We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property is BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Again, I only toured this property on a Travel Agent Familiarization Trip. This resort is unbelieveably beautiful. I loved it. It is pretty much for the most part done in white and the Spa is clearly the most amazing spa I have seen in a long time. I will include photos of spa. This property is so clean, pristine and fresh looking. I want to stay there...in fact I will be staying in June for a few nights. The pool is breathtaking.

Room Tip: This is a super lovely property and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent 5 days at the Riu Palace the beginning of May. Our trip was everything we expected and more!! The hotel is modern, beautifully decorated and clean. There is walking access to the Riu (family resort) next door which gives you the best of both worlds! We chose the Riu Palace since it is a quieter, adult only resort and we could go next door for more "action". The Staff is very friendly, helpful and professional. There were very attentive while lounging on the beach. The food selection at the buffet was excellent and plentiful. The specialty restaurants are rather small, there is an early seating around 6:30pm and a second seating around 830-9pm-- long pants are required for men. We ate at the Italian one twice which seemed to be the largest restaurant, food was great with an awesome salad bar. We also took a day trip to Negril with a local taxi driver which was well worth the money-- remember to negotiate a fair price. I can't say enough about the Riu Palace. There were activities to join if you wanted from activities in the pool, shows at the resort next door to dance parties at night.


One warning: the hotel is about 2 miles from the airport so departing flights pass over frequently but the noise lasts about 5 seconds. It was noticeable but not enough to keep us from returning!!

Room Tip: We had garden view, would probably upgrade to ocean front or pool view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roshep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Check into the resort on 5/13/2014 which was my 53 birthday. Was very impressed with the look of the resort. The rooms were beautiful clean and modern. The only complaint about the room was no privacy from from the sink /tub area. I was with a girlfriend and we wanted privacy when washing up. We stressed when making the reservations that we were not a couple. I think there should be a curtain up for privacy
The staff was superior. Their main concern was your happiness. They were professional and always ready to help. They anticipated your needs before you could ask.
Will definitely vacation at The Riu Palace Jamaica again.
Also having full access to the resort next door was the best.

Room Tip: If you are not a couple make sure you get a room with privacy for the tub/ sink area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at Riu Palace Jamaica May 2-9. Wonderful staff, very clean hotel, good service. Food was good. Had ocean front room, 2012, excellent location. Far from elevator, but used stairs which we didn't mind. Only complaint is lack of top quality liquor.....no single malt scotch, no Remy Martin cognac.....Very close to airport a major plus. Noise from planes departing, but got used to it quite well. Beach is small but used the beach at Riu next door for our walks. Will be back......Thanks awesome staff for a wonderful week...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinnyVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have been to Jamaica many times and stayed in the following, Holiday Inn" plain old terrible from start to finish" Hilton Rose Hall" nice but when its busy it can not cope".
We have just come back from the Riu Palace Hotel and I must say apart from the fushion restaurant the hotel is great in aspects. It's not huge and so they can offer service and great food. You can also use the Rui Hotel next door of which we stayed there for two days as well but there is no comparison pay the extra and get a true 5 star hotel. We will go back next year and only back to the Riu Palace.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the pool or beech
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 4 days at the Riu Palace in the middle of April. Our trip was everything we expected!! The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Having access to the Riu next door gave us the best of both worlds! A nice, quieter, adult only resort and if we felt like it, we could go next door for more "action". The food, drinks and staff were excellent. A couple of dollars for tips go a long way but the staff were never pushy about it. We asked a waitress what a certain drink was that she was bringing someone and we said we will have to get one after lunch. She came back and found us about 1 hour later with our drinks! She remembered! The food selection at the buffet was great and plentiful. The restaurants were small but had 2 seatings and we didn't have trouble getting a table. I can't say enough nice things about the Riu Palace. There was plenty to do if you wanted from activities in the pool, sports at the sister resort next door to shows/dance parties at night. Everyone we met (guests and staff) was pleasant and friendly. It was the perfect relaxation vacation that we had hoped for!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ahhma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this resort for one week in March 2014 and we enjoyed every bit of it. It is a small complex compare to others I have been to but they have everything. I love the coziness and luxury feeling that this hotel gives. Staffs are extremely friendly and professional. We did not have anything to complain about. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TL7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,213 reviews
5.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica

Address: | Mahoe Bay. Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £264 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-storey hotel with a total of 238 guest rooms is located directly on the beach next to the hotel Riu Montego Bay * The vibrant city of Montego Bay is 4.5 km away * The guests of Riu Palace Jamaica may use the facilities in Riu Montego Bay, except breakfast and dinner meal * Airport Sangster International Airport Montego Bay (MBJ) 2.7 km approx. * Main building 4 floors - 238 rooms * Annexed building 3 floors - 51 rooms * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing