We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in Montego Bay”
Review of The Bird's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bird's Nest
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place to stay in Montego Bay”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you plan to stay in Montego Bay and travel on a short budget, then Bird's Nest is the perfect place to stay! The staff is very welcoming and tries to help you out wherever they can. The Hostel is very clean and there's a relaxing atmosphere around the pool. If you read about Bird's Nest being too far away from everything then dont worry about that..its not THAT far and taxis to downtown or Hipstrip are really cheap. I highly recommend this place and would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahjessica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed in Montego Bay before but concerning prices, cleanliness and staff the Bird´s Nest was the best hostel I stayed in in Montego Bay. It´s quite far from the city but easy to get there by route taxi and it´s close to the airport.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and they were both great, so it doesn´t really matter which one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlliGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in Montego Bay for three days. The hostel is clean and tidy. The house is absolutely beautiful, with a stunning view and the pool is an awesome place to hang out. The owners are really laid back people and helped us a lot with our traveling plans. We went on a trip to the Mayfield falls, I can absolutely recommend it! You can take kite surfing classes there, too, and should you have the time, I recommend you do it. We ended up just watching for a day, which was fun, too, but next time, we will sure try it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the dorm, which was absolutely fine. If you're not looking to socialize with the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The staff and other guests were very friendly and helpful. I learned alot about other places to visit and things to do. If you are traveling alone or in a group, this is a great place to stay.

Local supermarket and restaurants are not too far away.

It is conveniently located on the Ironshore Taxi route, and taxis from downtown will drop you off at the front gate, or to downtown will pick you up as they pass by. They will beep if they see you walking, so you can jump in.

The yard has alot of growing fruits and vegetables, so if you are lucky, you will get to see some in season.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, I recommend the single room. It has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

loved the time spent there. Great place to chill ant that was exactly what I was looking for when I traveled in Jamaica. Bit far from the beach but the pool redeems that. Katarina was a great hosted and helped out a lot - thank you for the dinner again!
Cheers

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meizys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

For anyone looking for somewhere nice, peaceful, beautiful with a good location- this is where you want to be! It is about 5 minutes from Montego Bay airport so you can easily get a taxi. It has a beautiful view of the sea, in a nice safe location and the place itself is lovely. Beautiful pool which is always clean, hammocks, and there's always someone around to chill with! The only thing that could beat the place itself is it's owner who is always willing to help out- she literally goes over and above the call of duty! The only problem I've had is that I can't stay away! And that's not even a problem because it's paradise here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Bird's Nest Jamaica couldn't be more meaningful of a name for this 10-star hostel because it is exactly that. If you're a flyer looking for a nest to lay your head in Jamaica, this is the place you really NEED to be and your feathers will get that much needed high class treatment. You won't have anymore of a Jamaican experience at any other hotel or accommodation, and the awesome people running the place can be as close to you as family; even if its only for a few days.

I had the privilege of staying at least one night in all of their accommodation packages on offer. Their single bedroom suites can be rated up there with the likes of a hotel room in one of your beach-side resorts. Fully air-conditioned; pristine clean rooms, and when you wake up in the morning you're as close to pool side as you can possibly get, with an amazing view of the ocean in the distance that is a breathe of fresh air to look at.

Their 4 bedroom dormitories are a step down from the luxury single bedrooms, but just as spectacular with an added influence of social interactivity. The vibe at the hostel just rubs off on everyone, making sharing a room with 3 other people you don't know just as good as sharing a room with someone you do know. Ever made really good friends from across the globe in 2 days? I did: many a times and its all because I shared a special Jamaican experience together with each of them at the Bird's Nest Jamaica!

Last but not least, we have the 5 bedroom dormitories which is what I would easily connotate to be the Party People's Place. You're sharing a bedroom with 4 other people and its almost guaranteed you can find a common interest in having a good time. You will rest easy with all that the 4 bedroom dorm has to offer but one extra person in the room just takes things to the next level.

The Bird's Nest Jamaica is more than just a means of accommodation. The hostel boasts an environment for all your travel needs whether it is rest, adventure, party or quiet simply a really good time. The yet to be named, custom-built safari is always on hand to take you on tours to the beach (highly recommend Bounty Bay) and other adventure activities offered by the nest including the in-house kitesurfing school. And if you ever need information about places that will give you an authentic Jamaican experience, the staff are on hand to point you in the right direction, if not take you there.

Even all that I have written here will not be able to articulate the unique and wonderful experience I have had of bunking at the Bird's Nest. My utmost gratitude to my family at the Bird's Nest and everyone that made my Jamaican experience, one to remember.

BLESS UP, ONE LOVE and RESPECT! Yah mahn!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benericco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
519 reviews
3.7 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
565 reviews
1.7 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird's Nest

Property: The Bird's Nest
Address: 177 Patterson Avenue, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bird's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing