We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally a Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Calypso Restaurant

The Calypso Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Finally a Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had dinner with friends and the appetizers were scrumptious - I love the stuffed mushrooms and my entree the steak was delicious. The service was friendly and warm, I will definitively eat there again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claretha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The food was delicious and the service was great. The view of the ocean was beautiful. This restaurant is not part of the all inclusive meals and drinks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellant dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Went for a farewell dinner for family. I had read other reviews and thought we would give it a try. There are not a lot of great restaurants in Montego Bay. The entire evening was splendid. The staff were attentive and charming. The food was really good, great choice, beautifully presented and very good value. The Appetizers were fabulous. Pumpkin & lobster soup, served tableside from a pumpkin - very original. Duck Rolls, Coconut Shrimp.
Will be definitely going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you had such a great time and we look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

It is not too easy to find a restaurant in Montego Bay that will combine great food, great ambiance and impeccable service but Calypso manages to do so. Whether one is eating outdoors or under the large pavilion the setting is lovely and the service is friendly and attentive. The chef who hails from Mexico but has been around the world and Italy in particular has devised an interesting menu with good choices. The spicy seviche as an appetizer is delicious and both the fish entrees and the duck are very well prepared and presented.
Altogether it is a pleasure to have a really good restaurant in Mobay and I warmly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for this great review and your appreciation not just for the ambiance of the restaurant but the effort we put into the menu. We actually have new items now that you might like to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Finally a Great Restaurant in Montego Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We ate there a couple of times this month, the food is world class and the service is excellent! All the dishes I tried were pretty good, but I recommend the corvina. The chef very honestly admitted that arrive frozen, nevertheless it taste as fresh a fish just fished. The wine selection is decent to be in Montego Bay and they serve one of my favorite red, the Primitivo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluejamaica, Public Relations Manager at The Calypso Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your great review! We have now put a new menu in place so please let us know what you think after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing