We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely hotel but some negative issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely hotel but some negative issues”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here in May 2011, we were given a lovely ground floor room at the far end of the resort, this was ok, as enjoyed the walk back to the room at night. Room very nice compared to RDCC in Runaway Bay, only one restaurant at night which was disappointing.
Swimming pool area was very good and the snack bar area was always full, ate here most lunch times.
The beach was quite shingly, but did not spoil my swim as I wore beach shoes.
One gripe is that in the morning only the beach bar was open and this was always busy, so difficulty in getting served, the entertainment team here were not on a par with RDCC Runaway Bay even thou the shows were the same.
One extremely positive remark was the location, I walked Montego strip and felt safe, the tourist police approached us and asked where we wanted to go etc, yes we were asked did we want ganga etc but wherever you holiday locals try to sell their wares.
I would visit here again, but would hope that the entertainment and food were on a par with RDCC Runaway Bay, if I could move staff, food quality and a bar that opens as well from Runaway bay to Montego bay, I would return tomorrow.
Overall fantastic location, lovely hotel and only approx 5 mins from airport

Room Tip: Request room on 1st fllor or a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenH-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    1,258
    428
    194
    134
See reviews for
463
1,328
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Okay so I know most people complain about everything but I swear I'm not one of those people! I was really expecting a more than HALF decent resort...we arrived around midnight and there were NO lights what so ever walking to the beach grill outside and frankly with the resort being dead at that time, it was creepy. Everything at the beach grill was dirty, sticky and absolutely filthy, It was pitch black all the time in our hallway when we were coming back to our rooms after midnight we even mentioned it to the workers and he didn't seem to care. Our hairdryer broke and they said twice they would call the maintenance worker who NEVER showed up! You also have to PAY for your safe...which I've personally never heard of. The walls are paper thin so don't expect to get any sleep on your vacation because I was constantly up with my neighbors. The buffet was weak but the a la carte restaurant was delicious. Entertainment was so random and not entertaining at all...The workers were alright and I didn't have any issues with them, but the hotel/resort itself could definitely use some work.! Enter at your own risk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I just came back, July 11-18 2011, from Royal Decameron and I would have to say I had my concerns after reading some of the reviews. We kept in mind that it was rated a 3 1/2 star resort so we didn't go in with high expectations.
We arrived early in the morning and knew we would have to wait for our room so we spent time walking around the resort getting familiar with everything. When we got our room we noticed a problem with the air conditioning and they sent someone right away. That's when we met Jerry and he helped make this a fun vacation. While he was fixing the air conditioner he let me pick his brain about Jamaica and giving us advice. I have very fair skin so he told me to be out between 8 am to 11 am and that when we shop on h,ip strip to avoid the craft market but every where else we would be okay. I took his advice I didn't get burned and other than taxi drivers wanting to take us places (they leave you alone when you just tell them no) the hip strip was fine. Jerry was great he always stopped by the pool just to say hi and to see how we were, he turned 25 on the Wednesday when we were there so if you are going there soon ask him how it feels to be a quarter of a century, he'll know it was me. If you have any issues with your room ask for Jerry not only will he let you pick his brain but he'll have you laughing.
The hotel is old and yes it could use an upgrade but the rooms are always clean the cleaning staff are wonderful. Our room was over the pool on the second floor and though it was noisy between 9 to 5 we found it completely quiet after dinner.
Which brings me to the food. The buffet had a wide variety and even if you are a picky eater like me you could always find something to eat. Yes there were days when my choices we're limited because I'm picky but there was always fresh fruit and vegetables if nothing else appealled to me. The a la carte restraunt had a great menu of chicken, steak and fish and my suggestion there is that if you are unsure that you'll like the choices on the menu book the early dinner because that way if you are still hungery you can always go to the buffet.
My husband and I found everyone on the cleaning staff, grounds staff never walked by you without saying hello, though the ladies at the front desk could be nicer.
I wouldn't call this a party hotel unless you want it to be. I spent the week by the pool relaxing and recharging my batteries but the entertainment do have activities if you want to participate but no one goes around hasseling you to join in.
Overall this hotel is a great value for your money. The majority of the staff make you welcome and happy to chat with you.
My personal feeling on the hotels rating is that the small buffet and only one a la carte, the evening shows (they are mostly just reggae music and dancing every night) as well as the age of the hotel are what keep it from being rated higher.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyspd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My friend an I stayed at RDMB for 10 days in July, and once again they delivered! We have stayed at other resorts (Breezes, RIU, Secrets), but honestly you can't do much better than RDMB. The intimacy of the hotel affords you the opportunity to make friends with just about everyone there. The location is great, also. You can be at Margaritaville, Blue Beat jazz bar, Pork Pit, and shops on the Hip Strip withn a 10-15 minute walk.

The people who work there are the ones who make your stay there so memrorable...starting from the top...Mr. Bent (the GM) is friendly and approachable, and stopped and talked to us many times. Lee Sinclair took care of some pre-arrival requests we had and went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated, then made sure throughout our stay that everything was ok!

Noble (dining room manager) took time out of his busy schedule to ask us if the food was up to par, and was never to busy to say hello. Kimmarly and Kirk (twin chefs in the dining room) made omelettes and eggs to order and always had a smile on their face.

The bartenders there are fantastic! They helped make our stay so much fun...especially Hoshane, Christopher, and Anthony. They made our time at the bars an experience!

For the money, you can't beat RDMB's location and service. We have already booked again for November, and July 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building (all are oceanfront).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CassieBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Been back a while now but will never forget our holiday.
This was our second visit to RDH and we will be going again, the hotel had not changed some change in staff ,but those that were there on the whole remembered us, well most of them, they are so friendley and i must say hello to Janet ,in the dining room, the nurse who took great care of my husbands gippy tummy, and our room maid , the staff work so very hard in making your holiday great.
The food is basic but filling a good choice ,how many choices do you have at home , and it is well cooked.
My only gripe about Jamaica is tipping.
Would I return to the R D H yes we are thinking of booking again next year .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary4302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and two of our friends stayed at the Royal Decameron in February 2011. I have read some of the reviews, and can only shake my head at the ones who have found nothing but negative comments to report. We have vacationed in several countries, provinces, states, and cities, staying in all inclusive resorts, going on skiing vacations, taking cruises, and I can honestly say, without a doubt, our most memorable and enjoyable vacation was the one we had at the Royal Decameron. The staff is unbeatable, the place is clean, the food is very good, and the proximity to the sea is wonderful. We were very impressed and we did not waste any time in booking our next vacation to this resort for 2012.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mommy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our stay started out wonderfully. The second last day, my husband fell leaving the pool area and seriously injured his right knee. He required medical treatment at the local hospital, a cast and special seating on the plane coming home. The steps did not have a center railing which would have prevented the fall.
He was well treated by the nurse, BUT........ the management and front desk people at the resort showed NO compassion, NO remorse and tried to avoid him at ALL costs. They were rude and unprofessional. They didn't even have the decency to pay for the Taxi ride to and from the hospital.
Also, earlier that morning, we were taking out a paddle boat and when he leaned back, the seat broke! Luckily we were close to shore and were able to return safely.
NOTE - both of these incidents were NOT the result of alcohol!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leonKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing