We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, great value, near airport, clean & comfortable rooms”
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toby's Resort
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my sister stayed at Toby's for a week. The hotel is in walking distance to the Hip Strip. They have security patrolling the grounds, so I always felt safe, even when make trips back n forth the bar at night. The rooms were nice and clean with private balconies. The staff was friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed lounging and/or swimming by the pool(big one).They should have a restroom and showers near the pool area; instead, you have to go to your room for either. The bar is right next to the main pool, so that was convenient...;) Our bartenders: Kevin and Chad were awesome and cute! We ate the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. The food was great! Loved, loved the blueberry pancakes and the coffee! The staff took really good care of me and my sis during our stay. Can't wait to go back--this time, with all my girls...:-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank La Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyResortJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Thank you for your great review of Toby’s Resort. It's very encouraging when guests post about how excellent our service was and how they enjoyed our comfortable, friendly environment. We always want to meet the expectations of all our guests and I'm happy we were able to accomplish that goal during your stay. We look forward to your return – with all your girls :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Toby's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Toby Resort for 4 days and it was exactly what I was looking for.

It is a simple hotel, clean and safe and walking distance to the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, Keron at the front desk is great :) and Mrs. Campbell at security was very kind.. I really enjoyed my stay and I would go back for sure.

I would not eat at the restaurant at the hotel, you can get food for much cheaper at local restaurants around town.

For the price it was exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyResortJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Thank you so much for your great review! It was a pleasure to host you at Toby’s Resort and we are delighted that you have really enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here one night before heading off to Negril for a week at another resort. We arrived at 9:00 pm and left by 9:00 am. I'm used to the all inclusive resorts so this was a bit strange. It's a small resort in the middle of MoBay.

First off, hookers greeted us when we climbed off the shuttle. No big deal but not ideal. The girl behind the desk checked us in fast and a security guard took us to our room. Lots of security, locks on everything. That's good and bad, if you know what I mean. Room was oppressively hot and stuffy so the guard/bellhop turns on the air conditioning, this old, little window unit that had seen better days...like the 1960's. It was going to be a long night...or so we thought.

We went to the restaurant, an open air place by the pool. After all day on a plane, we're spent. We order salads, wings and water. Service is typical Jamaican, slow but reliable. Waiter brings water, then ten minutes later, salads with dressing in the plastic bottle. It's Jamaica. 15 minutes later, wings come. They are fantastic! Covered in hot, spicy sauce. We're happy.

Back at the room, all the way in the back up stairs with a view of the building next to the resort, it's not only cool, it's icy cold. Have no idea how that rickety old AC unit pointed at the TV did that but it did. The bed was comfy and it was honestly really quite. We slept well, showered in the darn clean bathroom and left for Negril.

Can't recommend for a longer stay since we didn't experience much but for a single night, it's probably the best you can expect for around a hundred bucks. Decent food, quiet and despite the hookers and security, we never felt unsafe. Gave it four stars because I can't give it 3.5. It is what it is, a budget resort. Probably great for young couples or college kids.

Room Tip: Ignore the pretty Caucasian girls that are too friendly. They go away, especially when your wife gl...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danmcmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Toby's Resort for one week. Be aware, it is more of a Hotel than a resort, although it has 2 very nice pools, and the drinks are great. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean. The owner, Mr. Chin was very hospitable and friendly to us. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast only, the food was a little pricey, but delicious! Make sure to ask for the local food (Akee and Salt fish) because it may not be on the menu.
The location is great! A 3 minute drive to the airport, and a 3 minute walk to the main beaches in the area, Doctors Cave and Cornwall Beach. And it's right at the end of the main strip of Montego bay.
We didn't get wifi in the room, but there is internet access in the restaurant area that we used.
Very nice hotel at a great value. I would recommend this place if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager4370, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Sirs

Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you back at Tobys in the future.

Allicin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The good part most of the staff were friendly, especially the young man who took our bags to our room...he was very nice). When we got to our room we felt uncomfortable because the only way in/out f the room was by a fence and wooded lot. When we complained we were told that other people have had the same concerns and they are working on getting the sliding glass door fix were people can enter in/out and we were assure that they had good security. When asked out the other side of the property which seemed to be updated and safer we were told that we got the deluxe room because we had a coffee pot! In other words the clerk was not going change our room although we were nice about it To make matters worst there were ants all over the bathroom and when we got in our bed we started scratching. We pull the bedspread back and looked for signs of bugs....the linen was cleaned but there was something in our bed because we scratched all night long!

We felt creepy and would not recommend this hotel (although it close to the airport) to no one unless you are desperate for a room!

Room Tip: Please ask for the updated side and stay on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager4370, Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Cynthia,

We take your review very seriously and we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay at Tobys. We have 24 hour security so are property is as safe as we can make it, and we are sorry that you did not feel safe. We do live in a tropical country and unfortunately we do not have complete control over ants and other insects, no matter how careful we are. We do try our best to make your stay with us enjoyable and worry free. We will make every effort to be more diligent and improve our service and facilities.

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Toby's after finding a last minute deal on sunwing.ca. The hotel was clean. We paid for Internet access since we had some work to do which was the worst experience of the place. We wouldn't connect properly to Internet each time we tried. We got so fed up we wanted a refund after a few days but was denied. The customer service was somewhat slow so be patient and allow time for any requests. Since we got such a big discount on our vacation we were more tolerable of these things. Toby's is a place to sleep but not a place to lounge or spend time at. We rented a car and went to negril and other surrounding areas which Toby's served their purpose for us.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelannonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Toby's for one night before flying home because of the hotel's proximity to the airport. We arrived early to have a chance to also experience Montego Bay before we went home. What a complete waste of a day in beautiful Jamaica! This "resort" is run down and the location sucks. Yes, it IS close to Doctor's Cave Beach (which isn't that nice btw - + the entry fee & rent of sun chairs was ridiculous) - but walking down there you'd be hassled in a way that we never experienced in Negril or Treasure Beach.
As for the hotel itself - we had some extremely bad encounters with the staff in spite of arriving with a good attitude. The restaurant staff was especially rude. We asked to order a cup of coffee in the afternoon "We don't have coffee at this time!" was the response. We then tried to buy a couple of beers. We were paying in JD and the woman in the restaurant proceeded to calculate a ridiculously high exchange rate, and didn't expect to give me back the change since she "didn't have any" (she was counting small change when i came in...). The morning after, a couple of hours before leaving for the airport, we tried buying water in the restaurant - but were turned down since we only had a 1000 JD note (10 US$) - which she didn't have change for.
In the morning my bf and son went into the restaurant barefoot (our room was right next door) and the waiter just pointed at my bf's feet and said "shoes!". Obviously it's ok with us if they wish to have that policy - but they could work on their communication skills! Plus - it's not like it's the freaking Ritz Carlton for crying out loud! The breakfast, btw, was completely overpriced and one of the worst meals we had in Jamaica.
The pool was small and also run down. The lock on the doors didn't feel at all safe. But to be fair the rooms were rather clean though! It's affordable but it was definitely one of those you-get-what-you-pay-for experiences!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janglybracelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager4370, Guest Relations Manager at Toby's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Sirs

We have seen your review and we are very disturbed as to your experience here with us. I apologise that your experience with us was so unpleasant. We will do further investigation and address our staff accordingly. What you have described is totally unacceptable by our standards. My only wish was that you had spoken to one of our managers for us to address the problems you outlined.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 64 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#30 of 64 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 64 in Montego Bay
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#32 of 64 in Montego Bay
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#22 of 64 in Montego Bay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing