We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Doesn't have all the conveniences of the big chain resorts, but it's clean, well kept, the staff is very responsive & friendly and the location is great! The restaurant is good and they are very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mflowers1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    203
    111
    32
    13
See reviews for
70
161
73
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed just one night in this hotel. It was def. overpriced. Front desk was friendly and helpful, but the waiter in the restaurant obviously didn't like his job or tourists. Dinner was good, breakfast overpriced. Pools were not very clean. We were in general disapointed with Montego Bay. In Negril we had a much nicer hotel for the same price and right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here in Sept. 2012. Chose this place as the last day's hotel stay as we were coming in from spending a few days at a resort in Ochi and flying out of Montego Bay the next day. The way I saw it was, this was the last day in JA, and we were spending it shopping on the hip strip for souveniers, going out to dinner to one of the local spots, and not planning to spend the day on the premises at all. So why waste money on one of the more expensive resorts that you will not even spend time at? The property was mostly decent, I did have an issue when we first checked into our room, the bathtub had a trail of ants coming up from the drain, but they switched our rooms quickly and without any problem. Next room was just fine. A plus was that it was right around the corner from a BEAUTIFUL natural beach (not man-made like some of the resorts have) that was free of charge and did not close early. (I dont understand how you have to pay to get into Dr's Cave Beach AND they close early??). Overall great value if it is for a short stay and you dont plan to spend most of your time on the premises. (I will say that for a longer stay, to me, all inclusive resorts are a better value since everything's included). Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Check the entire room for any issues before you fully settle in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wow, all I can say is the pictures on the web site are very misleading. I too, read all the reviews for this resort and all seemed to be good. I'm almost confused thinking I went to a different resort! Resort is not an accurate word to describe this " Run down Hotel". Seriously people, have you never stayed in an actual Resort? The "bar", couldn't even make us a tropical drink. They don't even have a blender to make good drinks! The owner, Mrs. Chin purchased this Hotel 40 years ago.... and obviously she has not spent 1 dime on renovations! Our patio doors would note stay closed and locked. The pool looks "Hug" on the web site, what a joke. This place is so rundown I would not recommend to any traveler. Oh and the "Hip Strip" too many locals trying to get you to buy some illegal drugs! BEWARE

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

i stayed at Tobys january 2013 for my birthday and i must say the place is lovely. the grounds are nice. The room i satyed in was on the upstairs floor and was overlooking the garden and the pool area which was nice. had a private outside area. the rooms where nice and clean. loved the shower, powerful n hot. the staff were nice and friendly.AC worked fine. the outdoor pool was one of my best bits, with a bar next to it. place is kinda quite. located right on the hip strip. close to beaches. cornwell beach is my fav. didnt eat any food there but theres lovely shops and places to eat nearby, would reccommend to couples, familiy and friends and also those travelling alone.

dont be fooled by the pictures on this sight the place has updated since then

Room Tip: upstairs double room overlooking pool and garden! ROOM 25!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evablessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

A great place to stay,very friendly and good food.all prices are reasonable for the location,which is situated at the eastern end of the Hip Strip.Close to amazing beaches,good restaurants,shops and bars.If you can book a room overlooking the pool(number 14 is ideal)you will not be disappointed.A short walk along the strip is the Chili Pepper,a locals bar with good local food at very reasonable prices.Doctors Cave beach is close by and very reasonable entry fee and prices and good life guard coverage.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool(room 14) is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in Jamaica before we hit the road to drive around the island.

The rooms and furniture weren't the newest but, most importantly, they were clean! The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was super tasty!

As for the location, it was easy to find from the Montego Bay airport and near some really beautiful beaches. However, to get to the beaches you have to walk down a street which is full of stores. Every five steps we were stopped and asked if we wanted to go in their stores, get our hair done, buy a bracelet, etc. That got a bit annoying but as long as you stay polite and give them a firm "no", you will eventually get to your destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dickilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 61 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#33 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Property: Toby's Resort
Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing