We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting mobay for the first time i enjoyed it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Staying at the Gloriana for the first time I enjoyed my stay...room was very big...staff's very nice answered my questions,and I felt very comfortable there..regardless of your length of stay the Gloriana is a great place to stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who ask..I don't no much about breakfast cause am not an early eater but the menu price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and spacious, I enjoyed staying here close to everything. Staff was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great price but if rather pay more..,, I saw one room that had no windows, frig or iron .... When speaking to the managers they all had the worst attitude like I owed them money... Then at dinner the waiter asked for a tip .... What the hell how rude.... There are no safes in the room it's only at the check on desk which the manager had a key to it also so u can't go in by your self she/he would have to accompany you... Where is the security in that.... All in all the worst hotel in MoBay..... I've only meet one lady that was pleasant Mrs.Lilly ...

Travel here at your own risk .... Never again for me...'!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have stayed at the Gloriana twice in our trips to Jamaica, once for a week, and the other just for a night. regardless of your length of stay the Gloriana is a great place to do it! It's a great place to just chill and relax. as others have said it is very safe and it is an easy walk from the Gloriana to the beach or the strip. Last time we stayed we got the Suite which was two rooms and a bathroom. There were a total of 4 beds in this room, along with a kitchen (sink, counter area, fridge) and we paid $75US per night which was an amazing value. We love it there and will continue to stay there in our future trips to Jamaica.

Room Tip: Get the Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ERIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Early November 2012, during our travels in Jamaica we decided to visit Montego Bay.
As usual we had not booked accomodation, we like the freedom to choose as we go from place to place. We ask local taxi drivers to reccomend a hotel for us and two reccomended the hotel Gloriana. On arrival, we found the receiption area to be decorative, the staff warm and polite.After looking at their price list, We chose a room at where they call 'the basement', the cost of this room at that time was JA$4,100 about US$70 per night. The room was very basic, but we took it , base on the price. The other rooms were more expencive. On the negative side,there were no window, Very poor clothe hanging facility, and noisey plumbing.On the plus side, there was a Queen size bed, comfortable,Hot water in the shower,( the shower needed a complete renovation),and air condition, and Tv.
The choice of breakfast was limited, we would have liked to have some fresh fruits but that did not seams to be available, so we had what vegetable were available on the menu, Yellow yam, callaloo, green bananas and mackeral. This was well presented, and tasty, the restaurant staff was polite, we did not have to wait a long time for service, the price for the breakfast was ok, as i was only staying two nights, about US$22. over all our stay was reasonable.

Room Tip: choose a room with plenty of space and a/c. The higher floors are more expencive, but if you are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barefootguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Montego Bay, i.e. Sandals, RIU, Iberostar, Hilton, GloucesterShire, Secrets and even at the Palmyra Resort and Spa where everybody calls me Doc over there. Thus, when I decided to "experiment" staying at Hotel Gloriana in the middle of October, 2012 I was pleasantly suprised at the cleanliness of the rooms (even though I could not find the remote for the TV) and the delicious chicken and fish dinners I had over there and the all of this for less than 1/3 to 1/2 of what I am used to paying elsewhere in Montego Bay ?. Of course, I did NOT get 5 star service but It was close to 5 Star service from Miss G, the Proprietor who takes a hands on attitude in making guests feel welcome in her hotel. Thus, I can honestly say It boggles my Imagination, some of the comments made by that one Reviewer about the "manageress is very rude" ? Are we living in a parallel Universe here or what ? Or is It because, I am an American citizen of african descent while that other Reviewer might be ...... with some real "biased views" ? Is that why our perception of the same place is so different ? The staff at the hotel was very friendly and even kept my luggage for me at the front desk after checkout. The best thing about the hotel for me though, is It's proximity to the Public beach i.e. If you walk down Sunset Blvd for 1 minute and turn Right, you get to the beach. To get to the Strip, you walk down Sunset Blvd for 1 minute and turn Left Instead. I was able to walk along the strip at night to Coral Cliffs Enterntainment Complex and Blue Beat Nightclub (next to Margaritaville ) and walked right back to my hotel room early in the morning without having to worry about transportation or calling for expensive taxis. Early in the mornings, I was able to go for a nice swim in the ocean after a less than 5 minutes walk from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doc-Palmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

i stayed in the hotel as i was a quest at my friend wedding it was a nice relaxing place to chill out the rooms were comfortable however the house keepers need to pay a little more attention to details such as the cornors of the floor which was dirty and area around the handle of the doors the internet service was poor however dispite of the negitive comment i would stay there again as its good value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Don't even think about this hotel. The staff are like zombies VERY unfriendly. The manageress is very rude and laughs as silly laugh in your face while she refuses every request you make. The room was dirty, especially the floor. We had no light in the bathroom and the man who came to fix it complained about having to do so, expecting money from us for doing it. The telephone in our room didnot work. We didnot eat there as we were afraid someone might spit in or food. All in all it was a hell hole which I wouldnot recommmend to anyone. The manageress should be ashamed of herself and her childish attitude. She is supposed to be a grown woman. Ha!!! Lots of people we have spoken to said she has a bad reputation. NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Don't bother with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isobelis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

thank you for making hotel Gloriana you home away from home. sorry for your bad experince. and thanks for your comment. when you come again you will have a choice to choose your room. we you come again we will give you a discount for $55 per night. as we have upgraded since your last visi. we have also since change our manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 64 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 64 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 64 in Montego Bay
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#34 of 64 in Montego Bay
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 67 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing