We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Nearby Hotels
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$563
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$429
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$519
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Round Hill Hotel & Villas(Hopewell)(Great Value!)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$577
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$988
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$1,587
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,614)
Filter reviews
2,614 results
Traveller rating
1,792
576
183
30
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,792
576
183
30
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua barfun funjo jochill out barvogue barspecialty restaurantsfusion restauranthour barjerk chickenbreakfast and lunchentertainment stafflobby barsister resortwhite partyclose to the airportan adults only resortplanes flying
Filter
Updating list...
2,424 - 2,429 of 2,614 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is an amazing hotel. Stayed during the opening week. Everything is nice fresh and clean. The staff is amazing. The rooms are absolutely the best on the island. This is a most stay for everyone visiting Jamaica. Food is good. Every thing is iris. Like the saying goes Once you go- you will know. Give it try!!! You would be disappointed

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2050 . Absolutely gorgeous
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were at the RIU PALACE on December 6th, the day of it's GRAND OPENING!!! We only stayed 3 nights for my husband's 40th birthday! Everything was brand new! The resort even smelled new! At check-in, we asked if we could upgrade to an ocean view room. Julian, the woman checking us in, checked to see if it was available and upgraded us free of charge. She told us that if we needed anything or wanted anything extra "all we had to do was ask". Upon check in, the women were all given a rose (nice touch)!
The lobby is very modern, the colors with orange and purple and silver. Of course, everything very clean and pristine.
Our room was fabulous! We had two double beds, which the housekeeping staff was able to push together for us to make a king bed - no problem! The view was fantastic! I loved the shower! It had a normal shower head, but then also a rain shower head. The room had a jetted tub, but not something we ever used.
The first couple nights we were there, they only restaurant at RIU Palace was the buffet. However, we were able to make reservations at the RIU Montego Bay - no problem. We told the front desk staff that we wanted a reservation at the Steakhouse next door, they called and got us the reservation. The third night we were there, their restaurant KRYSTAL made it's debut. The food was FABULOUS! The wait staff at the restaurant was also amazing. Everyone so kind and accommodating! When they found out it was my husband's birthday, they brought out a cake (with a sparkler on top) and sang "happy birthday".
Evening entertainment was also at the RIU next door.
We visited the RIU next door several times. When you stay at RIU PALACE, you also have full enjoyment of the activities next door. They are literally right next door to each other.
Copeland - one of the bartenders was FABULOUS! We enjoyed sitting and talking with him. He also made great drinks. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we were having the perfect vacation! There was also another bartender and we can't remember his name, but he was there during the day - can't say enough great things about the staff!
I did aerobics on the beach in the morning with "MegaTron". He also taught a water aerobics class in the afternoon. Fabulous! Also on the activities staff is "MoMo" - you will have to find her because she is #1!
There were some kinks to be worked out. It was the Grand Opening, none the less. On the website, it said we were to have bathrobes in all the rooms. All the rooms are also supposed to have clock radios. We didn't have either one. When I said something to the front desk staff, they said they would take care of it and we had bathrobes in our room later that day! However, we never did get a clock radio. It wasn't that big of a deal because we are on Jamaica time. It would have been nice, however to know the time in the morning or know if we were going to be late for dinner reservations.

The only downside...we were very disappointed in the beach. There was a steep drop-off about 10 feet into the ocean. You couldn't really wade out in the ocean without falling in over your head. We also brought our snorkeling equipment to go snorkeling off our beach. We assume that since it's a new resort and they dug out the beach for sand, they must have disturbed the ocean life because there were NO FISH! SNORKELING WAS HORRIBLE!!! Almost a deal breaker for us. RIU PALACE staff told us that we could take an excursion by boat out near Margaritaville where they guaranteed us to see lots of fish. We are used to being able to snorkel right off our beach we we have come to Jamaica on prior trips. The water at RIU PALACE was pretty cloudy and not the crystal clear like we were used to times before when we have visited Jamaica. We could go to the beach next door at RIU, but honestly next door is not the quiet serene atmosphere like RIU PALACE. Next door is very busy with a lot of activities, a lot of noise and a lot of young kids/families. We did go next door and use the Kayaks to go out into the ocean. I would like to suggest that RIU PALACE gets paddle boards (like the Sandals Resort which is next to the RIU).

We have been to other RIU resorts in other locations, but after staying at the RIU PALACE, I don't think we can ever go back to a regular RIU! We loved the adults-only. It was much quieter. We were treated like royalty!

Room Tip: Doesn't hurt to ask to upgrade to ocean view room. You aren't going to get a bad room. Although, I can't imagine you would want a room facing the RIU next door.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigBroChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

just got back from 1 wekl stay room and all cosmetic finishes to 100% very modern staff all helpful and will do best to resolve problems.Drinks excellent.However a la carte restaurants not opened when we arrived only buffet food available which i did not want.Got locked in my room could not get out and took 2 hours for them to open door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacki301268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Don't even consider staying anywhere other that the RIU Palace in Montego Bay, Jamaica. You will NOT be disappointed!!! We were the first to ever stay here during the grand opening weekend, and let me tell you - Everything was PERFECT and in order. The service was superb - no need to give out names because everyone was friendly, nice, and professional. Our group celebrated two birthdays, and the hospitality staff went the extra mile to make the birthday girls feel special. The rooms are very modern and equipped with a Jacuzzi tub, and extra large shower. Visit the hotel's website to see the nice pictures, however when you experience the hotel in person, you will be amazed at what you see. We enjoyed the 24 hour bar, the beach was clean and beautiful, the food was amazing, and the drinks were the best we've ever had. Close to airport. YOU MUST STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smknonkeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I arrived during opening week, so they were still working on some cosmetic details like planting and hanging pictures but that did not take away from our experience. The service was great, food awesome, rooms were very modern. The staff is amazing! Everyone is extremely helpful and will go out of their way to make you comfortable. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Qtkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews