We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spring Break for Our Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Spring Break for Our Family”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our family made a late decision to go away during school break. We were skeptical that we would find a nice place with little notice. We booked through Usairwaysvacations and saw good reviews for The Sunset at Oasis. To our delight we LOVED this resort! Had the best of both worlds... plenty to keep our son happy , great food choices, FRIENDLY service and a beautiful beach! He enjoyed the water park. The Oasis is smaller and quieter than the towers location but WORTH the extra money! And you get the luxury of 2 restaurents and bars plus use of all at the towers next door. The buffet was above average, Food&service at Blue Mahoe was 1st class! The Terrace would have been perfect but found service to be slow. The resort provides a free shuttle that ran like closckwork! They should highlight the private part of the beach with a larger sign - as we didn't find it until our last day- note the part of the beach we did you was relaxing ,spacious and had snorkeling . Rooms were clean and comfy but could have used queen rather than double beds and the bathroom could have used some paint/upgrades. Look even without these minor changes we truly enjoyed our whole stay and will definitely return! Found it very relaxing!!!! PS- thae staff went out of their to assist with our sons food allergy AND were very friendly!

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the water park were quieter. East wing is close to private beach, outdoor bar and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    333
    109
    30
    22
See reviews for
478
427
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my first time travelling to Jamaica as well as an all inclusive trip. (Costa Rica for 18 days 11 years ago. we just winged it with a car rental and drove the whole country.) The hotel is close to the airport. Very important when traveling with 2 young boys (2-5). The staff was great. When we arrived at 10 am 2 of the 3 rooms where ready. Even switched an upstairs room for a downstairs room for my mom as she is sick. THANKS OASIS!!!!! The views from the east wing and the cabana rooms are gorgeous. The view out to the ocean is awesome as well. At night you can see the shore line to the west and the east. Food was great. The Blue Mahoe Restaurant has some of the best chicken and steak around. The terrace restaurant was beautiful but slow at getting your food. wouldn't have been a problem for me if it wasn't for the kids playing in the sun all day and being super tired. But when the food did show up it was presented beautifully and tasted great. Staff is soo polite and always smiling. My brother made very quick friends with the staff and some locals so we had a few extras during our stay. Such friendly people. Rooms were clean and had A/C. A must have to sleep. The spa staff was amazing. THANKS Tara for giving my mom a little reflex teaser for her legs. Made me cry.
Definetly plan on going back for xmas if we can manage to save for it. lol
Great place to vacation. 100%.

Room Tip: pay the extra money for beach front cabana especially if you don't want to go to sleep at the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soffie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conception Bay South, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our 3rd time at Sunset or as it's now called Oasis at Sunset. We traveled with 2 adults and 2 girls age 12 and 7 . The kids LOVE this place. Staff is fantastic. Food is dynamite at ALL restaurants , beach grill and buffet. Rooms and grounds are very clean. Room staff, ground staff and restaurant as well as bar staff are the BEST ever. Our flight was delayed for 2.5 hours so instead of sending us to the airport at our scheduled time, front desk staff advised us of the delay and told us to relax and check back in an hour for an update. We were advised after an hour that they still did not have any new info but would keep us posted.We went back to the beach, had lunch and relaxed for another hour or more. This was a lot more enjoyable than sitting at at airport waiting on updates for our flight. We checked back in with the front desk 2.5 hours after we were told of the delay. We were advised that our flight was leaving at 5:10 and our bus was on site for us in 5 minutes to take us to the airport.At the airport we met several people on our flight that had stayed at other resorts in the area and had been at the airport for several hours before us. Oasis staff went above and beyond to keep us comfortable and informed. We end our trip with and extra half day we were not expecting. I met many new and great people such as Sean Morel ( Hey Sean, This is Sean the salt beef and peas pudding junky. See you next trip hopefully)and his traveling party and his review is dead on accurate, I can`t complement the staff enough at this place and I echo his review.100%. These people work for a lot less than we do and they work damn hard. Don`t be afraid to bring a few extra $$ with you to show your appreciation or ball hats ,t-shirts, sunglasses etc. Not that this makes a difference to the service you receive, but it will make a difference to see the smile on these peoples faces when you show them your appreciation. We will be making our 4th trip, as well as many more in the future. I would recommend this resort to anyone because ``Every little ting, gonna be alright``

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and returned on 19 April 2014 from a fantastic one-week vacation in Jamaica, at the Oasis at Sunset resort in Montego Bay. This was our first time in Jamaica but not the first time near that latitude, having previously visited Cuba, the Dominican Republic and Mexico.

We had a wonderful, relaxing time. We were looking for a resort that was secluded, relatively quiet and that had good food and great service. We were well served on all these fronts at the Oasis, from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Some of the main impressions that come to mind:
Proximity of the resort to the airport: forget the 60 or 90-minute drive before getting to the resort. It’s basically a 15 min drive from the airport so you are there is no time at all. Huge plus and seeing the planes from a distance, coming in for a landing throughout the day, was kind of nice too.
Wonderful service. We cannot say enough positive things about the friendliness, attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff and here we would like to say a special thank you to Albert, Kerri-Anne, Carol and Ava-Gaye for having taken such great care of us during the week.
The food: we ate mostly at the a la carte restaurants throughout the week, even though the buffet was quite good, because of the quality of the food and the quality of the service. Byrons, the Jamaican restaurant, particularly stood out for us at dinner time.
A beach for everyone: a lovely main beach with great snorkelling (from the beach, aim straight at the largest of the white buoys right in front of the beach and you will find an endless variety of reefs to explore), smaller shallow beaches, a private beach exclusively for the guests of the Oasis, if you feel like having a quieter time and finally a secluded nudist beach. As is often the case at all-inclusive resorts, you need to "reserve" your chairs early or else you may not be able to sit where you wanted to.
Very comfortable rooms. It felt to us like our king bed was brand new because it was so firm. We were also surprised by how sound-proofed the rooms were (having quiet neighbours could also have been a factor here, of course). That said, we would have enjoyed slightly firmer pillows and a slightly quieter A/C unit but these are relatively minor complaints.
This is probably not the best resort for people looking for an active night life. There is no nightclub at the resort so taking a taxi into Montego Bay would have been a must. This was not an issue for us because that is not what we were looking for.

We chose this resort at the last minute, on the strength of the positive reviews we saw on TripAdvisor and Expedia and I am happy to report that, once again, the reviews were fairly representative of what we experienced. These sites are becoming essential tools in planning a successful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mario_meteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went for a family trip. 5 adults 2 children. The property is beautifully decorated and well maintained!!
We made some great friends from all over same goes for the friendly people whom work in various fields at the resort :)
Front desk service is was amazing!!! Thanks Renea :) Fabian was always on-hand to help with any detail small or large ;) Bertram will do everything in his power to help make your stay an enjoyable one!! His ability to maintain and or develop areas in the garden are well above any expectation you could want or have :)
Adrian will undoubtedly help you with your things when arriving and or leaving, eitherway you and your belongings are in very capable and trustworthy hands !!! (:if your wifi is acting up or not working for any reason he will surely get it working without a hitch:)
"Blacks" is usually on the beach clearing stones and debris for your beach walking needs and what a job this man has at times!!! He also cut us some sugar cane for the kids and chatted with us everyday he saw us... we laughed and shared stories together , felt so welcoming and natural just engaging with the people at the Oasis at Sunset.
Food was astonishingly good!!! every meal was made with impeccable skill and flavour. The presentation was also very Classy to say the least!!
Rooms are beautiful inside and out... the views are breathtaking whether Garden view rooms or beachfront !!!!
This resort is a very short drive from the Montego Bay airport which is a great perk as your travel time is nil compared to other areas friends of ours had gone to ....
:private diner on the beach was amazing!!!
:private beach was exactly that!!!
:shopping was bliss and choices were plentiful!!!
ETC......
All'n'all this place is by far the best all inclusive vacation I have ever booked and We all cannot wait to return which is looking like xmas and new years!!!

...One Love...

Room Tip: Ground floor beachfront cabana ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanMorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned today from a one week stay at the Oasis and miss it already. Everything was perfect for our visit from the patient and attentive staff to the magnificent food. We were catered to from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Ernest, the bartender kept us entertained daily along with Nicoise and Owayne who helped us booking tours, getting drinks and making sure we were taken care of at all times.
We ate at 4 of the 5 a la carte restaurants for dinners and were impressed with each. We only ate at the buffet for two lunches as it is quite busy and we prefer a quieter setting. The service was excellent at each restaurant and the selection was quite varied.
The beaches were beautiful and well maintained. We stayed at the private beach all week and did some snorkeling and sun tanning. This beach is quiet, is stocked with cold water in coolers, clean towels and a bartender who serves on the beach. Perfect!
Again, we absolutely loved our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had a good time at the Oasis for my first time in Jamaica for our Anniversary. We had a speedy check in and liked not having to arrange transport. Upon walking in we were greeted with a cool towel and a drink. The food overall was very good but the beach grille really needs to be overhauled. The staff there were not organized and unlike the rest of the places to eat, they acted like they were doing us a favor. Plus they ran out of jerk chicken, in Jamaica, really? This was a good trip and we relaxed on the private beach (not as nice as the main beach) but relaxing, as well as the pool. Clifton and Jacqueline were wonderful at the pool bar and always had a great suggestion for what to drink. We ate breakfast at the Terrace every morning since the buffet was not really to my liking, Albert at the Terrace was a delight as well as Omar and Judy-Ann. We tried the The Blue Mahoe, The Italian restaurant, and Byron's. The food and service were great, except for the crying children during dinner it would have been perfect.
My room was okay but would have liked an ocean front instead of view but the biggest suggestion for the rooms are ceiling fans above the bed. The are greatly needed along with the air conditioning. It was quite warm.
The entertainment was really nice and we had a great couples message at the spa that was wonderful. I worked out daily at the gym but if you get there before the spa opens there is no air conditioning.
My biggest thing was the lack of accountability with the rules, an adult only pool should be adult only, if the signs say smoke here then people walking around smoking should be told.
All in all this was a good trip but if you are looking for a quiet couples trip this resort is very loud and busy, with children running all over . I was looking for something a little more quiet, since I was vacationing away from our 5 children. It was my misunderstanding at how close the family Beach resort was to the Oasis. For as busy as it was, the grounds and all areas were immaculate, There was someone constantly picking up glasses and trash, and cleaning the bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
9.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,360 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
13.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Cove Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Address: 1 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Freeport, Montego Bay 33565, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Cove Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an all Sun Club resort, Sunscape Cove Montego Bay offers an enhanced Unlimited-Fun(R) Caribbean escape, where everything is included. These charming beachfront accommodations, featuring 122 newly renovated rooms with chic décor and a Caribbean flair, are surrounded by Montego Bay Marine Park, Jamaica's fully underwater national park, on a private peninsula along a white sand beach. As well as enjoying full access to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay next door, where you will find dining, bars, lounges, the expansive Pirate's Paradise Waterpark and more, you will also receive special check-in and checkout with concierge service, complimentary room service (7 a.m. - 11 p.m.) and an upgraded mini-bar refreshed daily. Kids will enjoy cartoons, milk, cookies and other special treats in their room. Two restaurants and two bars, as well as a Sun Club Lounge with complimentary Wi-Fi are available exclusively for Sun Club guests of Sunscape Cove and Sunscape Splash. Eight dining options, seven bars and lounges, the Explorer's Club for Kids and Core Zone Teens Club, daily land and water activities, live music and local entertainment provide Unlimited-Fun(R) for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Cove Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing