We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel the week of April 10th. I was impressed. I think all the other reviews about the nice clean rooms, good food and excellent service are all very accurate. What I thought was great about this hotel was everything was just steps away. When you stay in the main building you are literally steps from the pool, the buffet and the water. If you are in the other building your are also steps away from the water. There was great snorkeling right in front of the hotel and the hotel is just a short five minute drive from the airport. If you are looking for a convenient location, amazing water, great service and rooms that literally are a stone throw from beautiful calm Caribbean water this hotel will not dissapoint! P.s. if our are a sunset person they were amazing here!

Room Tip: This is a small resort. Majority of the rooms are oceanfront and literally in less than a minute fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel, which was not overcrowded or too loud, is very close to the Montego Bay International Airport - just a 15 minute walk in fact, which makes the $20 taxi ride seem rather extortionate. Check-in was fast and efficient but there was a lack of detailed information about the general area and hotel amenities, which was a shame. Rooms are very nice but a word of warning for wheelchair users is that we only found one room that had a ramp and generally this hotel is not easily accessible as they rely a lot on manual wooden ramps to be put down. The rooms, which are of a bright decor, are well apportioned and clean. The beds, which have the requisite matress protectors, were comfortable. Aircon is noisy and unfortunately the walls and ceilings are quite thin which meant that the noise of our overweight neighbours above jumping up and down all night kept us awake - but I suppose we can't blame the hotel for rowdy guests. There is no mini-bar or fridges in rooms, which was a let-down, but the TV was good and had 100+ channels in different languages. Clock radios which could be power-cut-proof by including a battery, lost 4 hours a day which rendered them useless. It was a shame that no mineral water was provided in the room because some of our neighbours were afforded this privilege - when we asked at the front desk, they said some would be sent but it never arrived.

The bars are excellent with a good selection of drinks and cocktails, as well as popcorn. The staff who man the bars are polite and cheery and although the American guests insist on throwing $1 bills for every order, the staff do not expect this, which is nice as us Brits are not compulsive tippers. The restaurant is casually managed and the food is hot and good quality, but falls down in terms of the choice of food available. The worst thing this hotel does is rationing of Bacon at breakfast which is just outragious and means that if you want a rasher or two on your plate you have to queue up for ages behind guests waiting for complex eggs and omelettes to get it!

The pools and in particular the sea are very nice indeed and there are more than enough loungers and beds/hammocks for everyone.

Check-out was efficient too and the best thing about this ALL-INCLUSIVE resort has to be it's prices which are very reasonable.

The "Hip Strip" is just outside, which is another benefit. Down-town Montego Bay is a short stroll and it was nice not to have been hassled too much on our many walks. This hotel, without a doubt, has the perfect location for a beautiful Jamaican Sunset.

Room Tip: Ground Floor by the beach - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartUK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I had decided to go to Jamaica(Montego Bay) this year, and had no clue of where we should stay. We knew we wanted an all-inclusive resort and started to check out all the resorts on the many different travel sites. Redtag.ca is where we got the best deals as far as price.
We decided on the Royal Decameron after reading the many reviews on Travel Adviser. There were some bad ones as there always are, saying the staff was very rude, the rooms were dirty and the food was bad. Do not pay attention to this and experience it for yourself.
We went there April 13-20, 2014 and found out the complete opposite. Everyone was super friendly, food was good and they are always cleaning up. Great entertainment each night, Disco club everynight after entertainment and when that is closed go to the snack area for some great food(Hotdogs, Hamburger's, fries,wings etc).
There are 144 rooms at this resort and 133 are ocean view and 11 garden view. They are a good size room, with a great size patio/balcony.
The bartender's at the bar near the entertainment were the greatest. They are Chris, Chris, Christopher and Ryan and they all have there own special drink and they were all good drinks. Just ask them for thier special.
We met many good friends here and hope to see each and everyone of them again.
Maybe we will have a reunion at the Royal Decameron, hope to see you all there.

Room Tip: rooms are all good, but 4th floor has little patios on the way to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My sister and I had a great time in Jamaica. The hotel is older & the elevator is small, but the rooms are spacious and the staff is amazing. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating. I felt completely safe while I was there whether I was on the resort property or not. Police officers/security guards were on almost every corner of the hip strip, and the resort security guard seemed to know me personally after a few trips in & out, so I felt comfortable leaving alone and walking up & down the streets searching for souvenirs. All of my drinks kind of tasted the same regardless of what I ordered, but the food was pretty good with various options to choose from. There’s an abundance of beach chairs, so there’ll be no problem finding a place to sit. There are activities going on all day, so we were never bored. We took a couple of tours while we were there and met some amazing guys who became our personal tour guides and took us sightseeing to places where the locals go and hang out. This was probably my best trip ever! It’s not 5-stars by any stretch of the imagination, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaShonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at RDMB and had an amazing time. The food is average but drinks are really good. Great staff and great entertainment every night. Staff are very friendly and willing to assist in any way. The location is great. It is close to the hipstip, downtown Montego Bay, close to nightclubs. We met a lot of new people. One of my best trips to date!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

2 couples in our 50's stayed April 10-17. As noted by other reviews, RDMB is small, uncrowded, aging, clean, great location close to the airport and hip strip, with really beautiful oceanfront views from pretty much anywhere on the resort, from sunrise to sunset.
Staff are respectful but do not go out of their way to be helpful. We were generous with tips anyway.
Food at the buffet and at the a la carte is quite good; fresh, tasteful, and enough variety to keep us interested for the week. Good healthy choices along with interesting deserts. Ice cream was delicious and plentiful. Our rooms in Sunset building were spacious and clean. 2 double beds were not our preference, but, we made the best of it. Beds and pillows are quite hard. Bathrooms are in need of repair - grout, paint, etc. (Although the public washrooms on the property are much nicer than in the rooms). Plenty of hot water and good air conditioning in our room during the entire stay. Housekeeping arrived around 3pm each day; left plenty of towels. Bottled water was provided in room only on the first day, after that you are on your own. Paid extra for a key to the in-room safe.

Spent all our resort time on the beach, so I can't speak to the pool-side activities, although it looked like everyone at the pool bar were having a great time. Smoking allowed in all outside areas - but was not a problem. Could smell ganja once in awhile, but we were never approached within the resort by anyone trying to sell. The ocean is truly beautiful. Clear, very warm, calm and shallow. Snorkled from the beach every day. Each of the separate beaches has at least some reef/rock fish habitat - dozens of varieties. We found fish at each of the beaches, but preferred the reef in front of the Sunset bldg - water there was especially clear and the small reef there was interesting enough to spend an hour or so each day exploring. We saw very large urchins but they were only further out on the reefs. We did encounter a few Moon Jellyfish closer to shore. Nothing serious enough to deter us from swimming/snorkling.

Did a few day-trips off the resort. Just walk across the street from the resort, and talk to the cab drivers. Tell them where you want to go, for how long, and arrange a price. Our drivers were Jamaicans who were happy to share their life experiences and Jamaican history, if you ask them. Wonderful story tellers who really made our day trips special. They look after you and will stop wherever you need - supplies/jerk/photo's, etc. Pay them at the end of the day. We paid in USD. The money we saved by staying at the RDMB was well spent on the drivers. It was very worthwhile to have their advice, and having them at our disposal wherever we went. Also directly across the street is a mobile phone store. We bought a card for our unlocked phone for about 20USD.

Other visitors at the resort seemed to be mostly Canadian, all ages, 1 to 75. Met some great, fun, people; everyone very laid back and just there to relax and enjoy the beauty of Jamaica. Would not recommend staying longer than one week, but for a short trip to unwind, it was a great vacation.

The bottom line is that the RDMD met all our priority needs very well. On the downside, I agree with other comments that the most disappointing aspect was the 'alternate location' promotion, disguising the time-share hook. Fortunately we did not fall for that bait, but Be Wary!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlbertaFamily_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

love everything about this place the staff,food ,the beach walk out of my room to the beach.awesome resort, i recommend this place, plus it is close to everything ,its about one mile from the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
207 reviews
8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Cornwall Beach
Royal Decameron Cornwall Beach
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £136 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing