We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap ...handy for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gloriana & Spa
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for one night has i was catching an early flight the following day. I paid approx 4500 Jamaican dollars which is very cheap for a kingsize room by the pool. Yes the poolside rooms are noisy, music stops playing at about 9p.m.

The rooms are basic and require updating. This place is useful for a stopover and nothing else really....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msdynamite365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is cheap by Montego Bay standards. We paid 5000J for one night. Chosen because of its proximity to the airport, it did what it had to, for the cost. There were mostly Jamaicans staying there which was nice.
The grounds were nice, I loved the chickens and ducks and peacocks walking around from the farm next door!
The room itself was spacious but there was no natural light and the decor was dated and worn. The shower had hot water and good pressure (we used it early in the morning) The bed was not super comfortable but still ok. The tv reception was poor. The internet worked only outside the room. Front desk staff was ambivalent. The food at dinner was average and the breakfast was awful and very expensive.
The airport shuttle was a ripoff at 1000J (the airport is 3 mins away) .. get a taxi outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I've stayed there before for a night due to its proximity to the airport. Its location is the only good thing about it really. There was a nasty smell coming from the bathroom which made the whole room smell bad. The shower didn't work properly. And the lock on the door didn't work properly either. The drinks at the restaurant downstairs were way overpriced, but luckily there is a convenience shop right next door. However I was hassled during the 10 steps to the door by 1 taxi driver and 1 crackhead trying to sell bracelets using the "tie it on your wrist then magically can't get it off when I don't want it" scam. I wasn't feeling great the next morning, so we decided to get a ride to the airport rather than walk. we asked for a taxi at the front desk and they said they'd drive us...it ended up being 10 american dollars, which was a big rip off. While waiting for the lady to pull her car around out front, 3 taxis stopped and offered us a ride to the airport and they would have probably cost a third of the price. Also, due to the proximity of the airport, there were a lot of planes flying overhead (to be expected, not their fault).
The pros: the rooms are pretty cheap, and it's about a 10-15 minute walk to the airport. I'm not familiar with other hotels in the area, so I can't say whether you should go elsewhere, just know that you're staying here for the convenience and not much else. If you want a taxi to the airport, just stand out front and wait for a couple minutes....it'll save you some cash.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thatt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is one of the nearest to the sangster international airport and is managed by the owner, Gloria Minto, after whom the property is named. It is therefore as native as it gets. On a particular morning breakfast comprised boiled bananas served with ackees and roasted breadfruit all harvested from the back of the property...so very fresh and tasty.My bed was drizzled every day with flower petals which I realised also came from the property. I was able to watch the feeding of a variety of domestic birds including ducks,geese,pigeons,chickens and peacocks right there at the back of the farm-like backyard. I certainly felt at home and close to nature, but within a walk of the famous Doctor's Cave Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunbarMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My mom and I went down to Jamaica for a few days and my cousin recommended hotel Gloriana so we said sure, why not? The location is great because you're close to a lot of things but I'll say this, customer service is not their forte. The ambiance is great and the room was comfortable, although a little outdated but that's not a big deal. The workers at the front desk are a little slouchy and the workers at the restaurant take FOREVER to bring your meal. My mom and I went down for breakfast the Saturday morning and I noticed you have to get the attention of the workers, they don't just approach your table and take your order. I actually saw a couple a few tables away from us that waited for about 10-15 mins. before getting any help. Another thing is you see a lot of locals. Other than the not so great customer service and the undesirables that may stay a night or two, I met the owner and she was really sweet but I don't know if I'll stay again here in the future. 3 stars overall for the good food (even though it took a while to get to us), location and the ambiance. I'd recommend for a night or two but longer than that, maybe not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

The food we provide is done on a cook to order basis this is why it may take a little time we are apologetic for any inconvenience this may cause. We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I like to say I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. The rooms are real out dated. The staff is clueless an not helpful at all. I had to switch rooms twice one because I had hug roaches in my room. The second time because the phone did not work. I like to add a travel tip for this hotel. This hotel is for young people who don't have a lot of money,that need some where to lay there head. If You are young an want to party this is the place for u. Because u will meet people hear that want to party. Even the local hang out hear.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oshyiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

the rooms were run down giving its name i thought it would live up to its name mark you this was our first anniversary and the staff werent so friendly maybe 1 and 2 maids , i would not reccomend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tantan405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugennie M, Manager at Hotel Gloriana & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

We have just gone through a series of refurbishing and have some new and upgrade rooms you can check it out on our website hotelgloriana.net or on our facebook page Hotel Gloriana.Thank you for making Hotel Gloriana your home away from home. We will be having a huge special on our room rates for this Christmas which starts now with walk-in rates at US $46.00 and reserved room at $57.00 and $70.00 per night so we are looking forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#28 of 63 in Montego Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bethel Court Guest House
Bethel Court Guest House
#12 of 67 in Montego Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloriana & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloriana & Spa

Address: 1-2 Sunset Boulevard | Montego Bay, Jamaica West Indies, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £61 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gloriana & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gloriana is five minutes walk from the airport and five minutes walk to the famous Doctor's Cave Beach. Amenities in the room include, Air condition, Cable Television, Hot and Cold Water, some rooms have Private Balconey. We have WIFI on property and International Telephone service. GROUP RATES (Ten(10) persons and over) Please note group rates are US $25 per person and if one or two persons in one room it is US $50. Three persons are US $75 Four persons US $100 plus tax. Each person has their own bed. Breakfast is US $8 Dinner US $9 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gloriana & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gloriana Montego Bay
Hotel Gloriana And Spa
Gloriana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing