We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Montego Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Somis, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Montego Bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Oasis at Sunset is the more exclusive, sister property of the neighboring Sunset Resort. Oasis guests can also use the facilities at the Sunset.

I would describe The Oasis as an upscale motel, which sounds odd. The rooms were like two-star motel rooms, but the food and service were four/five-star. The staff is really what makes The Oasis great.

Food: The food is exceptional! Okay, breakfast isn’t all that good, but lunch and dinner are superb! Breakfast and lunch are served on the terrace with a beautiful view of the courtyard. The menus are always the same, but I thought there were enough items to choose from. Dinner is also served on the terrace or you can make a reservation for the other restaurant on the property, The Blue Mahoe, which has a different menu. You can also eat at the buffet or any of the restaurants at The Sunset, but you really won’t want to because the food does not compare. The wait staff is very friendly and was constantly filling up your water/coffee/alcoholic beverage of choice. We really enjoyed the mac n’ cheese, veggie pizza, and chef salad at lunch and the snapper and pork loin for dinner. Also, I suggest that you order a Rum Runner.

Rooms: I requested a room in the east wing/block which is closer to the exclusive beach for Oasis guests. Yes, there was much less noise being away from the water park, which is next to the west wing/block. The room was small, clean, and nothing special. The bathroom was very small and there was an opening to the outside hallway in the shower which is a little odd, but you can close it; it’s a shutter-type opening. The beds were firm and I prefer sleeping on a cloud, but I never woke up with any kind of aches, so I can’t complain too much. The air conditioning in the room worked great; almost too well in fact because I had to request an additional blanket to sleep. There was a TV and you can get a key for the safe if you would like to lock anything up. Wifi wasn’t very good in the rooms, so we usually waited until we were in the lobby to use our phones. I think if they had spent some more effort on the rooms in updating them or using more luxurious bedding, they wouldn’t take away from the property so much.

Activities: We used the kayaks and paddle boats at the property. Get to them in the morning because the wind picked up in the afternoons and you can't take them out in the water when it is too windy. The private beach for Oasis guests was quiet and good for a nap. The waitress came around once an hour it seemed, but you don't need more than one drink an hour anyway. The Oasis always had live music during dinner, and it was nice to sit in the lobby after dinner to drink wine and listen to it. You can also go to the sister resort, The Sunset, for some nighttime family entertainment, but it can be crowded over there.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort. You will enjoy your vacation and leave happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    325
    106
    30
    20
See reviews for
463
421
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This resort was wonderful. The people here are very nice and welcoming. My sister and I stayed for 6 nights and 7 days. The food was amazing. Mr. Albert was THE VERY BEST!!!! He made us feel like home. Niçois was great always able to help in anyway possible, Chefs Kevin, Jason, and O'neal went the extra mile to provide the true Jamaican food experience we were looking for. Also, the waiters and waitresses in the Terrace restaurant were beyond compare especially Omar, Manley,Kadeisha, Paul, Davian, Deneasha Grant, and Avagaye Shaw. Can't wait to return to this resort very soon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenJose74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were at the Oasis from June14-21, without the kids. It was a most relaxing week, with all of our requests met, some even before we asked. The staff here, especially Roland (guest services), Denise (Terrace Restaurant), and Therena (beach server), made the week just about perfect!
The jerk chicken at the beach grill was the best we have ever had anywhere. The Terrace and the Blue Mahoe were delicious. The entire staff at the resort-from restaurants to the spa- were some of the best, most friendly people we have ever met.
If you are looking for a relaxing get-away, go here!

Room Tip: If you are going without the kids and want to be away from the big pool, request a room on the east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa , Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Having traveled to DR many times we opted to give Jamaica a try. We weren't disapointed! First off, we flew Sunwing out of Ottawa. We paid for the extra leg room as usual and we had a great flight there and back. As for the transfer from the airport, it was short and sweet. The hotel offers private transfer, so it's direct to the property. No bus stops to other hotels which was great!

Check in was a breeze. Done in an air conditioned room off the lobby. Drinks were provided upon arrival. As we came in early, our room wasn't ready, but no stress. Luggage was stored and directions were given to the bars and the beach. Rooms was provided before the official check in time. So no complaints.

Rooms: could be considered small and a little aged. I've heard facelifts are being done and this will put this place over the top! As for the room size. It's a non issue, as you have a wall of windows over looking the beach and ocean. Bathrooms are small, but kept clean and tidy.

Beach: a bit rocky and not your typical PC white sand beach I had grown use to. Not to worry as I found out that I am now in love with snorkeling. This place is a prime spot for enjoying the sea life. We saw stingrays, manta rays, puffer fish, etc. This all swimming distance from the beach. Use the Oasis private beach. We did everyday. No problems finding chairs or palapas to relax under. Much less crowded than then main beach. A server walks by every 10-15mins for drink orders. Alot of work is being done to improve that side of the resort. They spoke of bathrooms and a bar there to come.

Drinks: good. You could find your standard AI drinks on the menu. Bars were found across the resort. Wait times for a drink were never long.

Food: here is were I was surprised. My wife and I have always been buffets people. Not that we don't like a LA carte's. It's just we're not fans of reservations while on vacation. We ate at the Sunset buffet restaurant only 2 times over the 1 week we were there. The Terrace restaurant was our go to place for 3 fantastic meals a day. Staff was amaizing and the view was great.

Last but not least.
Staff: The staff at this hotel was truly amazing. From check in to grounds keepers. Everyone of them will take the time to make sure you have everything you need to make your trip a memorable one. I won't name any names, as I would forget some and they honestly all deserve a round of applause for making our trip to Jamaica a truly memorable experience.

All in all, we will not only be going back to Jamaica, but we look forward to visiting The Oasis Sunset in the near future!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Ottawa_guy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Oasis resort, gardens, beaches, snorkeling, water park, food, drinks and customer service was all fantastic! The only thing keeping this part of the resort from getting a five is that the bathroom needs to be remodeled and that the beach and Sunset portion of the resort needs to have much more frequent pick up of glasses/plates. We have sons, an 11 year old and 8 year old so having both the beach and water park to choose from was fantastic. Most days we spent half at the beach enjoying the calm ocean, decent snorkeling and free water sports (sea kayaking and the catamaran rides). There were jelly fish, mid June, but not many and the few times we were stung it was very, very mild. The afternoons we would spend at the water park, doing the slides and lazy river. The slides are very mild, not big thrills so great for younger kids. The food on the Sunset side was fair at best; the Grill and Buffet at Banana Walk. I recommend eating all meals on the Oasis side or the reservation restaurants. We loved the food at the Oasis Terrace and The Blue Mahoe and at the Sunset La Belle Vita and Silk road never ate at Byron's. The nightly entertainment was okay - we've been to Mexico all inclusive resorts several times and their entertainment was far superior. Housekeeping was excellent as they would make up the room in the morning and again at turn down service. After a day at the beach we would end up wrecking the room again with the entire family showering for dinner. So the second tidy up and fresh towels made it so nice to come back to a clean room. The Oasis beach was frequently just us and a couple other people but it's not the best for swimming due to the sea grass so even though there was beach service at this beach we spent 99% of our time at the Sunset beaches but not a big deal to get your own drinks as there are several bars close. The ocean is very calm and the snorkeling was good, easy for the kids also since you can see fish almost immediately.

Room Tip: We had a room on 1st floor of West building, front door opened to water park back glass slider to ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARRodenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a great time the Oasis sunset hotel. Our stay was for 6 nights and 7 days. This was our best vacation. We bought all inclusive ticket. We just had to buy excursions the rest is included. Beach party was great, Room is nice and clean nothing fancy. Bathroom needs some update. Food was the best, Service wonderful. Buffet had great food selections . Very private beach. Paul made our stay great always there for us,anything we need. He is a wonderful person wiith great personality. Always laughing and talking. Andrew and Albert very nice, also made our stay fun. Drinks all inclusive, Nadia also helped us, She is a wonderful person. We will return for sure. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner side south side quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbie909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff was wonderful. Food was great. We enjoyed all the restaurants. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay special. Didn't want to leave. Can't wait to come back. The very private beach was almost exclusively ours. Never more than one other family. Most of the time just the two of us. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
9.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,295 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
13.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Cove Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Address: 1 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Freeport, Montego Bay 33565, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Cove Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an all Sun Club resort, Sunscape Cove Montego Bay offers an enhanced Unlimited-Fun(R) Caribbean escape, where everything is included. These charming beachfront accommodations, featuring 122 newly renovated rooms with chic décor and a Caribbean flair, are surrounded by Montego Bay Marine Park, Jamaica's fully underwater national park, on a private peninsula along a white sand beach. As well as enjoying full access to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay next door, where you will find dining, bars, lounges, the expansive Pirate's Paradise Waterpark and more, you will also receive special check-in and checkout with concierge service, complimentary room service (7 a.m. - 11 p.m.) and an upgraded mini-bar refreshed daily. Kids will enjoy cartoons, milk, cookies and other special treats in their room. Two restaurants and two bars, as well as a Sun Club Lounge with complimentary Wi-Fi are available exclusively for Sun Club guests of Sunscape Cove and Sunscape Splash. Eight dining options, seven bars and lounges, the Explorer's Club for Kids and Core Zone Teens Club, daily land and water activities, live music and local entertainment provide Unlimited-Fun(R) for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Cove Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing