We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OASIS at Sunset MoBay- Loved every day we stayed there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OASIS at Sunset MoBay- Loved every day we stayed there”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Oasis at Sunset May 26 - 31, 2014 and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Excelllent staff from check in to check out. Excellent customer service, entertainment and food. I wasn't too thrilled about the menus offered as I wanted to try the Jamaican dishes which was not on the menu and all I had to do was to ask the wait staff about trying those dishes. I would visit this resort again and agian.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    358
    120
    32
    26
See reviews for
526
445
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have only been here one day and the place is amazing. The staff have all been great and always asking if we need help with anything. At dinner we ate at the patio outside and our waiter Manley was the best waiter we ever had in all of our travels. He never stopped smiling and was there to refresh our table the second something was needed. The hotel attendant Nicois was also very pleasant and helpful. We are very impressed with the resort so far. I will update this at the end of our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hasheem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i spent 3days at the hotel from may 29th to june 1st. i must commend the two girls at the front desk they really made us feel right at home. the staff is so warm and friendly. the entertainment was wonderful and the food was amazing! Hat's off to Renae & Shaday #TillNextTimeSunSet

Room Tip: East wing is awsome. West wing is louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raney111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just returned Saturday from a week stay at The Oasis at Sunset Beach. The staff at this resort was all very friendly and helpful. They were the best part of the vacation. The food was good at the Oasis Terrrace and at the other Oasis restaurant that required a reservation. (I can't remember the name)
Now for my many disapointments.........
I was disappointed that these 2 Oasis only restaurants had the exact same menu for every meal, which was boring by the end of the week. We paid the higher All-Inclusive rate to be on this side for better food and drinks.
Our side did have premium alcohol, that was very good. The down-side was that you could only get it at 1 bar next to the Terrace, so while you were on the beach (even the private beach) you only could get the regular rum at the beach bar. The drink service on the beach side was spotty at best. We would see the beach server a couple of times early in the morning and then were lucky to see her once an hour.

The beach was fair at best. This is not a beach where you would spend a lot of time in the water. The beach has a lot of rocks, (highly recommend water shoes/socks) and also a lot of seaweed in the water. The water is very shallow and probably only 4 feet deep 100 yards off the beach. There are a lot of sea urchins in the seaweed, so I would not recommend walking barefoot in it. We brought our own sniorkeling gear and had fun looking at the fish and other creatures in the seaweed.

The room we were in was "Ok" at best. Our view was facing the tennis courts across the street. When we sat on our balcony there was nothing to see and all we heard was the cement trucks and dump trucks driving by on the road. Again, very disappointing. The bathroom was way to small by today's vacation standards. There really was just barely enough room for one person to be in it. The only mirror with a light by it was in the bathroom, which made it inconvient when getting ready for dinner.

There is no pool on the premium side of the resort which seemed odd to me. We did not go on the family side to use the pool, since it was always loud on that side with a lot of families. Besides, we paid for premium alcohol, why would we want to be on that side and have to drink the regular rum. If you are wondering, yes you could taste a difference in the premium versus regular rum and we do not drink rum at home.

There was no entertainment on the Oasis side of the resort except for music for about 2 hours during dinner. We did not participate or watch any of the entertainment on the family side. It seemed to be on the level of a cruise ship from what I could tell. They did have a small casino on sight.

The last issue we had was at our last dinner on Friday night. We came down around 8pm to eat at the Terrace and saw they were busy, so we told Andrew (who was always VERY pleasant and nice to us the whole week) that we would sit at the bar and have a drink until some of the tables cleared. He then came and got us a little before 8:30 to seat us. Our food and drink order was taken in the normal amount of time. We received our drinks and bread basket quickly. We then were brought our soup and appetizer at the same time (this was odd since usually each of these were served separately as a course) After this we sat and waited about 30 minutes when the Chef came out of the kitchen to talk to the table next to us. He then went to each table to appoligize for the wait, but said thay it was only another person and himself in the kitchen. He told us our food would be out shortly. We waited another 20 minutes.....still no food. By this time we were no longer hungry and tired. It was now around 10pm, so we just got up went to our room. We then got a call about an hour later from Andrew, who apoligized for us not receiving our food. It was not his fault. It was poorly planned by the kitchen not to have enough staff working for the weekend. This ended our trip on a bad note.

Lastly, we exchanged a timeshare week to come here. Do not waste exchanging your week. All you do is pay the exchange fee, give up your timeshare week, and still pay the same All-Inclusive fee that you could have gotten by just booking a week on their website.

I would recommend going elsewhere in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scubalady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed from May 18th to 24th. The staff were very friendly, the grounds were beautiful, the food at all of the restaurants was above average to really good. I would absolutely recommend to others and would return if I'm in Jamaica again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at he Oasis May 10-14 and enjoyed every minute of the day. Despite the weather, the hotel had plenty to do. Entertain was great, however, the food is a little hit or miss, although you will never go hungry. The staff, well I can't say enough, they are terrific especially, Kerry, Omar and Shada. The rooms are great, clean and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The pool and beach were fantastic. I would revisit this hotel without a doubt. The AC worked well and the water pressure was great - always hot water.

Room Tip: I recommend the Cabana Suites, they are on the beach and also close to the pool. The rooms are fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I just returned from my 9th stay in Mo'Bay, JA!! The resort is always amazing. The "Oasis" was new this year. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfy. All you'll need is right here. The staff is GREAT. Rosie, Shameka, & Arniece, you're awesome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MsTrudyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
9.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
0.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
13.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Cove Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Address: 1 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Freeport, Montego Bay 33565, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Cove Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an all Sun Club resort, Sunscape Cove Montego Bay offers an enhanced Unlimited-Fun(R) Caribbean escape, where everything is included. These charming beachfront accommodations, featuring 122 newly renovated rooms with chic décor and a Caribbean flair, are surrounded by Montego Bay Marine Park, Jamaica's fully underwater national park, on a private peninsula along a white sand beach. As well as enjoying full access to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay next door, where you will find dining, bars, lounges, the expansive Pirate's Paradise Waterpark and more, you will also receive special check-in and checkout with concierge service, complimentary room service (7 a.m. - 11 p.m.) and an upgraded mini-bar refreshed daily. Kids will enjoy cartoons, milk, cookies and other special treats in their room. Two restaurants and two bars, as well as a Sun Club Lounge with complimentary Wi-Fi are available exclusively for Sun Club guests of Sunscape Cove and Sunscape Splash. Eight dining options, seven bars and lounges, the Explorer's Club for Kids and Core Zone Teens Club, daily land and water activities, live music and local entertainment provide Unlimited-Fun(R) for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunscape Cove Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing