We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST”
Review of MoBay Proper

MoBay Proper
Ranked #32 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mandeville, Manchester, Jamaica
1 review
“BEST”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The manager and staff are very professional.The food.... excellent ...best spicy pork in Jamaica HANDS DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!! The real beauty of this place is that it has 2 settings the outdoor for a more relaxed and warm feel and the bar which has pool tables if you're interested in having a more upbeat experience ......definitely the place to eat when in Montego Bay

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherée M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cassandra & Warren --Love it, will always go there and always recommend it to other people”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been going here for years and will continue to do so the food is great the service is excellent the staff is interactive and willing and the overall ambiance is exceptional.

I recently introduced my boyfriend to the location and now he always wants us to dine there.
Mobay Proper is really a little gem in the heart of mobay.

we would definitely recommend the spicy pork and a serving of the ripe plantains.
you cant go wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra-Warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Laid back, local spot with much love and great food!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've been hitting this spot for years, it's a true Mo Bay gem!

If you really want a local feel without all the touristy hoopla and prices, this is it.

The staff is very friendly and will serve you with a smile and a laugh. They have flay screens for all the sports and you will see friendly games going on like dominoes and cards. You can sit on one of the open air patios and just people watch with a cold red stripe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RastaMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST atmosphere and BEST fried chicken on the island.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The management has been the hospitality, hotel / restaurant industry for over 30 years. Excellent customer service. Stop by to see them!!! All the food is good, but man that fried chicken is outside of this world. Just love sitting on the outside patio, eating some food and listening to some good music. My family and I were in Jamaica last week and we spent almost every night at Mobay Proper and just having an irie time. Not to mention Karaoke night on Thursday. The place was on fire!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Red Snapper”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

we visited Mobay Proper because we are a fan of their Fish and of course this time they did not disappoint.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MoBay Proper also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to MoBay Proper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing