We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely sublime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 43 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely sublime”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I took my girlfriend on a surprise trip to Jamaica and we stayed in the Queen Room at the Polkerris. The grounds are absolutely stunning, breathtakingly so and the staff are very warm and friendly. I actually gasped when I saw it. Staying there was like being among family. It was also nice to meet the other guests during breakfast. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. You literally step outside the room into the swimming pool. The place is about 3mins walk to the 'hip strip', (there is a shortcut for polkerris and vista de la Bahia guests that take you directly to it) the main tourist spot in Montego bay. It is also very close to the fantastic Dr Caves Beach.

The view from the balcony, where breakfast is served, is sublime and looks directly onto Montego Bay. Everyday I tried a different breakfast from French toast to traditional Jamaican dishes and they were all delicious. The coffee was great. The place is very secure and feels very safe - there is a security system in place to get onto the grounds, locks on the doors and the rooms all contain a safe. The maid was also fantastic, friendly and very professional. Jeremy and Clarissa were both very kind and friendly. After our stay with them we spent a few days at a regular 2 star hotel in Ocho Rios and the at a five star all inclusive (CSA) in Negril. The Polkerris was by far my favourite spot. Beautiful, charming, cosy and friendly.

I would highly recommend this place to couples 30yo +, romantic getaways, honeymoons and for families.

We will definitely be returning.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple

Room Tip: Room Tip: The Queen room is fantastic. The fountain harbours a secret garden - venture up those stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
96
226
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with family for 3 days in December and had a fabulous time. The villa is extremely well located. Down the hill, you're in the hip strip and easy walking distance to food, nightlife and beaches. I had a double room, and it was huge! All rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean and breakfast is served on the patio overlooking the pool and sea. This was my favorite place to sit. Peter and Elaine were great hosts, who took the time to remember our individual preferences. This was just one of the small touches that made the stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious, changed daily, and kept me going well into the afternoon. I will definitely stay here again when in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RsR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent a week at Polkerris with our two young boys. The B&B is a close walk to the beach (we used the public beach each day without anyone bothering us) and the hip strip. Spent hours in the pool all to ourselves (it has a shallow strip along the pool that is 4 ft deep which is good for younger swimmers). Breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruit and many choices for dish - favourites of the kids were the bananna pancakes and french toast. We liked trying the Jamacian breakfasts. The rooms and common areas were extremely clean and well kept. Beautiful flowers and koi pond. The owners made efforts to treat our sons special and it was much appreciated. We would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkruchten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Polkerris for our 11th year wedding anniversary. We had the BEST time ever!!! This place is sooooo beautiful & relaxing. The owners (Peter & Elaine) were
absolutely personable, sweet, & friendly....we felt like we had known them all of our lives.
The breakfast food was soooo good & the fresh fruit was wonderful! We are already making
plans to stay there the next time we are in Jamaica. Very close to the airport and walking distance from the beach & shops. Some of the shops were a little overwhelming with wanting
you to buy from them....but had nothing to do with the Polkerris. We had the swimming pool
all to ourselves and the view was spectacular. If you want a wonderful, relaxing place to stay and get treated like you at a 5-star hotel, this is the place!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeYoYo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Polkerris in December 2013 during 4 nights. Its a really quiet and nice place with the best breakfast we had in Jamaica! Really try the Jamaican breakfast, its fantastic! The rooms are large and spotless clean, well equipped with refrigerator and tv. The beds are large but a little hard. Its a nice place for a relaxing vacation, they have a large pool and a beautiful veranda with sights over the sea. A plus for the two very nice and relaxed cats!

The owners are really friendly and easy to find. They are Jehovah´s witnesses, although we didn´t notice this until check-out when they wanted to discuss our beliefs..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight a few weeks ago. The room entire place was immaculate! Rooms were cozy and tastefully decorated. Tranquil, comfy and excellent food! Definitely would recommend again and again and again!!

Room Tip: The poolside room was private and tranquil with the sounds of the water feature as a luluby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I LOVE this place. The room was clean and beautiful - comparable to a 4 star hotel.

This B & B is spacious and provided tranquil feeling. It warmed this Caribbean girl's heart. Breakfast on the veranda was a savoring experience every morning. We traveled with our small children and the owners were very accommodating to their picky palettes.

A MUST visit if you're over all inclusive resorts. We were and this place was the perfect alternative.

The LOCATION is great too. We were walking distance to the hip strip- a stone throw away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurls T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
565 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing