We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just spent a week at the Riu Palace. It was very nice, clean and modern. Small property, but had everything we needed. Great food every day, good drinks, lacked some good liquor. Reservation process was a joke, line up at 7am everyday abd hope to get one..brutal. Someone on here mentioned Secrets and Iberostar Grand. Both phenominal btw. Comparable, but both those had top shelf liquors, and they gor you into ALL restaurants with pleasure...concierge.. everything was good however, our first riu, done all the Grand level Iberostars, Sandals etc... P.S ..blows Sandals away. That doesnt take much these days unless you spend over 5K to get an upper level room with all the extras. Kemar was fantastic at the bar, and restaurants decent, some small portions. Beautiful weather, and real good buffet, especially lunch. We had some grinch guy from Iowa there that was painfully annoying, made you want to drown yourself. This guy craved attention more than a brand new puppy. Glad he left, moral being...there is a guy like this at every resort, dont let it take from your trip, trust me they are at every resort. You would not be disapointed with this Palace in my opinion. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All nice, we had oceanfront. Most all have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    464
    149
    21
    25
See reviews for
219
1,344
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

After a few days at the Riu, Ocho Rios, we were given the opportunity to move to the new Riu Palace in Montego Bay and stop at the new duty-free Rosehall Marketplace on our way (so much choice, not enough time LOL).

Upon our arrival at the new Riu Palace, we were greeted with a champagne glass while doing our check-in. At the reception desk, Julian took care of us from the time we arrived until we left; she gave us excellent service, including an oceanfront room which was a plus. This hotel is very beautiful and zen, my kind of place! Because it just opened, I felt that the staff were walking on eggshells, therefore not as friendly as in Ocho Rios but still professional. The same goes for the food. I would take the food selection from the older hotel for the general buffet, and the smoothies... the Palace need to bring in the guy that does the smoothies from Rio Ochos to show how its really done cause they were AWSOME!!!

I must say that our Jamaican trip at both Riu hotels has been great, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13Pura_Vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Following a flight delay home, the travel company accommodated us in Riu Palace Jamaica and we stayed two nights. About 30 couples were taken there and we arrived at around 9.15. Check in did very well and were organized. We were sat in the restaurant by 9.45 with a drink and good food while our bags were taken to the room.

We were given a very nice ultra modern suite with sea view and balcony. The room looked great with jacuzzi and large rain forest type shower. There was also a huge jacuzzi on the balcony.

We tried to fill the balcony jacuzzi on the first night, but the water just trickled out. We tried again next day, but after 2 hours it didn't even reach the jets and the jets weren't working anyway when we tried them. The indoor jacuzzi filled a little quicker, but we still ended up emptying bins of hot water in it to get it filled in a reasonable time. For a brand new hotel with what are luxurious facilities in rooms, this was disappointing. We did report it, but didn't make a big deal of it as we knew we were only there for a full day and it wasn't our main holiday destination.

Service in the restaurant was really good and the food was good quality. We only ate in the buffet and so can't comment on the other restaurants, but some looked very small and I imagine get booked up.

When on the beach or by the pool waiters came round frequently offering drinks, so can't fault the service during the day.

As we were leaving at 4.45am, we ordered room service for breakfast at 4am and handed in to reception night before. It never materialised. We rang at 4.10 to be told it was on its way. As it had not arrived by 4.25 we rang again, to be told by the room service staff, that he was on his own and had lots of orders - so not on its way then! We left without breakfast - noticing as we left a number of breakfast orders still hanging on doors, so they were likely to be equally disappointed. For a 5 star hotel this was poor service and needs to be improved.

The beach is small, but there were enough loungers and we didn't have a problem. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the airport and planes are over frequently and are very low and noisy. We wouldn't choose to stay for that reason if we were booking our holiday.

Overall the hotel is ultra modern and looks good but need to ensure all the facilities work well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

First let me say that we will not go back to this hotel...

The Good:
- Beautiful, modern, hotel with spacious rooms. We were in room 2037 with ocean view which was awesome, with lovely and large enough balcony. Some people did not like the open space between the bedroom and bathroom - we loved it. The shower was very large and it had a rain shower head which we truly enjoyed. Wifi in the room was fast and free.
- The food was really good. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was great and we were able to sit outside. We had lobster tails and filet mignon at the buffet - what more can you ask for! The A la carte restaurants were all really good - We tried the asian, italian, and fusion ones and loved them all.
- The service is incredible. On the beach, you never wait for your next glass of water, cocktail or beer. There are waiters that come all the time to offer you another drink. In the restaurant, the service again is impeccable. Waiters are funny and full of attention. All of them always go the extra mile to help you and make your vacation truly unique. We even asked for more reggae music around the pool area and they change it right away.
- The chairs and towels... you never wait... there are plenty... no need to reserve chairs... no need to reserve the big beds...And everything of course is new. Although we know the hotel was half full…
- This is an adult only and quiet. We truly enjoyed the proximity of the other RIU which was so lively with shows at night and disco, volleyball on the beach, water sports (kayak, free catamaran, ...) ... It was great to be able to take a short walk over there (2 minutes) to access the activities and fun and then go back to our quiet place to relax. It was the best of both worlds
- Everything is soooo clean... the restaurants, buffet, floors, everywhere, .... Clean clean clean

The Bad:
- The beach is soooo soooo small. Don’t go there if you like to walk on the beach and play in the ocean. IT is clean but soooo small. There is a huge drop in the ocean which prevent any fun games or any long stay in the ocean. This is the #1 reason why we will not go back...
- The front desk... Don’t go there to get any help. When we arrived at 4:00AM, no smile... When we left, we asked for a a short extension of our room only to be told “NO or pay $90.00”. The hotel was half full!!!! What would have been a few hours extension to please a client?
- At noon, our key stop working. One of the manager was in the room beside ours so I asked that she open the door so I could just pick up the luggage - I told her to come with me, the luggages were all done, it would take me two seconds to take them. I told her the color of luggages, where they were in the room... It was a resounding “NO. You have to go downstairs and get your key activated and you will have to pay”
- There is nothing around. You have to take a cab to go to Montego Bay to see a bit more of what Jamaica is all about.

Other small things that may be of interest...
- The robe are likely new (the hotel opened in Dec. 2013) but they are cheap and already showing signs of age. There could be slippers provided... Not a big deal…
- The airport is soooo close. The noise of the planes can be annoying. We did not care... The good about this is that it is a very short trip to go from airport to hotel.
- Coffee is amazing! Blue Mountain it is!
- There are a very limited number of activities at this RIU but they are good. Again just going next door and you have everything you want. There are no board games or entertainment so when the weather is not good, there is not much to do
- The gym is small and does not have a view of the beach

Overall, this is a beautiful resort with restrictions… We have been to many places in the Caribbean, Mexico, Central and South America for a warm vacation to escape the winter, most of the time in 5 stars hotels, and we have found better places in the past.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eliaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our travel agent Sharon Frith of Travel Consultants in Midlothian, Virginia booked our trip through GO GO vacations to the Riu Palace in Montego Bay. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold glass of champagne. Our check-in process was swift and we were greeted by the warmest reception from Florence Roach. During our stay we enjoyed the tranquility of the private beaches as well as the access to the Rui Montego Bay next door when we desired more lively entertainment. The room service was timely and the food was great. Compliments to the chefs of both the Aqua and Rose Hall restaurants. Keisha Edwards was a very attentive and professional hostess whom I noticed made a special effort to remember all of her patrons names during their stay. Thanks to Preston who is the most charming and professional waiter. Thanks Neville for the best drinks in the palace! Thanks Cheryl in housekeeping! Thanks Mo Mo and Michael aka "Michael Jackson" for keeping us laughing. Thanks to everyone for great customer service at the Riu Palace. You all should be commended for your service and hospitality. You all are the reason why people come back for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 511DeidraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Germain-de-Grantham, quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I Can not wait until I go back..I went with my Husband from the 10th until the 17th of Jan 2014. It was beautiful the room, the hotel, everything....the staff really made us feel welcome, especially Fabian he is the evening bartender at the vogue. He is the sweetest guy I believe we have ever met and he made our stay fabulous...thanks again Fabian..
Sunwing was ok we had a 2hr delay coming back but all in all it was ok. I love this place and I am hoping to get back in April..thanks again Riu Palace great place...Darlene

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've been told that Secrets Hotel and Iberostar Hotel's where the best, but i can say thats a lie upon searching the internet i found a brand new hotel that was recently build in Montego Bay, Jamaica the Name is RIU PALACE Montego Bay i stayed there a week with my wife and i can say its the best Hotel i have ever been and i travel a lot........upon arrival check in was quick and smooth Florence was excellent, she was quick a jovial. The first thing i did was tour the property and so far well clean, if you are not the type of person to interact with people its a no no hotel for you because the Staffs are Excellent and very helpful. I went to all the Bars and the Staff are quite courteous. Dinner was wonderful Miguel one of the Restaurant Supervisor is very nice and well mannered, at met three (3) waiters and they had the same first name, i was shocked JASON,JASON,JASON they are very helpful and they make you feel at home nice gentlemen. I also meet Keisha Edwards she is one of there best waitress. ABRAHAM was our Bartender of choice he always make us laugh.
Pools are close to each other but that didn't matter to us.

Not really much entertainment at night but there is always a choice to make because you can always go next door to the other RIU HOTE

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Demetrius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,056 reviews
5.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,334 reviews
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
18.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Address: | Mahoe Bay. Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-storey hotel with a total of 238 guest rooms is located directly on the beach next to the hotel Riu Montego Bay * The vibrant city of Montego Bay is 4.5 km away * The guests of Riu Palace Jamaica may use the facilities in Riu Montego Bay, except breakfast and dinner meal * Airport Sangster International Airport Montego Bay (MBJ) 2.7 km approx. * Main building 4 floors - 238 rooms * Annexed building 3 floors - 51 rooms * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing