We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night In Montego Bay, Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The night before we departed Montego Bay (MoBay), we stayed at the Hotel Glorianna & Spa. This hotel is very clean, the water hot, and the water pressure adequate. We (5 of us) stayed in a room with 7 single beds and a large bathroom. The room was air conditioned and just down from the pool. The pool water was a bit cool, and was only 6 feet deep, but the pool was very clean. The hotel restaurant was right off the pool and offered poolside service at tables set up arount the pool, and the prices were affordable. People at the front desk were very helpful and one of the managers would come around to the room and check, making sure every thing was taken care of. * There was, however, only one electrical outlet that I could find in the room, and that was near the TV. There was No electrical outlet in the bathroom, no blow dryer, no coffee pot, etc. I suppose one could bring an attachment to place into the outlet with a plug in- built in, then put the light bulb into that. * The room was quiet, and we slept well.

Room Tip: The hotel was very nice, for the price. I did not take advantage of the massage or spa opportunities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in 2005 and recently returned on 2/15/2012. The property has made considerable improvements. The staff is friendly and helpful; Clyde is a fixture at the door and always can be depended on to help or assist in any way; The hotel rooms vary depending what you want, but my room was fine. I was surprised to see the flat screens that are there now, what a pleasure. The prices are actually an excellent value for the location. Public beaches are within walking distances and there are many restaurants very close by. I would rather stay here and enjoy the public beaches and the local food while still saving money by not paying for the all-inclusives. I also believe in supporting Jamaican business and I would rather my money go to local businesses rather than the large corporations
( foreign owned) who run the larger, all inclusive hotels.

Room Tip: Some rooms have mini-fridges, and there are also suites where you can buy food to cook yourself, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mariemartin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. we are glad you hade a lovely time and thanks for your comment.we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel was very good for its price. My boyfriend and I stayed here and enjoyed ourselves. However the spa was broken and the pool is ice cold. The food I did not like. Everything(Meat) seemed like it was boiled before it was prepared. The plus side is that about a block down there is a restaurant with awsome food. If you like to have meals outside the hotel this is ideal for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room w/ pool view so you can enjoy the garden view. Also you are closer to the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nubbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few time without any problem...even though this hotel is slightly less than wexford hotel...last time i made a reservation from overseas for a one bedroom suite...everything was fine,i even confirmed the day before i arrived....when i landed in montego bay the next day, got to the hotel,was told the one bedroom suite was not available....it's now occupied...they took me out to show me more rooms in the pouring rain in the back...the wallkways were very slippery because it's wet..i lost my footing & sled down a few steps injuring my back and right hand...when i made a report, i was told " sorry !"...they don't care about you,all they care about is making money....

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nonesuch60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

over all the hotel need to be updated, the beds are hard as rock, sleeping on the floor
would have been better.

Room Tip: rooms are not well lit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel mainly because of it's location. Although we found the staff friendly we ended up having to change rooms three times. The frist room was very musty smelling and dirty, it had a balcony and several windows however they were all sealed shut so there was no way to get fresh air into the room. The second room was a little better, however while we were out the air conditioner leaked and flooded the room. The third room was no better than the first, I ended up having to clean the room myself and finished a whole bottle of perfume just to get rid of some of the musty, mildew smell. Needless to say for the week that we were there we almost ended up in divorce court.

Likewise, despite several complaints to the front desk no offers were made to refund us any of the money we paid up front. I found Ms Gloriana snobish and unfriendly when she was around, nothing like the character in her DVD. I found all those wall murals creepy, it's like she was watching you every where you went. Hotel Gloriana is in desprate need of a make over, starting with painting over all those murals and washing the drapes and comforters. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

As you get in the reception, you'll see tons of useless awards on the walls. Actually, this hotel is very bad: unfriendly receptionists (everything is impossible; you cannot make a phone call even be payment), payment in advance - but no refund as we realized that none of the 6 rooms of our group had hot water, breakfast not included, very expensive and very bad. If you have a problem (and for sure you'll have it, here!) don't waste time asking for the manager: he/she is never available.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fogapaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 63 in Montego Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing