We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

I st ayed here in Dec 09 for 3 nights for my 30th birthday. The resort is lovely. Check in was prompt. Our room wasn't in the main block but a short walk along the resort near one of the piers. It was ground floor and had french doors which opened up to a great view of the sea in the morning. Room was pretty basic and no flat screen TV yet. I think the toiletries in the bathroom could be upgraded to branded products ie Bath and Body Works which I had in a hotel in Kingston and was lovely. The bed was Kingsize and comfy and bottled water was provided in the room. No fridge though.
The food was great and changed everyday (buffet) and included Jamaican traditional foods which I think is important. All the staff were friendly and the entertainment staff go out of their way to include you and chat to you. They do different entertainment through the day and in the evening ther was a singer on and then some entertainment after that. There is also a small disco for after that.
There are plenty of places to catch some rays and the swim up pool bar is nice and secluded in the corner of the resort.
Didnt venture off the resort apart from a quick dash into Montego Bay to find a pharmacy for an inhaler for my other half. We did travel through the country though from Kingston to Montego Bay by car and the scenery is outstanding. I would totally recommend seeing off the resort- maybe not montego bay town which i didnt like but the villages in the country and beautiful and you will see the real jamaica.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clairefally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    1,227
    418
    182
    130
See reviews for
448
1,296
107
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel for new years for a week and was so sad to go home!

The pictures on their website do this hotel no justice at all. It is far bigger than what it looks.

I have not one bad word to say about it, I enjoyed every moment of my stay. The staff are very friendly and quickly learn your name and are on first name basis after a day.

The food was excellent too. Every meal was enjoyable and I really enjoyed Souk the al a carte restaurant which if you enjoy the spicer carribean food, you should try eat there. You do have to book you place in advance but this can be done when you are at breakfast or lunch by just as your waiter to book you a table. Note this restaurant is not open if carribean food is the theme for dinner that night ( you can find this out on the activities board in the lobby)!

There is entertainment every night, usually a live band and dancers. Some nights they hold quizzes etc. We did spend new years eve at the hotel and half expected it to be pretty cheesy but it wasn't at all. The outside entertainment finished at about 1 and went on till 4ish at the nightclub on site.

You do not need to take towels as they are proved in you hotel room. You are also given towel cards for beach towels.

There are three stretches of private beach and floor cushions on decking right by the sea front along with beach chairs and hammocks!

This place is pure paradise and absolutely beautiful it's a must go and sits all ages!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nenes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We visited this hotel on our vacation and it was magnificent. The staff was super friendly and the food was fabulous. It was really family friendly and the rooms were big and well maintain. The entertainment crew is top notch and will recommend to all my friends. The food was great, they really know how to make you feel at home.. Good job!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VRTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed at the RDMB for Christmas and New Year with my husband, daughter and her fiance and would definitely recommend this resort for anyone looking for a laid back, relaxing vacation. The location is just about perfect, being close to the airport and right on the strip. Although the accommodations are basic they are very clean, as is the resort in general. The ocean views from the rooms are amazing. We found the staff to be very friendly and service always came with a big smile, whether or not you tipped. The entertainment crew were very enthusiastic and energetic and most of the evening shows were good. We really enjoyed the Decameron Dancers and the Children of the Drum troupe who performed on New Year's Eve. The food was variable in quality but did cater to vegetarians and there was reasonable variety. The New Year's buffet was excellent. The beaches are quite small, as are the pools, but you can also swim off the jetties and there are plenty of sun loungers to be found. We would definitely return to the RDMB.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roselm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

I thought the pictures on the internet did not do this hotel justice. I was so surprised how beautiful it really was once we got there. Ask to stay in room 12 its away from the big building and its like staying in your own cabin on a lake but instead you are at the beach! It was right on the beach, had a huge patio and a view to die for also the bed was huge and very comfy. Very quiet and relaxing. You could take in all the activities or just relax, friendly staff especially Sunshine and Happy. Food was very good for a 3 star. I really enjoyed the salad bar and the jerk chicken. My only complaint would be the front desk, they need more competent people and ones that are friendly other than that I loved the RDC! Can't wait to go back!

P.S. I heard the massages were great, a few people in my group had one and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sasha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed at the Decameron from Dec 18-26/09.

Checkin Service - We had a crowded shuttle, expecting a long wait, that was not the case at all, went smooth with no complaints.

Rooms - We stayed in the old part of the hotel Room#11, I liked this area because it was very quiet. Rooms was large, high ceilings. Furniture is outdated, but really it didn't matter to us! Bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard, sheets were fresh and clean everyday. Air conditioner was turned on when we first checked in, worked the entire time with no problems. The Bathroom was large. Shower area was a perfect size, closet was also located in there. The only complaint that I would have about the bathroom was the consistency of the water during my showers. The perfect time to have a shower is before 730am. The water turned cold after 5 mins, lasts between 45 sec to 2 mins~! If you can shower late at night or early morning, you probably would not encounter this problem. It became rather annoying! The TV sound was distorted, but hey I was not there to watch TV~ Power went out a couple of times. Safe was broken, but we didn't need it. The housekeeping staff were always courteous, carefully moved our stuff around their cleaning. We left money, misc valuables, $3000 camera equipment, etc laying around, nothing went missing, never did I question if anything did!

Grounds - There was always staff painting, sweeping, laying flooring, and misc upkeep the entire time we were there~! Hotel is older, but the simple upgrades made it extremely comfortable. I was never inconvenienced by anyone.

Food/Bar/Grill/a la carte/ - The Food is to die for!~ Salad Bar was great, lots of variety, fresh fruit, yummy salads. Different theme every night we were there, Jamaican Night was the best =). Huge variety at all meals, Omelets, Sandwich station, Grill at back were my favs! The A la Carte - book your reservations early in the day, 2 seating times (630/830). Good Service, quiet, nice variety of means (try the ribs), fish was over cooked, but I am picky when it comes to cooking fish~! Wine isn't the greatest, but again I am picky. Very intimate and worth going a couple of times! Beach Grill - is great, especially if you are hungry between meals! Open until 12, good service, food ok, but hey its the basics! Hamburgers, Hotdogs, Fries etc...TIP - Red Stripe on Tap, Pop machine. Good for a quick drink if your at the far left beach. Bar Service - I MISS YOU Keimeisha (aka Fluffy). TIP these ppl! They work for $50 a week! I can't say enough about the service, gets busy after dinner, try the lobby bar if you want quick service! Pool Bar - great especially after a long day in the sun and you want to cool off, Closes at 5 =(
All the serving staff were great - never bad service (only when buffet is busy, can wait for drinks, coffee etc). Chevroy was the best waiter!~ again TIP these ppl. 500 Jay is only about 6.50! Get lower denominations~! They will treat you like Gold and remember what you like to drink and will hand you another one before you even ask for it!

Entertainment - great shows, more for adults. Marva, Sunshine, Zulu, Chris, Orlando, Natasha, all great! If your plan is to relax on the middle beach area, don't be surprised to find one of these staff pulling you in for an activity in the pool, relay races etc. Its fun if you do it a couple of times. Glitters is fun, Orlando is the better DJ and takes requests!

Beach - Not bad, get your places early! Leave your towels draped over your spots! Good swimming, I enjoyed the left beach the best - its quiet and not a lot of ppl there! If you sit waist high in the water, fish swim around you. Floating docks are great too! Water temp - its like a bath! Warm, refreshing. You can't walk on the beach after dark, Jelly fish are a big problem at night!

Security - Impressed with this! Front gate is guarded, entire grounds are monitored 24hours a day, Guests have to log in and out. Always someone around.

Misc - lots to do on this resort! Gym is moderate, didn't try the tennis courts, sort of tucked away!

Location/Locals - We walked around for a bit on the first day and visited some stores, markets. Vendors are pushy, make a deal with them, every stand is the same, they will follow you until your ready to go in there store. If your not interested a simple no thanks is sufficient. Take a JUTA taxi - we rented a taxi for $180US for 4 ppl, went to Dunns River Falls, Bob Marley Museum. WORTH it - he brought a cooler, let us pretty much do what we wanted. It was an 8 hour trip....more than reasonable. If maryjane isn't your thing, you will notice A LOT of ppl selling, haggling you for it. Again just say no, if they persist say "respect".....

Overall Impression - This hotel was great, perfect for couples, singles, group of friends, parents with teens, not really designed for small kids, say 6 and under. I would go back to this little Gem in a heart beat! I miss it already! 7 days is a good time frame, but 10 would be perfect. Stay at this resort you will NOT be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xenalare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

My daughter and I returned to the Royal Decameron again this year for Christmas and this year even surpassed last. The hotel is conveniently located from the airport and allows individuals to leave the resort and walk in dowtown Montego Bay. Shopping was good and the people helpful. The Bobsled Cafe is minutes away and it was a pleasure to meet one and get autographs from one of the members of the Jamaican Bobsled team! The entertainment crew at the Decameron are exceptional - energetic - cheerful - polite - really make your day. The food was unbelievable - I can't think of anything we lacked. Thank you everyone for another great vacation and a terric Christmas vacation. Will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lea1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
14.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing