nd or 3rd floor room, so you can have a view down the hill and of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nickdaddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very well kept up property. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ordered a homecooked "Jamacian style' breakfast for a very reasonable price. We stayed in the 1 bdr. with a kitchen. Very spacious & comfortable room with balcony overlooking pool. This is a very quiet and relaxing property, away from the hussle & bussle of the tourist area, but within a reasonable walking distance. I would definately stay again for the peace & quiet. I felt safe & secure there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Codos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The guesthouse staff is very kind and help. but the shower are very small and you can hear the traffic at night while you are sleeping..but everything else was great.. Ms. Morgan was very pleasant and all her staff. The driver was very help and would not have a problem taking you around. The rooms was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank guytravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

If you want to relax and unwind and not come for the tourist scene/trap, then the PalmView is the most affordable and comfortable option in Montego Bay. It is an "at-home" feel type of place. I have traveled to the island six times within the past year and have stayed at all inclusive, bed & breakfast, strip hotel, and by far the Palm View is the best value and most comfortable. The accomodations are very basic but we loved having the kitchenette to prepare our own meals. The two bedroom apartment was very roomy. And because I have family on the island the staff at the PalmView made them feel welcomed unlike other establishments that are local prejudiced and without adding a visitors charge. Highly recommend the PalmView for those that are into independent traveling.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank congodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Palm View Guest House is a very comfortably guest house where visitors can stayed during their vacation and enjoyed the friendly city of Montego Bay. I visited Jamaica November of 2007 the staff at Palm View was very professional and helpful. The owner Mrs Doris Morgan was very kind to her guest and assured us that we would have a wonderful time during our stay however, Mrs Morgan cannot please every one some guest will enjoy vacationing at Palmview while others will have issues. I have heard people complain s about other hotels and guest houses where their prices were very expensive but at Palmview Guest House it was more than affordable. In February of 2008 I returned to Jamaica Palmview was under renovation so at this time i think that Palmview is more upscale. I will definitely stayed at Palmview on my next visit to Jamaica because their customer service was very good ,the staff was very professional and the owner was very friendly.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank AndriaQueensNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I stayed at this hotel which was booked by the 'bride and groom to be' for one week in February. The guest house is 10mins away from Montego Bay airport and 30 walk away from the main Montego Bay strip.

The hotel is in need of updating, but it is well kept and the room are very clean and tidy. We stayed in the 3 bedroom guest house opposite the pool.

Bedrooms were clean and tidy and bigger than the average hotel room size. Bathroom had a shower (shower was luke warm in during the late evenings) but in general it was OK. Towels provided could have been a lot better and the ones we were give were very tatty.

Satellite TV in the main sitting area and the kitchen had a gas cooker and large fridge freezer. Cutlery and crockery were a little scares and the kitchen was in need of refurbishment.
Only 1 microwave on site, so if you have a 'little one' be sure to ask for it.

The PV has a no of guest house and overall the standard was OK.

Location: 30 mins from the town and situated on a very steep hill - good exercise though! For the elderly a taxi is needed.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, but you might have to push for more clean towels.

The pool is a decent size with a few sun longers (no lifeguard).

Maid service is available (we were quoted $6 per person for a cooked breakfast) but we just bought our own food to cook instead.

You are give a padlock key to lock the grill at each guest house entrance which are kept locked during the night (health & saftey hazard) but in general the area is safe, and the security guard is always on hand. At the bottom of the hill is the local nic too.

Overall, a nice little place but as I didn’t book this guest house - next time I would prefer to stop in a hotel.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms - nice and biig
  • Disliked — Cooking facilities
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nordmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris M, Manager at Palm View Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for selecting Palm View Guest House and Conference Centre Montego Bay. It was in deed a pleasure serving you, and we do appreciate all your comments. Your comments will be used as tools to improve our facilities and services.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc metro
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2005

I stayed in palm view villas in nov 2005 these apartment were very clean but the location was so far from everything. example we walked to margritville and it was a 30 min walk. we had to take a cab everywhere every to get food. Their phones only work with calling cards so that was a big problem for us becausse the walk to the cloest store was a killa. I walked back to the hotel only once out of the 7 day trip and my legs would never alow me to do it again. Oh the other good thing was that it was close to the airport. I would stay there again but i would have to rent a car.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 63 in Montego Bay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relax Resort
Relax Resort
#41 of 63 in Montego Bay
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verney's Tropical Resort
Verney's Tropical Resort
#45 of 63 in Montego Bay
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm View Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm View Guest House & Conference Center

Property: Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
Address: 22 De lisser Drive | off Queens Drive, Montego Bay 32977, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm View Guest House & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm View Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm View Guest House And Conference Center
Palm View Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Palm View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing