We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st time and wont be my last here :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st time and wont be my last here :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at Royal Decameron on March 9-16th, 2014.
check in: When we arrived check out was speedy and very helpful. We quickly got settled into our rooms - which are spacious, clean and painted pretty colors :) i stayed in room 102 where i had a small balcony area with 2 chairs and a table along with racks to dry your towels. from this room you have about 20 steps to the beach or the dinning area/ main lobby. The rooms are slightly out dated but to me gave it charm.

Daily Activities: During the day you have your choice to set by the beach - or do water sports or hang by the pool where they have drinking games being played - which are really fun! like "zuma zuma "a hand game played using mixed liquors that you take shots for when you loose. TONS OF FUN!!! There is also a trampoline out in the water used to jump on or just lay out. There are also 2 floating things (not really sure what to call them) but its like a board with two lay out chairs attached and a small table for drinks that you can take your drinks out and lay on. You can also do water aerobics and other fun games. Ill post a picture so you can see the list of activities. We took the glass bottom boat tour. only 20.00 a person which i highly recommend! you can see and feed all the beautiful fish and if you choose you can scuba dive. boat ride last about an hour. there are other boat amenities but this one was adventurous/ fun and very inexpensive. They also have a shows nightly ... singers- or dancers- or games and more dancing with the fun crew along with a night club which is never packed located next to the stage area so its fun with not much ppl and you can really let loose. One night it was just my group and another group in the "disco" as they call it - we were all having fun dancing around. my dad went to the bar and asked for 5 shots of rum at that point the bar tender (his name is chris by the way) seen we were ready to let loose and pour rum on the bar and let it on fire while he made our shots ! it was pretty awesome!

Food: the food was absolutely wonderful! They have varieties everyday for breakfast lunch & dinner, even had some these some nights. For example Monday & Fridays I believe are Jamaican night and one night they had an Asian theme. Whatever you like i am sure they have. They also have a more sit down restaurant where you are served (must make reservations) the food was Jamaican infused and was to die for! try the rasta pasta & of course jerk everything!

Drinks: The drinks were great! a bit strong but they have a list of different drinks they can make for you or you can order the typical rum & coke or beer. if the drinks were too strong for you like the first night they were for us - just ask the bartenders to whip you up something less strong or whatever your desire maybe less fruity etc. and they will get it done for you.

Fun Crew: This group of people are there for entertainment. They were unbelievable! During the day they will be walking around checking on you - assiting with daily activies or just hanging around talking with you. At night they participated in shows where they danced and got the crowd involved. They were all awesome!. Esp Kim- Kim! She became like a great friend to me while i was there. I was the only single person on my trip & she hung out with me while the others were napping or off doing couple things. She has the sweetest heart and a great personality. She is also a great dancer & will make sure you are ok the entire time. Britney is also part of the crew- she is also a great dancer and a sweet girl! ready to make sure you are always having a good time. Then you have TeeTee she is full of non stop energy! Always running around making you laugh! her and my dad had a special bond when it came to the sports dept. lol. You also have Sprinkles he is like if you will the main hype man for the group! he is hilarious and an absolute ball of fun! the rest of the crew was great as well AJ from JA, Dr. Dre & Papi.

Bartenders: The most important part! The Women bartenders are good but not as friendly as male bartenders!During the day a great drink to have is a dirty banana its is sooo good! we had about 10 each one day! Mark is by far the best bartender there! He is sweet and attentive. Put it this way everyone loves Mark. Both Chris's are great (as i told you previous Chris lit the entire bar on fire) IRIE!!!!! Then you have Pearly works during the day most of the time at the pool! There is also Lanford & Rupert! They were ALL great!

Management: I only spoke with one manager his name was James. He is very sweet and kind and will get you whatever you need.

Overall this was a great trip!!! I cant wait to get back! I will def. be staying here!

Room Tip: Room 102 if you want to have fun !!! not the quietest but i wasn't there to sleep much! during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larissa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    1,240
    421
    186
    131
See reviews for
452
1,308
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband, some friends, and I stayed at the Royal Decameron from Mar. 9, 2014 to Mar. 16, 2014 I must say I was a little worried based on some of the reviews and being that I am a hotel snob. I was truly impressed. The rooms were spacious and clean just out dated but for the most part it the property was beautiful. The Royal Decameron was very intimate and you really got to interact with the staff. The staff was AMAZING, they all greated you daily with a smile. The entertainment was awesome Sprinkles knew how to keep the crowd entertained especially with the crazy game Zuma Zuma and Signs. It was so much fun. Brittany and TeTe kept you laughing. Kim made sure she took care of our group. She made sure that there was nothing that we needed even when all went to Margeritaville. She is such a sweetheart. Mark the bartendar made the best drinks ever. He is such a kind young man and no matter how many drinks you ask him for he would say "No Problem" with a smile. Watch out for the Rum Punch - they will really sneak up on you. Now for the most important part is the food, it was delicious!!!! There was such a varity you were never bored. I must say my
oveall experience was great and if I return to Jamaice I will stay at the Royal Decameron again

Room Tip: If you do not like alot noise pick the rooms in higher numbers because we stayed in the low 200 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valsmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaceburg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our 4th time to RDMB and once again we were extremely happy. Feb 27, 2014 to Mar. 6, 2014. They greeted us with open arms and remembered us. Check in went smoothly and were given a room on the 3rd floor. The food and drinks were wonderful as always. We met the new manager that had started that week and was eager to listen to anything we had to say. Just love the place and cant wait till we return next year if not sooner. We took a taxi to airport with Courtney across the street and was wonderful, he charged us $15 but gave him $20. Would recommend him for any tours as well. Any questions feel free to email me anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cattail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hotel located 5 minutes from the airport.
Check in was fine. This is a small resort with 144 rooms.
The grounds on the resort are very well kept.
Rooms are large and clean. They have a balcony with great view of the ocean. We found the bed comfortable. Air conditioned worked well. The shower is in need to being changed. The water pressure was not very strong (it was not regular), the water was sometimes warm, sometimes cold (when you had shampoo on your hair)
The beach is small. No long walk on the the beach. One side is great for snorkeling with hundreds of fish. The other side is better for swimming with more sand. Chairs always available, some with little tents. The beach is also clean. The sand is raked every day.
The restaurants are ok. We always found something to eat.
The personnel was hit or miss. Some were friendly, some were doing their job.
Drinks are strong and they have a menu with all kinds of suggestions. Since they do not measure, they do not always taste the same, but that did not bother me.
Animation was ok. We went to a few shows and liked the 2 shows with the dancers. They were good.
It was nice to walk to the main strip where there are little shops.

The sun was great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Not a bad location but venture outside and its a scruffy place. Margaretville is a scuffy bar and does not come to close other Margaritavuille's I have been too.

Guys around the Hotel bars are asking if you want anything else....ask them what they mean and they will openly sell you drugs. The bar staff are ok until you near the end of your stay then they are ignorant. If you do not tip they will ignore you. One bar man actually told a person who offered him a tip that it was not enough.

The room was OK overlooking the sea but the smell of Weed is all over the place. If your not into 'Illegal' drugs don't go. Much better places to visit than Jamaica. I wont go again for sure. The guys treat girls like lumps of meat and talk about everything they do to them to other guests and laugh and joke about it. Which was disgusting. Any girl who goes alone is game for them. If she is not bothered about being talked about around the pool and other guys knowing exactly what happened behind closed doors and been the laughing stock of the other guys customers or staff...GO

Do not go if your expecting a luxurious holiday...Jamaica is not like this. If you do want to go spend the extra money and go to a Big Hotel...Stay away from Decameron

Room Tip: Pick a room top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony-OHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

When we arrived to start our vacation on Sunday, March 3rd to 10th, it was too early for check in but the gentleman at the front reception asked if I was interested in a specific room and I said no as long as I had ocean view. We were given room #3 and it was excellent. It was a good location to the restaurant, bar and beaches and entertainment at night. It was quieter since the pool and music were at the opposite end of the resort. There was never a problem finding a sun lounger. My husband loved the resort since he could spend the day snorkeling and I could enjoy the warmth of the sun. The main strip was nice to go for walk in the afternoons. The locals can be pushy but we are used to it and it doesn't bother us. We had only one problem with the room and the sink tap started leaking and they were there within the hour to fix the problem.
We met another couple from Kitchener and ended up enjoying each others company for most of the week. We took a day venture with Bill, one of the locals with a taxi company for $20 USA ea for the day. We went to Negril 7 mile beach, Rick's Café and he showed us Fort Charlotte. It was money well spent. We also took the glass bottom boat venture snorkeling for $20 ea for an hour.
We really enjoy this Decameron Montego Bay resort and would not hesitate to return someday.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 17 are needing some updating but much quieter and easy access to beach and water sports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvt0travel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I just stayed 3/7 - 3/12 and found most reviews we'd read to be accurate - both good and bad. Could definitely use some updating, but overall a clean, comfortable resort. It's not the Ritz, so don't expect that and you'll walk away happy. Nice and small, so it's not too crowded, always plenty of space at beach or pool. Never had to wait too long for a drink - which by the way were GREAT and not watered down like some bigger resorts. Nice location with safe walking to shops, restaurants, and clubs - though LOTS of drug dealers milling around, they were very polite when we said NO. Wonderful to be so close to airport and not have that long drive to and from. Free shuttle every night to Margaritaville. Great nightly shows (Decameron Dancers were phenomenal!). Tasty, but limited, food choices. By day 3, we were ready to eat out somewhere else. We were supposed to have a king bed and as other reviews said, they told us it was unavailable and put us in a room (201) with 2 doubles. We found that we liked that room so well that we stayed in it instead of switching! We liked napping in one bed after being at the pool all day (dirty) and then sleeping at night in the other bed (clean). It was somewhat noisy in 201 as it is above the restaurant and next to the entertainment stage, but the noise died down around 11 pm after the show, so it was acceptable. Plus, the view made up for it! Beautiful view and loved sleeping with the sliding door open to hear waves crashing on the beach. We'd definitely stay here again for a quick getaway, but might try a bigger resort with more amenities for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms (ie 101, 201, 301) are right above restaurant and next to entertainment stage s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#24 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,307 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing