We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girl's trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great girl's trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice trip with my daughter, sister in law and my niece.
This resort is for those of you who's priorities are the following :
* less than 5 minutes, yes five, from the airport
* small resort
* the rooms are very clean! and most of them if not all are ocean front
* the food is ok, not gourmet, but you will always find something good to eat. Great fruits, salads. Omelettes are delicious.
* Staff is very very nice. Everything we requested before our arrival was ready for us ( 2 adjoining rooms, 2 double beds /room, 3rd floor)
* the view from our rooms was breathtaking. Although due to the time we were there, it rained a little, we were still lucky to witness the magnificent sunsets. A part of the shore is lit at night, we were lucky to be standing on our 3rd floor balcony while a ray swam by. It was amazing. On a second night two rays were swimming together.
* the beach is nice! very nice. But not what you seek if you wish to take long walks. If you like snorkelling, you will have a great time. Great variety of fish. Watch out for sea urchins.
All in all for a one week trip to relax, enjoy the beach and have a good time, I say ya mon!

Room Tip: Third floor ocean front. Is the best. But if you sleep early, do not stay on top of the buffet resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loulou_hanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    1,257
    427
    193
    134
See reviews for
458
1,326
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I made our second trip to Jamaica in June of 2012. We were working with a budget and this hotel fit our budget. Definitely the cheapest we have ever traveled to Jamaica. The resort was small which is one of our requirements. We love getting to know others and at this resort, you get this opportunity. Two other requirements are beach and pool bar. All three requirements were met if not exceeded. There is one buffet and we had no problem finding food to our liking--just ask our scale. There is also an al a carte restaurant that you make reservations to eat at. We did this a couple of times. We also enjoy water sports and each day we were able to kayak and snorkel on the property. The pool bar looks out over the ocean which was beautiful. We had a room with a balcony that looked out toward the ocean absolutely beautiful. Another huge plus is its location to the airport. You are truly only a few minutes from the airport. This allows your vacation to start faster and last longer. There were only three things that were a little annoying during our trip. 1. Sometimes we did not have hot water. 2. The balcony seating was very low and so it was hard to look out over the balcony rail to enjoy the view. 3. We love getting to meet and know new people, but at this resort there was a very wide variety of people to meet. This was fine for us, but we would probably not want to bring our young children or teens since we saw some things that made us a little uncomfortable. All-in-all, if it was just us we would return in a heartbeat. It definitely was a wonderful, relaxing and fun vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FourTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First of all we have been to the royal Decameron Montego Bay around 7 times in the last 15 years even when it was known as Jack Tar. We love the layout and beauty of the resort itself but everything else has gone downhill. First off our check in was horrible, they could care less if u are there are not very rude front desk manager. Any concerns we had while there were met with a blank stare and no real answer. I came down with food poisoning while there and was in bed very sick for 2 days, went to the nurse who gave me salts but then ended up having to go to a clinic and get antibiotics. Never once heard from management , no concern for my condition. (The nurse did recheck on me with a phone call) but I feel that management should have been more concerned about their guests welfare. No. Asking for anything was like you were a bother and they wouldn't even lety husband use the phone to call delta without a charge, it's all about money. No free wifi ,$20 per day US or $5 per hour all the other resorts have it free for guests. And the food, low quality at best, same thing several nights just mixed up different. No wonder I got so sick, still recovering from this nightmare vacation. So to sum it up, no customer service, poor quality food , uncaring management , all about the $$$ choose another property because we still love jamaica just will never return here. Good luck fellow travelers

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jules61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellwood, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you've ever been to Negril or Ocho Rios, staying in Montego Bay will make you fall even more in love with this island. It's all the beauty without the two hour drive, & less of the tourist traps. Now, on to the Royal DeCameron. The rooms are older and sparse, that being said, they are always clean-plus we don't usually spend time their anyways! The food is edible, we normally ate breakfast (made to order omelettes, yum!) And lunch on site, then went offsite for dinners (take a taxi to Pier One,Pork Pit, Margaritaville, Memorabilia. Wraps place across the street). We don't mind going out and paying since the rate is so much lower than any other all inclusive, and I don't travel to JA for the food, I go for the beach! Ahh, the beach. They have two beach areas that are small & private which I loved. Water and sand look like a postcard! The pool is small, but has a bar so it all works out ;) the entertainment blabbering into the mic non-stop is annoying, but luckily they break from noon-two.
All in all, if you're looking for an affordable, relaxing beach vacation this will do it. I've been twice and will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tawnya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Here is a Jamaican hotel chain that has lost the plot. Positives first ... Beautiful views from the pool and beach area. Warm water and a reasonable waterfront. Having said that unfortunately everything else is second rate. Water sports has second rate poorly maintained equipment. Rooms are second rate shabby affairs but adequate for a stopover, which is what we are doing but poor if you are expecting a great vacation hotel. (Rooms would be 1* or 2* in the USA. Food is second rate but edible - there are some interesting dishes but much of the food is starch based and rather disappointing. Of course the fruit is fabulous!

The main reason for the title "lost the plot" is due to staff training. There is a "couldn't care much" attitude among the staff. It was particularly noticeable as a day later I spent some time in a business setting at the Hilton Rose Hall resort where the staff were so attentive and polite the contrast was dramatic. The bar staff at this hotel were weary and lacking in any personality. They served poor quality drinks as if everything was too much trouble.

Considering the cost was reasonable but not cheap by US standards for this all inclusive resort. Personally I didn't feel it was good value for money even though some of the other resorts were more money.

I rarely give a negative review but this resort does need to clean its act up and live up to the standards it should be upholding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBUK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This place is nothing more than okay. The view is lovely and the beds are clean however the rooms could do with a lick of paint. Check in was the worst experience. The guy took 5 phone calls while checking us in. After a 16 hour journey I was fuming and our rooms were not ready. The food was okay but could have been better. The bar grill smelt awful and the food wasn't too good at all there. The staff hugely need trained in customer service, the lobby bar staff just seem interested in chatting to their mates and you feel like your intruding on their conversation to ask for a drink. The evening entertainment starts at 9.30pm which is far too late. Mixed views on the quality as one show was good and another appalling. The so called hip strip is a few souvenir shops staffed by pushy people trying to get you in and lots of empty derelict shops and business. To top it, it is on a busy road and smells of car fumes. Through the night there must have been motorbikes screeching down which woke me up. On a positive note there is a good choice of sunbeds and hammocks as there doesn't seem too many people here. There is potential for this place to be lovely with better trained staff and entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a seasoned traveller I have to say I was very impressed with the beauty of the location of the Royal Decameron, but unfortunately that is where it ends. We were fortunate to spent 4 days at the Royal DeCameron and 4 days at the Hilton Rose and it was like night and day. The staff at the Royal Decameron do not know the meaning of customer service. The management really need to spend time training their staff. The bar staff think it is their job to pour drinks, not serve their customers. The gym air conditioning constantly blew the breaker and it took three phone calls each time to get someone out to fix it while we were sweating like crazy waiting as it was so hot and humid. The lamp shades in our room were completely rusty. The "entertainment" at meals was absolutely atrocious. We actually had to move as far away as possible and none of the three could play or carry a tune. The housekeepers were very good, the room was always cleaned exceptionally well except our neighbors had bed bugs and they had to fumigate their room.

There was only one hobie cat and when we arrived the sail was ripped and we were told that "maybe tomorrow" it would be repaired. It took two days before they decided to put it back on unrepaired. The next day the rudder broke off and sank thus putting an end to any sailing.

Under all inclusive activities on the check in sheet they say they offer an introductory scuba class in the pool but when we tried to sign up for it they stated we had to pay to take the intro along with an actual dive.

Then there were the pools which in theory were great except for the extremely loud music and host who also could not carry a tune. They played loud non stop reggae music which made it impossible to lay out and read a book in peace and quiet.

There was a buffet and one other restaurant that was Jamaican cuisine. The menu never changed therefore if you went twice unless you were crazy about the food there wasn't much of a variety. The buffet was just alright but not a lot of variety either.

I think what struck us the most was the contrast between the staff at the Hilton Rose and the staff at the Royal Decameron. Both resorts are all inclusives and although the price point is higher at the Hilton Rose, the staff training was completely different. When we first arrived we thought it was because we were in a third world country and they just didn't know any better, until we went to the Hilton and the staff were all without a doubt exceptionally well trained, friendly, accommodating and fun whereas the staff at the Royal Decameron were there to do their job and that did not include being friendly to the customer.

Room Tip: IF you do book here make sure you ask for a ocean view. They have 144 ocean view rooms and only 13 g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 21SusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#12 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
140 reviews
29.9 mi away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
994 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing