We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Stayed here 2 weeks July 2007. This is my 2nd year at Decameron and once again had a fab time. All inclusive Hotel in ideal location on Gloucester Avenue "THE HIP STRIP"

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice beach, nice food, nice weather, nice pool.

Reggae Sumfest was fantastic once again. Enjoy Jamaica!!!

  • Liked — Its Clean!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TallgirlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    1,249
    422
    191
    131
See reviews for
454
1,313
109
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I returned from the Royal Decameron a little over a month ago and I miss everyone so much! This was my 4th visit since February 2006. Obviously, I love this resort! Victor and all of the staff are wonderful. They will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. I've read a few reviews saying that the front desk staff are unfriendly. When we walked into the lobby, the lady at the front desk greeted us with "Welcome home!" That was just the start of another fabulous vacation. The entertainment team consisted of a lot of new members since our last visit, but we were still treated like family. The bartenders not only serve the best drinks, they keep us entertained all day! The staff consists of some of the warmest and friendliest people I have ever met, the food is delicious, the resort and grounds are immaculate, the water is crystal clear; to me, the Decameron is Heaven on Earth! The security is great; I feel as safe and comfortable here as I do in my own home. Worried about the Hip Strip? No problem; my daughter and I have never been bothered on the streets and are very comfortable venturing outside of the resort. We made some wonderful new friends who we talked to on Tripadvisor before our trip. Miss you all and hope to see you in Jamaica again real soon! (Love you Jen!) A big thank you to all of my Decameron Family and can't wait to see you again!

  • Liked — The Staff, the activities, the beach/ocean
  • Disliked — I love everything about this resort!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank JAdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed from July 29th to August 5th. As far as value, its a great place for the price. No there isn't much of a beach, but it gives you a choice - wade in the water or go snorkeling. The beach is pretty quiet, don't know where everyone is, most times there were only 4-5 groups on the beach. The rooms are ok, and no there isn't much hot water but after all that sun who wants to take a hot shower anyway! There was Jamaican food in the buffet or at the restaurant and they do try to vary the foods every night (American/French). I have a feeling they are trying to improve their services. There is always something being painted or cleaned. But I agree with the fact that the customer service rep at the hotel should change jobs as she was very rude. The staff is quite friendly with the exception of the front desk. At the bars if you gave a tip, they were quite friendly. This isn't a 24 hour/day open bar, the bars only open at 10 and close at 2 a.m and believe me its right at those times and no earlier or later. The wine though at the site is awful! The security is great and if you venture off the site they note who you are and if you aren't back by the next morning, they send out a search party. Don't believe what you read about the hip strip, it is quite safe. A few locals will try to sell you stuff but once you say no and walk away there is no problem. If staying at the Decameron its a must to leave the site and visit the hip strip, great music at the Coral Cliff. I was disappointed with Margueritaville though, no air conditionning! We took the time to go to a local restaurant (Townhouse by the Sea) and the food is excellent and affordable.
Also, be sure to go on a couple of tours, its worth it. Al in all the at the Decameron you get what you paid for....if you want more luxury, try the Sandals or a Riu. I also heard that the Grand Bahia that just opened is going to be fantastic in a few months!!

  • Liked — Very quiet, not many rooms so not many people
  • Disliked — The staff at the front desk
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank ckirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Stayed here July 1-10. It was awesome, the rooms were clean, friendly staff and we enjoyed all of the activities. Its your vacation so you have to make the most of it. If you're from America, were one of the richest countries so we can not expect the Ritz Carlton for $699 all inclusive. Meet people, have fun get your money's worth.

  • Liked — The Jamaicans
  • Disliked — The mouse in the kitchen
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbeast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

My boyfriend and I (he's 26, I'm 25) stayed at the RDMB from July 8-15, 2007 and we had the greatest time! Our best experience was definitely with the staff - they are all friendly, fun and helpful and actually put on really good entertainment shows every evening (compared to the entertainment at other Caribbean resorts I've stayed at).

It was really nice that the hotel was only a 5 minute drive from the airport and, although we met a few couples who weren't happy with their room/didn't get the accomodations they reserved, we were thrilled with our room (#314), especially the big balcony with lounge chairs and an amazing view of the ocean. The extra cost for the oceanview room is definitely worth it. Everyone we met eventually got a room they were happy with, but for some it just took an extra day or so.

Food was great on most days at the buffet restaurant but we think (and others agreed with us) that they should have more Jamaican food days!!! The Jamaican food/BBQ they served was delicious!! They served a different cuisine almost every day and we could have lived without the French or Mexican nights (yuck). We dined at the a-la-carte twice and it was delicious. There is also a good little beach snack bar where you can get fries, burgers, soda, coffee/tea, etc until the wee hours of the morning, which was very convenient.

The hotel buildings and grounds themselves are great - both restaurants are open and face the ocean. There are plenty of couches and lounge areas to hang out with a drink, and I never once had to struggle for a beach chair which is a problem I always encountered at other resorts. You also have a variety of choices on where to relax during the day - 2 pools, 2 small beaches, and a small sandy area off the boardwalk. The only negative is that, for people who like to walk for hours on the beach, you can't do this at RDMB as there is no long stretch of beach. For those who just want to relax, dip in the water, play some water sports, bounce around on the water trampoline, what they provide is perfect.

When I was there it was mostly couples, newlyweds, and a few families. Very few young children were on the resort .

Many tourists we spoke to complained that the locals - especially the young men who hang out at the end of the resort's beach - were pushy and agressive trying to sell weed, rent seadoos, etc. Keep in mind that most people in Jamaica are poor (there is a 30% unemployment rate) and they are just doing what they can to support themselves and their family. If you acknowledge their presence when they call out to you (which they definitely will, especially if you are female), they will leave you alone when you decline whatever it is they are selling. If you ignore them, they will get upset and won't leave you alone (I saw it happen). I personally went over to chat with the gentlemen one day and ended up getting the best foot massage/pedicure I've ever had. My favourite thing about Jamaica was the Jamaican people we met and the culture we experienced outside the resort.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Nice big room with great view!
  • Disliked — Bad shower pressure during peak times (am/early evening)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Mara_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

As for the hot water comment below..... There was plenty..... they only tricky thing was if you wanted hot you have to turn it to the Blue...which we think is cold.... and vice versa.... took me a few days to figure that one out..... But yea over all the Food was Great... expected more Jamaican food..... No Ackee or saltfish..... I wish the jerk was spicier but it was still pretty good over all. The rooms were always clean.... Ocean view BEAUTIFUL!!! I LOVED THE BAR TENDERS AND ENTERTAINMENT CREW!!!! Sean and Meeka from the entertainment crew always had a great show with the performers. Jamaicans are Very SOCIAL people :) If you go you have to get drinks from Franky, Seymore, and Errol............If your looking for entertainment be sure to go by the pool area during the afternoon they have beach volleyball, basket ball, cat fights... (You will understand when you get there), Jamaican trivia.... OHHHHHHHHHHHHH BE sure to have a BOB MARLEY SHOT... Ask one of Seymore or Errol to make it for you.......Margaretville was good........not really much to say....but the later you stay the better the music gets.....Overall I must say that I would go back in a heartbeat……

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TanishaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Yet again this hotel was fantastic. We stayed at the RDMB from July 10th till the 24th. We only had one 2 minute rain shower and it was hot, hot, hot. This was our third visit here and it has still let me wanting more. From the moment we checked in we where welcomed back by Victor (manger) who remembered us and saidany problems just see him. We requested a room beforehand and we didn,t get this on arrival but by the next day Victor had sorted this and we moved to room 14. I won't bore you with a long review just to let you know the food was excellent the Bar tenders Patrick, Simone and The main man who is now Bar Supervisor John still makes them good drinks. Anyway the only thing i didn't think was a good as previous years was the entertainment but this was understandable as there was a lot of new staff and Orlando was only there the first 4 days of my stay which made a difference as he was good when he was there. Anyway i reccomend this hotel to anybody and wish i was back there now.
p.s Anybody visiting say hi to Darren the lifeguard from Ian in England. Ask him if he is still wearing that England shirt!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bailey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
4.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#22 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
10.7 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Property: Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing