We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depends what you are looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Depends what you are looking for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

PREFACE: Have been to numerous all-inclusive throughout Mexico, last trip was to Hawaii....

GETTING HERE: The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport... however because the World Cup game was in progress... we waited 30+ minutes to board a shuttle to the hotel. Also, this is referred to as 'Jack Tar'... instead of Royal Decameron... we never were told why.

ARRIVAL: the resort entry is pretty, although it seems to lack a busy hub of people. Of the 12 on the shuttle we were the only ones staying at this hotel. We walked in to the lobby a bar to the right, desk to the left, and straight ahead a look at palm trees and blue water. Checking in was easy, show them passport you are then handed a schedule, and a room KEY... which is an actual 'key' on a chain you wrap around your wrist. 'Denton' was asked to carry our bags to the room... he was the highlight of our visit.

THE ROOM: the 3 of us and our 2 carry on bags entered an elevator... which had a maximum capacity of 4. Very small... but suitable. As we walked down the opened corridor to our 2nd floor room, the door opens, and it is colorful and welcoming, offering a full view of the water, boardwalk, and beach area. Closer inspection of the room indicates very modest accommodations... the bed is on a standard frame, I thought it was ok, wife disagreed. couple of night stands, table with 2 chairs, ceiling fan, A/C (which was in Celsius, which we did not have conversion for) and flat screen tv with cable & movie channels. Bathroom was very dated, and in need of some repairs, but again suitable. As far as NOISE... our room was 4 rooms down from the evening entertainment, which means you have loud music till at least 11, which is not a problem, until you have to rise at 4AM next morning.

THE FOOD: 3 restaurants. The beach grill, had very strange hours... open from noon-5, then again at 11PM. Table/chairs near it, they had someone wait on you, even though it was set up like a buffet line. Some things you can help yourself to, others you cannot... and they do not communicate this to you. Buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner. We had several very good new foods we tried. Some things were tasty, but overall I found the food to be rather bland. Plenty of fresh options, and they did a fantastic job of reusing yesterday's leftovers in today's offerings. The sit-down dinner required reservations, and had a limited menu selection of about 8 items to choose from. Someone had warned us against the beef and pork, so we chose the shrimp and pasta. It was a 4 course meal with full table service including wine. Again the food was good, but nothing spectacular.

THE DRINKS: They have 4 bars open various hours. Most had similar offerings, some had a menu of tropical drinks, others did not. They use local brand liquors, and most drinks did not appear to be that strong... which just leads you to drink more often. Even though there are bars spread out, they have ZERO 'table' service as we have experienced in other places. if you want a drink, you go to the bar and get it yourself.

TIPPING: Every other all inclusive we have been to, gratuities have been included, as was the case here. However we always take extra 1 & 5 dollar bills handing them out as needed. The people here definitely do NOT work for tips. The few times I would tip someone what I thought was fairly healthy... you go back and most times, they are no longer at that station. The servers in the restaurants had no real interest in going above & beyond, engaging the customers and making them 'happy'. I could've easily tipped twice what I did, having found people who were interested in making more money.

THE STAFF: most were 'friendly', but I felt did not go out of their way to make you HAPPY. they were just there doing the minimum, and (to me) it showed. Passing by staff in your walkings, some would say hello, others would not, very few would engage you in conversation.

THE ENTERTAINMENT: there is a list of daily activities... which we found to be non-existent. We were by the pool and activity area one day, and we heard the coordinator talking about the days activities... beer chugging, beach volleyball, a few other things... then it was time for the pool aerobics, which lasted about 30 minutes... and then we never heard from the coordinator again! The night entertainment was good, but could have been much better had they advertised what was happening. the only thing you could get was - the Decameron dancers. One evening, less than 30 minutes before it was to start, I asked the bar person at the bar in the middle of that activity - what is happening tonite? the response? I"m not sure. If the people working in the area of the event have no clue what is going on, how is the customer supposed to know? As a result, we came to it late, to find out they were playing Bingo (with prizes) which we would have liked to play, but arriving late meant - no card. They also had a discoteche, but we could not even locate it until our last day there. Not having scheduled activities is fine... but having them and not DOING them.. is to me a big let down.

THE WATER: There are several areas for swimming. 2 or 3 included a section of sand, which in some areas was completely under water at high tide. However during low tide, you had 10-15 feet of sand and adequate chairs and tables for your belongings. Another very long section was more like a pool setting... you either jump in, or climb down a ladder into the water. It was between 7 & 20 feet deep throughout, and crystal clear. They had an anchored platform, and a 'tramp' as well you could use. There were 2-3 lifeguards on duty 'most' of the day, but they were never needed. There was also a very long section above this area, with sand, chairs and umbrellas, as well as an area with cushioned 'beds'. The various times we visited each of these areas, there were perhaps 10-15 other people present.... not at all crowded and very quiet (no music playing).

THE POOLS: 2 of them, 1 with swim up bar, the other just above it more of a 'kids' area. Several VERY comfy lounge chairs, some in shade, some under umbrellas. DOWNER - the pool deck is in SLATE, which became VERY hot to walk on during the day. Even from your chair to the pool could easily burn your feet. Thursday afternoon 1PM, there were 11 people in the pool with bar, including my wife and I. Again, extremely quiet and peaceful.

THE GUESTS: Having been to other resorts, we met quite a few people interested in conversing with others. At this resort... it was the opposite. People did not want to talk with you at ALL! Pass someone on a path - they would not look at you, or if they did.. you might gather a brief smile. At the bar, an older guy was doing a tequila shot by himself... I asked - is it already time for shots? He replies - yeah... then turns to the bartender - one more shot please. We found very few guests that spoke English, I guess this is a spot for many Europeans.

THE EXTRAS: The rooms do have A/C, and cable TV with movie channels, however no PPV or anything. Several channels in other languages also. INTERNET: Available in the lobby, $5/hour or $20/day. What they may forget to tell you is it is not consecutive... that is LOGGED IN time. Once you are done, you disconnect from WIFI, and your time-clock stops. so your HOUR may be enough for 2-3 days if you use it sparingly. There is no WIFI in the rooms. This is good in a way, to help you to communicate with other people, but as stated previously, we couldn't find anyone interested in having a conversation, even when we tried to start them with several people.

SOUVENIRS: They have small gift shop on premises which we visited. NO high pressured sales here. Prices we thought were a bit high... until we ventured down the street to a gift shop. We found items MUCH higher priced than the store... and VERY high-pressure sales tactics.

BOTTOM LINE: We planned our trip to Jamaica as a way to 'relax' and unwind, after a week in florida with the kids & grandkids all in one house. We wanted to 'do nothing', in a tropical setting... to ourselves. With all the 'negative' comments you may read above... this one gave us everything we were looking for. For 4 days/3 nights, we paid less than $600 total (excluding air). While we certainly could've paid much moire for a 'nicer' place, it may have been MUCH more crowded, and a LOT less friendly.... If you are looking for a resort with lots of activity, GREAT food, being waited on hand/foot with drinks... and lots of people to interact with... this is probably NOT the place for that. However, if you are looking for a budget friendly, mostly nice place to relax and unwind with lots of privacy.... or you plan to do a lot of tours, and only need a place for sleeping and occasional meal/drink... this is probably a great place to do so!

Room Tip: the higher the last 2 numbers of the room, the further away from the music. x04 is 4 doors from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank radelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    1,239
    421
    186
    131
See reviews for
451
1,308
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great food esp the jerk -- great service never waited long for drinks -- pool was good temp -- beach was fine even if it was man made --- entertainment was good enjoyed the singers -- cocktails were awesome esp the banana mummas -- not great off the complex went into town got hassled alot but the KFC was worth the hassle,,,, been to Jamaica cancun Dominican republic Barbados cayo coco cuba Antigua and would I go back defo yes the people on the complex could have done no more from the bars to the restaurants and the entertainment was spot on

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmytime2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed the first week of June and couldn't have asked for a better trip. This was our first time in Jamaica and we couldn't have been happier for the price we paid.

Our room (321) was very clean and well maintained throughout our entire trip. Drinks were always easy to get and the food was good enough (don't expect fine dining every night) and gave a very broad selection.

NOTE: If you're expecting a Sandals or 5 Star resort - keep looking, but expect pay lots more. This resort is about a 3rd of the price and you do have to sacrifice some standards. However, for us it was perfect.

The view was wonderful, beach was amazing, and the 'Fun Crew' aka Recreation team were wonderful.

Our favorite part - the Glass Bottom Snorkeling Boat. This was wonderful and cheap. We got to see the whole reef and got a great tour of the island.

We will definitely stay at the Royal Decameron again.

Room Tip: My Tip: Talk to someone who looks like they've been there before. They'll tell you the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GumpTownAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The size of this resort is just right; I don't care for huge oversized hotels. The staff for the most part were very attentive and super friendly, food was good and the room size was great with a FABULOUS view!

Room Tip: fantastic view from the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ophelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

So this is a 3 star rated hotel. And I give it a solid 3 stars. My husband and I were with 2 other adult couples for one week in June/July 2014. Our hopes weren't extremely high with this place, but we wanted a quiet inexpensive get away. Our main requirements were that it was clean and all inclusive. We had a great time.

Room: The rooms are not fancy, no fridge or anything to carry on about. They were clean and large and all but 12 of them have ocean front views (not ocean side views).

Food: We enjoyed the food just fine, we were never hungry. They only have 1 buffet, one sit down for dinner and one beach grill only open 12-5pm and 11pm-1am. I know the larger hotels have way more restaurants. However, we had no desire to walk 2 miles to go eat. What RDMB had was plenty. The bars were fine as well, 3 of them in convenient locations. Liquor is not top shelf, but for mixed drinks it was fine. Beer was strictly Red Stripe on tap and we LOVED that!!

Entertainment: The entertainment staff was the nicest bunch at the resort. Those guys work from 9am to 2am daily and they always have a smile. The nightly shows consist of a 1 hour music performance and then a 1 hour audience inclusive skit or game type show...very funny!!
The disco area is open at 11pm, we went in once and basically decided that we were too old for that loud music and instead rested in hammocks watching the planes come in and listening to the ocean.

I read some horrible reviews about this place, but in our opinion it was great for what we wanted. Just keep in mind you are paying for 3 stars and you will get 3 stars. This resort is geared towards adults..lots of drinking and not much kids stuff.

Location Location Location: this resort is located right in the Hip Strip. The three ladies in my group walked the strip all day shopping and never felt nervous once...we were totally at ease on the strip.

If you are looking for a nice/clean/inexpensive all inclusive on the most beautiful water ever go here. Many people complained about palm trees blocking their ocean view (we were on the 2nd floor) but we actually enjoyed the trees, they added to the view. Also, lots of complaints about the airport being 1 mile away. We took more pictures of planes coming in at sunset than we did of anything else...you can literally look at the blue Caribbean and watch planes almost glide over the water all day!! Nothing can beat that!!

The only negatives I would say were the check in process (we had to wait forever on our room). However, we were given wrist bands and were able to start using all the resorts bars/buffet and pools/beaches immediately which made the wait okay. The other negative (which wasn't a big deal to us) was the shower and water pressure...it was tricky getting the hot water to work, but honestly I was in the shower once a day for 10 minutes and I managed to emerge clean, so it couldn't have been too bad!! And you have to buy wifi that's only good in the lobby. You can buy 1 hour for 5.00 or 24 hours for 20.00 - this was a good thing, because I was on vacation and needed a good break from my phone..I DIDN'T MISS IT AT ALL!!!

Overall we loved it. It was small enough so that you made friends and weren't exhausted if you forgot your sunblock and had to run back to the room. The bartenders were funny and helpful and nice and the entertainment staff was just awesome...they are great dancers too!! The views were out of this world and the island was just a great place with very very nice friendly folks everywhere!! We felt SAFE and that is always a concern when in another country!

Room Tip: If you are an early to bed type person, ask for a room in the sunset building or down by the pool. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crawfosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a Florida resident, I have to say I was not very impressed with the location of the Royal Decameron. Not much of a beach and man made. The staff at the Royal Decameron for the most part have been attentive and helpful.(maybe management read some of the reviews on here.) The manager has been here breakfast through dinner. The food is decent, although the food at the one restaurant is bland - stick with the buffet. A big sticking point with us is there is NO expresso. Also, unless you just want to sit on the beach all day there is nothing to do to relax except stay in your room. It is a small resort and there is NO air conditioning in any common areas to enjoy a drink or anything else. The beach area is too small to take a walk. there are the pools which in theory would great but too small for much swimming and deepest is only 4 ft. They played loud non stop reggae music which made it impossible to lay out and read a book in peace and quiet. The daily entertainment ( I use that word loosely) is appalling. It is annoying with 3 guys playing the same 2 chords on a banjo over and over and wailing occassionally. This is what you must listen to while you eat. Nighttime entertertainment is less annoying - just boring. The housekeepers were very good, the room was always cleaned exceptionally.

There was only one hobie cat and when we arrived the sail was ripped and we were told that "maybe tomorrow" it would be repaired. It took two days before they decided to put it back on unrepaired. The next day the rudder broke off and sank thus putting an end to any sailing.

Under all inclusive activities on the check in sheet they say they offer an introductory scuba class in the pool but when we tried to sign up for it they stated we had to pay to take the intro along with an actual dive.

If you venture out, be forewarned - everyone is trying to rip you off. I suggest doing everything in groups with the legit tour services. We ended up being ripped off for $150. to see the bird sanctuary and be driven around montego bay for a few hours. It was our rental car and our gas - the guy didn't even want to let us out of the car until we gave him more money, but it was all we had.

No internet, sparse rooms, but clean. Nicely kept resort for what it is - you get what you pay for. if you're used to room service - go somewhere else. Another side note - there is never a breeze on the balcony with the way the resort is facing, so it is too hot to enjoy. The noise from the annoying live music is very loud in the room also. Beds are fairly comfortable if you like very very firm.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Anywhere to get away from the annoying music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonW4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you want good service, be sure to tip! $1/$2 really makes a difference.... they don't pay them much for their work so you'll also be helping out while making your stay more pleasurable. If you're from the US, don't be offended by their very slow-paced service or style of conversation. I admit, we thought they were being very rude at first but finally got used it and came to understand it was simply a culture difference.

Food wasn't great but we always found something to was at the buffet. The a la carte restaurant was terrible- both service and food! The menu is also the same, night after night!

The entertainment staff was great! They made the stay really enjoyable but can sometime be a little too pushy when they don't have enough people participating in the activities.

The disco didn't seem popular at all. There was barely anyone there and it was not ventilated at all! If you're looking for a nice club venture out of the hotel and head out to the clubs on "hip strip".

If you can, try to book a day trip to Negril (the beach is amazing over there). It was well worth the money as you'l pass through some cities and get to stop by shopping centers and interact with locals. The scenery is spectacular! We also stopped by Rick's Cafe to see some cliff jumpers and for the sunset, absolutely breathtaking!

All in all, it wasn't the greatest all-inclusive hotel but it's also very affordable, so don't expect to be pampered and you'll be fine. Enjoy the beach, it's beautiful! Like they say, "there are no problems in Jamaica, only situations!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megdelawit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,296 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing