We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A decent clean budget hotel not five star but Ok if you really just want a place to sleep. A clean pool is there for those tiered days that you want to stay in. walking distance to the strip and very close to Montego Bay Airport. Hotel food was pricey so we always ate out. Spent most of our time Off the property anyways . But to sum it up its just an ok hotel quite average. A/C, HOT AND COLD WATER, SWIMMING POOL, FREE ICE LOL, JUST NOT A STAR HOTEL.

Room Tip: Dont choose ground floor, and choose a room that has a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cleggytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Took a vacation to Montego Bay Jamaica. It my 4th time in Ja and first time staying at Gloriana Hotel. This hotel is a piece of garbage, the room smell horrible like a very old building and mildew smell. The towels in the bathroom are very dirty grey instead of white clean towel, the towels look like used for cleaning or use for car wash. The air condition have mold on the wall and the lamps next to the bed are very nasty dusty dirty. There are ants every where in the room. The food is horrible and too much for $10.00 a plate. Most staff are okay except Ms Gloriana, she live at that hotel, yep that right she stays at the very top building of hotel. I was like "WHAT" she live off of the hotel she don't have to pay no bills. It sound very homeless for her staying there. Oh yeah, she really didn't get this hotel on her own, her guy friend now decreased who were very wealthy got her the hotel. She Also has a black Mercedes park in the in the back. She don't even tell the guests welcome and thank you for staying at this hotel. She come out and check the hotel and take money and don't speak and left. That story she have on the DVD is a piece crap and not true about this hotel. This hotel look like a funeral home. That so sad.
I will never ever stays at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Locals and tourists enjoy this spot. It's family-owned and was started by a great Jamaican woman (check out the DVD drama of her life-they sell it there). They offer really good rates and service with decent rooms and suites, and a nice not-too-commercial feeling atmosphere. Generally not loud, with friendly people, mostly returning guests who always return to Gloriana when in town. Just don't bother with the restaurant next door--prices are high and food is weak. Gloriana's kitchen is no-frills fine. The best thing about Gloriana, besides the great value, is that it is owned by a Black Jamaican woman, and profits benefit the community, rather than an overseas corporation (most of which see their workers and the environment as disposable.) This is a place a local would recommend and most any guest would want to return to.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We missed our flight to go home and this hotel was recommended as a close to the airport hotel. The rooms are decorated from the 70"s , dirty and the security was quite bad. The key to the room was on a wood chunk with a metal loop like a gas station bathroom key. The door to the room was a thin wooden door and had no locking mechanism besides the inside chain lock.. We stayed two nights til our next flight. The second night the air conditioner froze up and was not producing cold air. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone up, we waited and waited til finally we both took an hour nap. We tossed and turned until we could not take it anymore we called the front desk again at three am. They did send soneone up, a security guard whom told the front desk the air conditioner was broken. They had no other rooms because this had happened to another room the same night,, the security person said this happens all the time, the maintenance contractor is not good and there were no fans to be given out as they had been doled out to other customers ( probably the same reason as ours!) The next morning when checking out we asked for the manager. The people at the front desk never gave us her name nor did they believe we had a problem. The lady at the front desk actually said that someone had been in that room for two weeks and had no problems. She did not believe that we had called twice in the night because her coworkers did not fill out the necessary forms ( like we had any idea about forms they fill out!) I have emailed them several times to resolve this issue but they continue to avoid. I would welcome the manager or the owner to respond as it is NOT NICE to give bad customer service!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had booked online and received confirmation of the price before hand but when we arrived they went and doubled the price on us! We showed them the email with the confirmation from the actual owner but they did not care and would not even compromise one bit! I think this is sooooooo unfair and will never stay here again and will warn as many people as I can! Be careful! We had no choice to stay here regardless because every hotel nearby was sold out for sunfest! Totally was not worth the inflated price they charged us...hotel room had a flimsy lock, no safe, and was very dirty!
Buyer beware!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Went on vac wit my family and love the place, at first i was skeptic bc of some of the reviews on here but it's far from wat i was expecting the place is lovely great security and the staff is very friendly...I met the owner and she was very friendly also i wish who ever is putting bad review on her page would stop......NOT NICE....I am definitely goin back wenever i go bck to Jamaica i find my budget friendly place...Ms. Gloria thank u for a wonderful time, looking forward to going bck....And i will be recommending this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bridgy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This not a bad place to stay it's economical, in good location near the beach/main strip.
The rooms are basic no frills ,bathroom T.V, dresser queen size beds.central air conditioning.Staff was friendly theres a restaurant on premises by the poolside.Rates are upfront so best to pay cash as they'll charge U.S. on credit cards which means more fees.The restaurant has mainly local cooking with the seating outside next to bar at poolside.There is room service upon request yet you'll have to talk to them in person for it.Meals are moderately priced pay as you go along as they don't run tabs at the Hotel which could be credit or cash.... do it with cash.You don't have to worry about ice as there are icemakers about every corner of this hotel.The pool was good for a dip with a spa next to it.There is reggae music played from 8AM to 10PM so keep that in mind otherwise not a bad place to stay at all.Yeah Mon...No Prablam mon! :>)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#26 of 63 in Montego Bay
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 67 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £32 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing