We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my first experience at an all-inclusive resort, and I will definitely be back to enjoy it again. The check-in/check-out process was smooth and quick and I felt so well taken care of during all of my stay. This hotel is right on the water and had beautiful views from every room. I think they only have a handful of rooms that don't face the water, so almost everyone gets a beach-view balcony. The food was great from each of the restuarants and, even though it was the off season, the service was always outstanding. I also enjoyed drinks from each of the different bars and had friendly bar service each time.
If you want to make sure to have a quieter room, ask to be on the end of the hotel opposite of the band area. The evening entertainment can be loud.
This resort is very close to the airport, less than 5 minutes away. You could probably walk, but a taxi was very cheap because of the short distance.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the end of the hotel opposite from the band area so that you don't have to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    1,239
    421
    186
    131
See reviews for
451
1,308
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time in Jamaica. Stayed at Montego Bay, Jamaica
ROYAL DECAMERON MONTEGO BEACH. Friendly staff especially Siddiqi (nightly entertainment Host), TT-(aka`loose kannon``) Bar tender Jamila. Best vacation so far. Met lots of new friends. Very clean relaxing resort. Right on the beach. Went with my husband and 2 young adult sons.

Room Tip: Ì always choose the top floor so no one is walking over my head when sleeping. Beach front is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank indira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

this hotel is old, there is no wifi in your room, the door shows outdoor space around it, there are no fancy room soaps etc. but it rocks!!! it is small, personable,and totally relaxing. we had a blast watching the cup games with south americans, the off season showed in 6 of us on the beach but the service never suffered one bit. the food is all home made, desserts to die for but after a week I was tired of the limited menu, more me than them. we had special times with Latisha, Christopher, Alex and really everyone who worked there was special in some way. A place to go if you want to just kick back and relax totally. Loved it

Room Tip: only 11 rooms are not ocean front, doubt they the non ocean front unless it is high season. we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Easy & quick check-in / check-out, very polite greeters, enjoyed plenty of smiles from most of personnel -especially Nissia (always happy) and Patricia at the restaurants, with a few exceptions -buffet cooks and lobby barman-.
Clean room, had some initial issues that were quickly solved. Food was good -better at the Souk- but seafood options were kind of limited than expected.
As per entertainment, we were expecting tons of reggae music but it was pretty most hip hop vibe at the discotheque. The live shows with Sadiki and his group of dancers were very nice. Entertainment in general could improve a bit, especially the public participation on and on every night after 7 nights of the same gets boring, the "humiliation" games not funny anymore.
Safety was awesome, inadvertently I left behind my camera bag -loaded with expensive equipment- all the afternoon on one of the chairs at the Passa Passa Restaurant, went out of the resort for a tour and recovered it from one of the bellboys when came back late that evening -Thanks Alex!!!-

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place has totally changed my desire to stay at a resort when making my annual trip to Jamaica. Other than the view, this place has nothing to offer. The food is like cafeteria food. I would have been better off spending my time and money on guest house. They actually served pigtails one night. I never EVER want to eat pigtails, especially while on vacation. This place is in dire need of a face lift. Totally outdated and looks dilapidated in some areas.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Najat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

PREFACE: Have been to numerous all-inclusive throughout Mexico, last trip was to Hawaii....

GETTING HERE: The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport... however because the World Cup game was in progress... we waited 30+ minutes to board a shuttle to the hotel. Also, this is referred to as 'Jack Tar'... instead of Royal Decameron... we never were told why.

ARRIVAL: the resort entry is pretty, although it seems to lack a busy hub of people. Of the 12 on the shuttle we were the only ones staying at this hotel. We walked in to the lobby a bar to the right, desk to the left, and straight ahead a look at palm trees and blue water. Checking in was easy, show them passport you are then handed a schedule, and a room KEY... which is an actual 'key' on a chain you wrap around your wrist. 'Denton' was asked to carry our bags to the room... he was the highlight of our visit.

THE ROOM: the 3 of us and our 2 carry on bags entered an elevator... which had a maximum capacity of 4. Very small... but suitable. As we walked down the opened corridor to our 2nd floor room, the door opens, and it is colorful and welcoming, offering a full view of the water, boardwalk, and beach area. Closer inspection of the room indicates very modest accommodations... the bed is on a standard frame, I thought it was ok, wife disagreed. couple of night stands, table with 2 chairs, ceiling fan, A/C (which was in Celsius, which we did not have conversion for) and flat screen tv with cable & movie channels. Bathroom was very dated, and in need of some repairs, but again suitable. As far as NOISE... our room was 4 rooms down from the evening entertainment, which means you have loud music till at least 11, which is not a problem, until you have to rise at 4AM next morning.

THE FOOD: 3 restaurants. The beach grill, had very strange hours... open from noon-5, then again at 11PM. Table/chairs near it, they had someone wait on you, even though it was set up like a buffet line. Some things you can help yourself to, others you cannot... and they do not communicate this to you. Buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner. We had several very good new foods we tried. Some things were tasty, but overall I found the food to be rather bland. Plenty of fresh options, and they did a fantastic job of reusing yesterday's leftovers in today's offerings. The sit-down dinner required reservations, and had a limited menu selection of about 8 items to choose from. Someone had warned us against the beef and pork, so we chose the shrimp and pasta. It was a 4 course meal with full table service including wine. Again the food was good, but nothing spectacular.

THE DRINKS: They have 4 bars open various hours. Most had similar offerings, some had a menu of tropical drinks, others did not. They use local brand liquors, and most drinks did not appear to be that strong... which just leads you to drink more often. Even though there are bars spread out, they have ZERO 'table' service as we have experienced in other places. if you want a drink, you go to the bar and get it yourself.

TIPPING: Every other all inclusive we have been to, gratuities have been included, as was the case here. However we always take extra 1 & 5 dollar bills handing them out as needed. The people here definitely do NOT work for tips. The few times I would tip someone what I thought was fairly healthy... you go back and most times, they are no longer at that station. The servers in the restaurants had no real interest in going above & beyond, engaging the customers and making them 'happy'. I could've easily tipped twice what I did, having found people who were interested in making more money.

THE STAFF: most were 'friendly', but I felt did not go out of their way to make you HAPPY. they were just there doing the minimum, and (to me) it showed. Passing by staff in your walkings, some would say hello, others would not, very few would engage you in conversation.

THE ENTERTAINMENT: there is a list of daily activities... which we found to be non-existent. We were by the pool and activity area one day, and we heard the coordinator talking about the days activities... beer chugging, beach volleyball, a few other things... then it was time for the pool aerobics, which lasted about 30 minutes... and then we never heard from the coordinator again! The night entertainment was good, but could have been much better had they advertised what was happening. the only thing you could get was - the Decameron dancers. One evening, less than 30 minutes before it was to start, I asked the bar person at the bar in the middle of that activity - what is happening tonite? the response? I"m not sure. If the people working in the area of the event have no clue what is going on, how is the customer supposed to know? As a result, we came to it late, to find out they were playing Bingo (with prizes) which we would have liked to play, but arriving late meant - no card. They also had a discoteche, but we could not even locate it until our last day there. Not having scheduled activities is fine... but having them and not DOING them.. is to me a big let down.

THE WATER: There are several areas for swimming. 2 or 3 included a section of sand, which in some areas was completely under water at high tide. However during low tide, you had 10-15 feet of sand and adequate chairs and tables for your belongings. Another very long section was more like a pool setting... you either jump in, or climb down a ladder into the water. It was between 7 & 20 feet deep throughout, and crystal clear. They had an anchored platform, and a 'tramp' as well you could use. There were 2-3 lifeguards on duty 'most' of the day, but they were never needed. There was also a very long section above this area, with sand, chairs and umbrellas, as well as an area with cushioned 'beds'. The various times we visited each of these areas, there were perhaps 10-15 other people present.... not at all crowded and very quiet (no music playing).

THE POOLS: 2 of them, 1 with swim up bar, the other just above it more of a 'kids' area. Several VERY comfy lounge chairs, some in shade, some under umbrellas. DOWNER - the pool deck is in SLATE, which became VERY hot to walk on during the day. Even from your chair to the pool could easily burn your feet. Thursday afternoon 1PM, there were 11 people in the pool with bar, including my wife and I. Again, extremely quiet and peaceful.

THE GUESTS: Having been to other resorts, we met quite a few people interested in conversing with others. At this resort... it was the opposite. People did not want to talk with you at ALL! Pass someone on a path - they would not look at you, or if they did.. you might gather a brief smile. At the bar, an older guy was doing a tequila shot by himself... I asked - is it already time for shots? He replies - yeah... then turns to the bartender - one more shot please. We found very few guests that spoke English, I guess this is a spot for many Europeans.

THE EXTRAS: The rooms do have A/C, and cable TV with movie channels, however no PPV or anything. Several channels in other languages also. INTERNET: Available in the lobby, $5/hour or $20/day. What they may forget to tell you is it is not consecutive... that is LOGGED IN time. Once you are done, you disconnect from WIFI, and your time-clock stops. so your HOUR may be enough for 2-3 days if you use it sparingly. There is no WIFI in the rooms. This is good in a way, to help you to communicate with other people, but as stated previously, we couldn't find anyone interested in having a conversation, even when we tried to start them with several people.

SOUVENIRS: They have small gift shop on premises which we visited. NO high pressured sales here. Prices we thought were a bit high... until we ventured down the street to a gift shop. We found items MUCH higher priced than the store... and VERY high-pressure sales tactics.

BOTTOM LINE: We planned our trip to Jamaica as a way to 'relax' and unwind, after a week in florida with the kids & grandkids all in one house. We wanted to 'do nothing', in a tropical setting... to ourselves. With all the 'negative' comments you may read above... this one gave us everything we were looking for. For 4 days/3 nights, we paid less than $600 total (excluding air). While we certainly could've paid much moire for a 'nicer' place, it may have been MUCH more crowded, and a LOT less friendly.... If you are looking for a resort with lots of activity, GREAT food, being waited on hand/foot with drinks... and lots of people to interact with... this is probably NOT the place for that. However, if you are looking for a budget friendly, mostly nice place to relax and unwind with lots of privacy.... or you plan to do a lot of tours, and only need a place for sleeping and occasional meal/drink... this is probably a great place to do so!

Room Tip: the higher the last 2 numbers of the room, the further away from the music. x04 is 4 doors from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank radelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great food esp the jerk -- great service never waited long for drinks -- pool was good temp -- beach was fine even if it was man made --- entertainment was good enjoyed the singers -- cocktails were awesome esp the banana mummas -- not great off the complex went into town got hassled alot but the KFC was worth the hassle,,,, been to Jamaica cancun Dominican republic Barbados cayo coco cuba Antigua and would I go back defo yes the people on the complex could have done no more from the bars to the restaurants and the entertainment was spot on

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmytime2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,300 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing