We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but bad location!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald View Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Nice hotel but bad location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This really isn't a hotel, it's a guesthouse. You are living in the owners home. Jennifer was very friendly and accommodating but, it's just not what you would expect from a hotel. Nowhere near restaurants or public beach. $25 per person to get to the main strip and back, for beaches and restaurants. I asked for an evening meal but the cook/cleaner finished at 5pm! I asked for a beer, there was none. I asked for a beer 2 days later, still none! It's a great view but it's not really worth it because of the location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samps169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janna3, Manager at Emerald View Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for visiting Emerald View and taking the time to write your views. Just wanted to inform our travelers that our cook does leave early if no one orders dinner. However, we do provide free complimentary shuttles to and from local restaurants in the area. We provide free shuttles to Chill Out on the Beach, the Drunken Squid on the water, Father Bull, The Irie Spot, The Far Out Fish Hut and Brick Oven Pizza. Actually, we do encourage our guest s to support the local restaurants because Jamaican food is totally unique and each restaurant has its specialty. We will go as far as to pick up your dinner from any of the local restaurants free.This exclusive service gives our guests the advantage of sampling authentic Jamaican food as opposed to other accommodations where travelers are subjected to overpriced "tourist" food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    80
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
32
93
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at the Emerald View. Jennifer made sure we had a fun filled day from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Everyone was so friendly and made you feel like family. She was the best tour guide and taught me alot about the history of Jamaica. Definitely going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natarshia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

i recently just came from a vacation and i stayed at emerald view.... it was a great experience. the people were all friendly nice... the property was real clean .. the pool was nice and clean .. the rooms are beautiful and also clean.. the view is nice you get to see over the city and also see the beach .. it was a real relaxed.. they even have transportation to take you places. it is a beautiful place to stay while in jamaica

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmoney0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

From being picked by the resort's bus in Negril to many tours around Ochi Rios I had whole lot of leisure time while on this business trip. Nothing truly prepares you for the view just when you enter the property, it is beautiful and the environs are simply breathe taking, Lushes mountainous veiws of green as precious as the Emerald itself. Staff was very accommodating and friendly, I had the pleasure of meeting the acquaintance of Ms. Jenny who made my visit not only enjoyable but friendly. Though the resort does not have its own pool, Chill Out beach just a bit down from the resort would have made it redundant as the beach is truly precious. For the short time I was there I had the privilege of travelling on the bus that takes us visitors around Ochi and back. I have found nothing and precious and this Emerald, it is a place to visit in JA. Like they say, "Once you go, you know" I"m definitely heading back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 191Jev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Staying at the Emerald View Villa allowed my family and I to see Jamaica from a residents view. My experience was refreshing, exciting and tasteful. I highly recommend The Emerald View Villa and Ms Jennifer as their hostess. Yea Mon !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 4 nights. Ms. Jennifer, the owner, and her family were sooo wonderful to us. They never treated us like tourists. They always made us feel very comfortable and welcome. The Villa is beautiful and they are there to help you with anything you need. Where the Villa is located gives you the chance to see real life in Jamaica and not just all the other tourists. If you are looking for a more personal experience this is the place to be!! Thank you to all of the staff for your kindness and making us feel at home!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia-101276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights 6 days, overall just a beautiful place for couples, Jennifer treated us like a family and the service was just beautiful....I wish we could've stayed longer but we will always make sure to make stay there whenever we visit Montego Bay, this is one of the quietest place to stay if you are looking to get away with your partner exactly what we needed for a vacation

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.9 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#26 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.1 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald View Resort

Property: Emerald View Resort
Address: 261 Poinciana Drive | Greenwood, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Emerald View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald View Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing