We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Second Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald View Resort
Ranked #2 of 46 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our stay at the Emerald View. By the second day, it felt as if we were staying with family. Everyone there was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located on the mountainside which allows for quiet/reflection time, and there is a shuttle that can be scheduled to visit tourist attractions. The natural beauty of the area is a treat in itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigresstsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

If you want a more secluded, non tourist area, and a more personal experience with the locals then this is the place to go to. This was my first time in Jamaica and I fell in love with the land and the great staff that I met. I also got to meet other travelers on a more personal level. The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, and the view is spectacular! The food was awesome as well and since you are on vacation, just lay back and enjoy the view because home cooked meal does take a little time. The shuttle van does have a cost and requires planning some of your events, but this was worth it to me because I did not have to worry about getting lost, got an opportunity to learn about the history of Jamaica and just good conversations all around!!! Thank you Jennifer, Christine, and Duran for making this trip so memorable! I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This villa/B&B is a wonderful and quiet retreat. It is hillside so there is a cool evening breeze making it great for sleeping. The rooms are oversized and clean and there is free regular transportation to and from the beach. We were not charged for evening runs to the local restraunts that range from roots/cheap to mid-priced jamaican cousine and even some finer dining. There is an in-house menue, however one must understand the term "soon come".We, from the mainland are not use to delays and the extra time taken to deliver a meal to you table can be an iritant to the inexperienced. Jenifer, the owner, is all about the love.
Ronald R Smith

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Villa was nice-private and away from alot of the crowd. The only thing that could have been better is the meal arrangements. Found ourselves eating breakfast at Emerald and going out for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latondria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

In December 2011, I had the most memorable stay at the breath- taking Emerald View Breakfast and Bed Resort. I was impressed with the relaxing ocean- view from my bedroom, the patio, and the beautiful manicured grounds. Although the resort is 15 minutes from town, the amenities, including free Internet and long distance calls to the United States made the distance all worthwhile! The staff was warm and friendly. The resort is simply gorgeous and ideal for a stress- free, laid-back relaxing vacation. I plan to visit Jamaica and stay at the Emeralds View Resort in the near future!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evonw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at Emerald View and really enjoyed the room and view, and the friendliness of the staff (all apart from Richard). However please bear in mind you are in the Caribbean...and time is not of the essence such as in fast-paced cultures such as Europe or the USA. You will get used to it though. Breakfast was nice...although they are not always able to cook up what you fancy. They have a good shuttle service to and from the beach but you can easily walk up and down the mountain if you are a healthy person with normal proportions. The hotel is close to Chill Out Beach, a very safe and small beach where they whip up the most wonderful frozen cocktails from 11AM onwards.
It is not so easy to get food other than chocolate bars and crisps from the nearby petrol station: you will need the shuttle to get to Chill Out beach again (you can also eat there, its lovely in the evening, eating on the beach with candle light and a starry sky) but bear in mind the service is quite slow there. Nearby places to visit are Montego Bay with nice beaches and Falmouth where there are craft markets. The hotel can get you there with the shuttle (at a fee). There is also a very cute little puppy at Emerald View who loves a cuddle from the guests...Jennifer is a very funny and helpful lady, and her daughters are charming. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francine_vandenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our 1st trip to Jamaica and we considered this B&B to be a highlight of our vacation. Such a relaxing area that had a fantastic view to the sea and countryside below. Away from the noise and hectic life of many of the large all-inclusive facilities, we were treated more like family visiting then tourists. The shuttle service was an added bonus for us and we did not feel the need to use taxi or bus transportation. The staff was very informative as to the location of excellent restaurants in the area and the attractions as well. We enjoyed our 7 days and feel this is a place to return to someday.

Room Tip: Only saw our room which had a king bed and faced the view towards the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ontheroadat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
12.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
208 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.9 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,690 reviews
12.3 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald View Resort

Address: 261 Poinciana Drive | Greenwood, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Emerald View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald View Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing