We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare Hotel and Manageress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Don't even think about this hotel. The staff are like zombies VERY unfriendly. The manageress is very rude and laughs as silly laugh in your face while she refuses every request you make. The room was dirty, especially the floor. We had no light in the bathroom and the man who came to fix it complained about having to do so, expecting money from us for doing it. The telephone in our room didnot work. We didnot eat there as we were afraid someone might spit in or food. All in all it was a hell hole which I wouldnot recommmend to anyone. The manageress should be ashamed of herself and her childish attitude. She is supposed to be a grown woman. Ha!!! Lots of people we have spoken to said she has a bad reputation. NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Don't bother with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isobelis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visi. we have also since change our manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

We needed a place to stay as we got stranded during hurricane sandy. Upon arrival to our room it smelled musty and mildewey , later that night a HUGE roach the size of a mouse ( not kidding) ran across the room, I know it's the tropic and you expect roaches, but still a uneasy feeling when you are about to go to bed. The bathroom smelled of raw sewedge . I would say the staff is pleasant and the pool area was the best part of the hotel. I guess for the price you can't complain, it was shelter from the storm but it was not a very comfortable place to be, if you are looking for a inexpensive place to stay then I guess this is it... 59.00 a night but anything beyond that this place is not for you.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here for 1 night as my family were flying back to the UK before me. I have stayed Montego Bay several times but never at Hotel Gloriana. I chose it for its location, 5 mins drive to Sangster airport and the value. I paid around £30 which is reasonable. The hotel staff were welcoming, the room was very spacious two double beds and a seperate toliet and shower room. The decor dated but very clean which to me is more important. I spent my evening in the bar, we were the only ones's! There are mural's on the wall and a picture of Gloria. I think i saw her pull up outside in a Mercedez! she had a swag about her. The hotel is a couple minutes walk to Bucaneer beach to the right or hip strip to the left. There is an ATM machine located near 5 mins from the hip strip which is useful, a chinese resturant too. Further down is margaritaville and a little further downtown Montego Bay and KFC! Overall Hotel Gloriana is a budget hotel perfect for one night. A big downside was that it had no window as it was boarded it and the curtains were permenantly drawn.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I visit Jamaica monthly and usually end my trip at Gloriana. It's very close to the airport, walking distance to the hip strip, comfortable, clean and safe. One of the best bargains in Montego Bay for the money!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room over the pool. Sometimes it can be noisy but it's closer to the front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My name is Michell Barnes I am loving this Hotel wanna come backon vacation, I went on vacation last year and the staff gave me good treatment and i was satisfied, even the Manager make sure i was comfortable and i wanna say thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My sister was stranded in Montego Bay and needed to get a hotel just for the night the Mobay desk advised me to go there. It was $60 US. She said its a comfy place which reminded you of your grandmother house. The hotel did have a pool and a eating place where she was able to get a good meal from a stressful day.

Room Tip: perfect for a emergency situation- lower flr bec no one to help u carry your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheriyah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stopped in by accident when we missed a flight n absolutely loved it. The rooms are good and clean and come wit flatscreens and AC. The pool is clean and well kept. After we found this place we stay here every six months for a few days before we hit our villas. The food is great as well and if u don't like ur room they will gladly move u to a room that you are happy in. Staff is great as well. Would reccomend and stay here in a heart beat. Last Visited in April 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for the further back rooms in the basement close to the pool if you want a awesome King size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#32 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £66 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing