We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bound Brook, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved the Riu Palace! We were originally planning to go back to a Couples resort but our travel agent found us a deal at Riu we could not pass up. I was very skeptical but am sooo glad we took the chance. What a great hotel! We stayed 7 nights Friday to Friday in May 16th-May 23rd and it was just fantastic.
The food and service at this place are really top notch. We only tried the Steakhouse restaurant and felt it was just so so. Based on the great food we had experienced at the buffet, we just decided to stick with the buffet the other nights so we didn't have to deal with lining up at a certain time to get a seat. The buffet had tons of options and I did not feel like I was missing out by not trying the other restaurants! The room was very clean and the grounds were well maintained. The beach is smaller than than some other hotels but there were always chairs available and the beach servers are fantastic. We tipped a few dollars a day to these guys because they work their butts off and deserve it! Unlike others the planes did not bother us in the slightest bit! You are not dealing with a JFK type airport with planes going over every 5 minutes here people! I think the earliest we heard a plan was around 8am and latest around 8pm. We actually reeeally appreciated being less than 10 minutes door to door from the airport. Our return flight was 3:40pm and we weren't picked up until 1:30pm. It gave us extra time to enjoy the resort before we left that day and we still had tons of time at the airport to check-in and do some final souvenir shopping!
With access to the Riu right next door with the watersports, shows, larger pools, nightclub and restaurants etc. you are really getting the best of both worlds. You can go there to party or stay at the Palace for a more relaxed atmosphere. We definitley enjoyed a few crazy nights next door but it was great to have the peace and quiet without kids during the day or on nights you just wanted to chill out.
We highly recommend this place and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eebrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    466
    149
    21
    25
See reviews for
219
1,346
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow, Wow and wow. From the moment you arrive, both your eyes and taste buds are in for a treat. Although only open for less than a year, the friendly staff will amaze you with their eagerness to please. Can you believe wishing and asking in the dining room and the chef delivers, yes. The national dish, Ackee and Saltfish was not being served the evening we arrived, but after requesting it, it was freshly prepared and served within 30 minutes. Top shelf liquor, freshly brewed coffee to order, homemade sirloin hamburgers, 24 hour room service and turn down service are just a few of the amenities. Only 2 minutes from the airport.
Going back again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a lovely experience. This resort was by far the best I've ever been to. Adults ONLY. Perfect for adults who do not care to be entertained or interrupted by other people's children. The food was delicious and perfectly seasoned every time. The specialty restaurants were not as good. Stay away from the Japanese restaurant altogether. It was horrible. The resort is on the beach directly. They have many events nightly and lots of prize giveaways or room upgrades. You're able to visit any of the other Riu resorts without issue. All rooms allow smoking on the balconies so that's a good thing, especially if you like to smoke while you sip Rum. I cant exclaim enough how amazed I was with the resort, the friendly service and the food.

Room Tip: Please choose either courtyard or ocean view room. The garden view sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiffany m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This resort was PERFECT for our all girls sorority anniversary trip! The rooms were very spacious as we stayed 3 to a room (each person had their own bed). The service was outstanding and the amenities were great. The food was absolutely delicious with lots of variety! If you are looking for quiet relaxation without children, need a second honeymoon, then this is the perfect resort! Nightly entertainment was good...we were able to walk to the Riu Montego Bay to see the Michael Jackson Tribute show and groove to a reggae band.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursa, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from here with two of our very best friends. None of us have a bad thing to say about it either!
We fell in love with the palace right when we walked in. Everyone was so helpful right from the get go. I unfortunately cannot remember any of the receptionists names... But that is only because I was too busy taking photos of the beautiful lobby! Our rooms were almost done when we got there so they let us go on up, and they were finished by the time we got up there. We stayed in 3041, it had the most beautiful view of the ocean, and the courtyard. We were lucky enough to have our friends' room right next door, too! The beds were very comfortable, the room was spotless, and the showers were great!
We ate at the Japanese place the first night. It was pretty good, but we decided that we all loved the buffet so much, that we continued going there for all three meals! Our breakfast server was Ryan, aka Cheese...or Big Cheese! He was wonderful! Made us feel right at home. We had an evening server that we wanted to bring home with us. His name was Sanjay!! His birthday was Friday, so us four sang happy birthday to him.
Richard was our bartender at the pool most of the time, and he was full of energy! When he was on break, we had Andrei. He was very good too! Over at the aqua bar, we discovered Copeland. He was so sweet. I was sad we only got to be around him for one day.
We also got to meet so many cool people in the pool, by the bar! Some of which only live an hour and a half from us. We even called one couple mom and dad. We met an awesome couple from Kentucky and hung out with them the whole time we were there. And another from new jersey!
Clive was the best waitor on the beach! We are really going to miss this guy. His laugh was enough to make you love him, but his personality was even better. Ask him for an island dream. :)

We heard that people hated that they had to deal with the noise of the planes going over the resort. This is NOT an issue at all. Yes planes fly over the resort and yes it's loud, but it lasts for five seconds. And I found that many people enjoyed watching the planes go by. One of those people...was me.

We are already planning our next trip back to the palace, and it can't get here soon enough!

Room Tip: You can't beat the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from two weeks stay at Riu Palace Montego Bay.
It was one of the best AI trips and we have so far been on over 20 . Beautiful, clean, very well maintained resort, comfortable rooms with everything we needed. Food was delicious everywhere, buffet was enough with so many choices, hard to try everything even for two weeks.
Of course the best was all the staff and I mean all of them were simply the best, I cannot say enough about them, you feel welcome, taken care of and never wait for anything for long.
One thing which we were not so very pleased with is not having enough shade on the beach, if you trying to stay away from sun and like to spend all day on the beach, it is impossible, unless you sit under shaded area close to the pool with swim up bar which is very noisy, perhaps too noisy for some, the beach by Aqua Bar is much nicer, provides some shade from Bali beds but only for a few hours, it would be very nice if there were some palapas for those adults who want to stay away fro sun part of the day, but enjoy peace and tranquility of the beach for the rest of the day

Room Tip: We had garden view and in my opinion I would not choose courtyard as they are exposed to all common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My bf and I just came back from our annual vacation four days ago. The moment we stepped into this resort, we were welcomed by the staff. The front desk receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly (which was a great start). I believe her name is karreth or carreth. The staff at the buffet -romairo and Sanjay were amazing. Very very accommodating and made us felt very welcomed -and keep in mind, this was all just two hrs of arriving at the resort. Loved everything about this resort. The staff, decor of the rooms, food and bars were amazing. We didn't even want to leave at all. We will def come back to this resort because there is no need to venture out to another resort when we love the staff here. The rooms were clean and they changed our towels daily (unlike other resorts we've been to). We had an amazing time and the staff had a big contribution to that. Can't wait to go back already.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_Ha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,056 reviews
5.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,336 reviews
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
5.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
18.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Address: | Mahoe Bay. Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-storey hotel with a total of 238 guest rooms is located directly on the beach next to the hotel Riu Montego Bay * The vibrant city of Montego Bay is 4.5 km away * The guests of Riu Palace Jamaica may use the facilities in Riu Montego Bay, except breakfast and dinner meal * Airport Sangster International Airport Montego Bay (MBJ) 2.7 km approx. * Main building 4 floors - 238 rooms * Annexed building 3 floors - 51 rooms * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing