We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great lobster”

The Calypso Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

nice lobster good service try the cantina malbec nice red wine.
had the lobster and chicken both very good, Val is the man

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Showme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed the lobster and the wine and very happy that Val provided good service as usual. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Calypso's ambiance and setting is fantastic, the restaurant is on the water and is in a lovely and lush setting. I had dinner with friends and the appetizers were scrumptious - I love the stuffed mushrooms and my entree the steak was delicious. The service was friendly and warm, I will definitively eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed both the ambiance and the food. You may want to come back and try some of our new menu items. We're waiting for you on the terrace:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Re-Vamped and Renewed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Calypso during "Restaurant Week". I have actually dined there on two occasions, and both have been excellent. On both occasions our table was visited by the Head Chef Luis, and the concern for our experience to be a very positive one was his top priority.

The appetizers were presented beautifully, and the main courses we excellent. The Mint Ice-cream was my personal favorite.

I recommend Calypso to anyone and everyone looking for a higher end dining experience, and associated services, to give it a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLIM77SLIM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the love and appreciation. Luis and the staff have all been working hard over the past few months on making a name for the new Calypso Restaurant and the close rapport we try to maintain with our customers will continue so that we can keep providing our guests with great experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good menu - great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Chef Luis Fitch has put his back into reviving this lovely outdoor venue, and opening his new concept for Caribbean dining. The menu is extensive, but well managed, and the food is very well executed (try the rib-eye!)

Well done

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Yes, Chef Luis has certainly "put his back" into the restaurant. We couldn't have said it any better and the rest of the staff have been working so hard as well. Come and try the new menu when you have a chance! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Sandy Bay, Hanover Parish
 

Been to The Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing