We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decameron”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hagaman, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decameron”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This resort was much more reasonably priced than others we looked at. The beaches are small but nice. Most of the staff are very friendly. The pools and hot tub were very clean and there was music and activities during the day. The food was okay for the most part. Really enjoyed the french toast and omelet station for breakfast. We ate a couple of nights in the restaurant because of what was being served in the main dining room for dinner. Take heed, be on time for your restaurant reservation. They also have a grill for snacks. This is a nice place for the price.

Room Tip: We had room 225 and from the balcony we could see the garden, pool, and a little of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    1,258
    428
    194
    134
See reviews for
463
1,328
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BURLINGTON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We travelled as a couple the week of Oct 27th thru Nov 3rd. First and foremost I can not stress enough how wonderful so many of the staff members are at this resort. I left a little teary eyed saying good bye to them.

If you are looking for a 5* resort based on amenities this may not be the place for you. The rooms are very simple but clean and the beds are comfy - great showers with hot water.

The beach is minimal so if beach is what you want this may not be the place for you but the pools are nice, clean with ampile padded lounge chairs to lay on. Food was great, many options at each meal, a mix of jamaican and N American foods, as well as a BBQ bar on the beach with pizza, burgers and fries. Very fresh fruits and salad at every meal.

The resort is litterally 5 mins from the airport and watching the planes come in over the water was fascinating - and NO there isn't noise, the water absorbs the sound.

At any given time there were people washing, sweeping, mopping, painting something, they clearly take great pride in making this resort nice for the guest.

The evening entertainment was good, we didnt make it to the disco so I can't comment on that.

We are counting down the days until we can return to this resort.

A special thank you to Denton, for being beyond helpful to us. Thank you to Eliesha, Rayon and Rupert out wonderful bar staff, we had a lot of laughs - we miss you all and your kindness already!

Room Tip: Rooms 111-115 would be the best, its a walk out to the pool/pool bar and a wonderful view of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KRISTA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

***Would have rated it a 2, but the price elevated it to a 3*** Stayed here as a couple in October of 2013. We booked this vacation last minute (about a month before) and the Decameron was much cheaper than comparable resorts in Montego Bay. We paid a little extra for an ocean view room, however, I'm not sure this was necessary because they placed us in what I assume is the old building where all the rooms were ocean view. When we arrived (well pasted check-in time) they said our room wouldn't be ready for another 45-60 minutes. The room was OK, nothing special. The water pressure in the shower is good, but the temperature is SUPER inconsistent (switching from freezing to boiling no matter what you put it on). The beds are on wheels so they move slightly, which was annoying. The safes are an extra charge ($2/day I believe) and are just a lock and key they give you to "plug into" the safe in the room. Wi-fi is also an extra charge and only available in the lobby area. The resort itself is also just OK.... The beach is not very good. The selection of included water sports was decent. There are lots of places to just lay around and relax (hammocks, big padded blocks overlooking the water, large anchored "rafts" in the water, etc.). The food was average. The bartenders take forever at times even when they are not that busy. The liquor used at the bars is as "bottom shelf" as it comes and the only beer available is Red Stripe. The front desk staff was pretty helpful with questions, directions, and suggestions. The people that set up excursions were very helpful and in their offices from 8am to 5pm every day. The resort is in a very convenient location (about 5-10 min taxi ride from the airport). Overall, I would not stay here again unless I found an even better deal than before. However, with that being said, it was good for the money and the fact that we booked last minute. You can do worse, but also much, much better. I would also suggest staying in Negril instead of Montego Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThePeoplesChamp1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

i booked to go with my partner for 2 weeks in october ,was getting abit concerned after reading some of the reviews! but was pleasenty surprised the hotel is clean and tidy swimming pool cleaned every day and ent team were very good.as for the food there as something for everyone,breakfast there was cereas,omlettes pancakes, sauages,bacon and fruit plenty of tea,coffee and water.lunch and diner there was a variety of stews,soups,roast,pasta and salads and lovey desserts.staff were very friendly and helpful beach was lovely and also cleaned daily.evening entertainment was varied and gd.we would go back it was an enjoyable 2 weeks but will say its more for couples and single people not much for kids but they do have a kids club.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catwomen-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Check in done in 5 minutes, thanks to Vaughn at front desk, It's always nice to hear welcome home by the amazing staff. My room was ready and it was time for me to enjoy all the facilities on the site.
Food is good, drinks are perfect the waited staff and bartenders will do everything to put you in a Jamaican mood.The A La Carte restaurant is perfect for me, small portions and good food, ate there almost every night.
My room was still perfect, spotless and welcoming,Fresh sheet every day and no trouble with the towels, thanks to my wonderfull maid. I prefer Sunset Building it is very quiet.
The sea is still beautifull and i also enjoy the pool in the morning.
For me, it is another perfect trip to Jamaica, the staff is the main reason that i am coming back! I am already planning my next visit! For people who complains about everything, remember it is a 3.5 star family hotel, and all returners like it this way because it is a great value. For those who are travelling solo it is a very secure place to relax and read some good books.

Room Tip: Sunset Building all the way....There is a wine card at front desk at very reasonable price.If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The first thing that struck us about the Decameron were the amazing views . We have been to Jamaica several times and these are the best views of the sea we have had. We just by chance got a fourth floor ocean view room and would agree with the other reviewers by suggesting a second floor or above room. The rooms are very colorful and bright and very spacious with with a balcony overlooking the sea .Gorgeous.The food at the buffet is very good and the staff is attentive and helpful. Sorry we can not review the ala carte restaurant but we didn't get the chance to try it. The only real complaint would be the way beach towels are distributed. they must be signed out when getting towels and every time you need a fresh towel you have to walk to the water sports area which can be on the other side of the resort. Also when house keeping cleans the room they take the towels and do not leave any clean towels (they are replaced in the late afternoon) we had to call several times because we didn't have fresh towels to shower. This resort is also very convenient to the airport and makes transfer easy.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the second floor or above for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bboeckel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Jamaica to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary and booked to stay our first few days at the Royal Decameron, Montego Bay. We booked a garden view room but were also led to believe that ALL rooms had an Ocean view room as standard, so we expected a room with double-aspect views. Imagine our shock and dismay to find upon opening our curtains first thing in the morning to find a huge tree blocking out whatever there was of any natural light and not only that we seemed to be on facing the back of the building on top of a generator room. If you peered through the branches you could make out part of some patch of green with trees to the right but definitely NO ocean view in sight.We had arrived the night before at about 8.30pm so had no idea. The room itself was nothing great. Very old looking furnishings apart from the flatscreen TV. It was clean however but very basic. That morning we spoke to two managers who did nothing about the situation, except to state we could be upgraded if we paid an extra $20 per night per person. This we felt was completely unacceptable, as all their literature clearly states that ALL rooms have an ocean view. Bear in mind that it was now my birthday. You would think that as a gesture of good will, they would gave changed our room to one which would have met our expectations, but no, they offered one room which if anything was worse, stuck in a corner, far from everything, still no Ocean view. In the end, their only concession was to have us transfer to their other hotel in Runaway Bay for the remainder of our stay at a cost to us of $120 to transport us there (which is a rip-off by the way). By this time my husband and I just wanted to leave, so we agreed to the transfer but organised our own transport for $50. What a difference at the Runaway Bay resort!! We were greeted with a welcome drink and assisted with our luggage straightaway, none of which happened at the Montego Bay resort. In fact at Montego Bay, one of the security girls assisted us with bags after noting the luggage guy was not doing his job.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#17 of 63 in Montego Bay
165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing