We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop reading and book it now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop reading and book it now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you're looking for a bed and breakfast (or ANY small/quiet hotel, for that matter) in the center of Montego Bay, you can stop reading about other options. This is it. Book it.

Since everything that has been written is true, there's no need for me to repeat everyone else and talk about how great it is (one of the few places that exceeds the "hype"). All I will do is offer a few tips/things to know ahead of time (I don't want to say "warnings," just FYI's that have nothing to do with the quality of the B&B).

1. Keep in mind that you're located on a street that is smack above the the Hip Strip. So while the grounds and street in front of it are incredibly peaceful, when you walk down to the main drag, you will be in the thick of it all.

We thought this was fantastic, but I could see some other people not considering this to be a plus.

But again, you are well above the Hip Strip and in a little bubble of tranquility.

2. Doctor's Cave Beach (which is less than a 10-minute walk and your closest option) isn't free, and the fees for renting chairs and an umbrella are small but do add up. However, you are getting such a steal at Polkerris that it makes up for it.

Doctor's Cave Beach is absolutely stunning. However, we weren't there during the high season, so I can't comment on whether it would be an issue to have to deal with the reportedly huge crowds every day. You do have Cornwall Beach next door. But I can't imagine how the beach itself at Negril is any better than the beach at Doctor's Cave. Like Polkerris, I had read the reviews and was still taken aback when I got there.

3. The street where the Polkerris is located, the "Corniche," is fairly unmarked and easy for a cab driver to miss, even though he will obviously say he knows where it is. Make a mental note when you get there of where exactly the turn is off the Hip Strip so that you can tell the driver to hang a left/right when you're approaching it on your way back from another location.

4. Bring a TON of bug spray (that's not Polkerris; that's Jamaica).

None of these things should deter you; they're just things you might want to be aware of.

Like I said, book it now. It is as good a B&B as you will ever find. I wish I had spent more time talking with the owners to ask how on earth they originally got that gorgeous house with that view in that location. If you find out, please share. I'm sure Jeremy (an Englishman; his wife is Jamaican) would be more than happy to tell you all about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DC201423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
92
221
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our treatment at this B&B was first-rate. We stayed there for five days last August. The owners were extremely hospitable. Our daily breakfast was also delectable and pretty much Jamaican in character. Our room was huge and very comfortable and the staff polite, helpful, and unobtrusive. Stephen Wright, the driver was also very helpful. He picked us up from the airport, drove us for one of our outings to Dunns River Falls and took us back to the airport on the day of our departure. There is a beach nearby, requiring a ten-minute walk. Not the most spectacular of beaches, but decent enough. A delightful alternative to the beach was the swimming pool. A nearby restaurant (ask the B&B owners for info) serving excitingly delicious dishes provided our evening dinners. All in all, a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicCouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you for such great hospitality also for making my 1st.year anniversary a soecial one. My husband and i can't say enough about our stay we just know that this is the perfect nested place. The breakfast absolutely the best rooms marvelous sunsets adorable grounds remarable the help always ready to assist with anything needed you will never make a wrong decision when you choose this place.Thank you my new family away from home.Jeremy and Clarissa.Mr.& Mrs.Myers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesuschristsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I can only confirm, what the other guests have written so far. We (young couple) stayed at Polkerris for a week and were so happy that we booked at this awesome B&B. Breakfest is very versatile, always fresh and delicious. Very ample, as well. The owners, Clarissa and Jeremy were always there if we needed anything. They made sure, we were comfortable. The view from the house is great, just like in the pictures and even better in real. If I should visit Montego Bay again, I will most definately stay at Polkerris. There is a shortcut from the House down to Gloucester avenue, which is very convenient and takes about 2-3 minutes. The road is a little longer (5-7 minutes) but you'll pass a very nice Jamaican bar on the way (right on the corner, when the road is making a left).

- Nicole & Steve

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed stayed there for a couple of weeks.. The staff, Gladys and Audrey are so friendly and they clean the room very good.. Breakfast are so delicious every mornings.. Very beautiful view and can see the cruises coming to Montego Bay sometimes.. Swimming pool is great.. The owners Peter and Elaine are so friendly and lovely couple.. We already missed them.. We love come back again some day..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0an59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This B&B is just great. Don't go to a bogus hotel. The hosts, Clarissa and Jeremy, are fantastic. Please use their "driver" Devon (he is a really great person). You will not be disappointed! You will be up the hill a bit from Gloucester but really convenient to Doctor's Cave Beach and the rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed there in March with my wife and our 2yr old daughter and we had a great time. First I should mention that Peter and Elaine are the most wonderful hosts you will ever come across. We had a connecting flight from Atlanta to MoBay which was delayed several times. Our original time of arrival was at 7:30pm local time, but we reach only at 1:00 am. Peter had arranged a cab to pick us up at the airport and the driver was real nice to wait for at least 3 hours until our plane arrived. Both Peter and Elaine stayed up to welcome us and made sure we were well set before they went to bed. The B&B itself is a beautiful place with a nice pool overlooking the ocean. Our daughter loved it. And the next best things was the breakfast. We enjoyed the Jamaican breakfast with delicious fish. Although we spend most of our daytime on the road during our stay it was like coming back home every night. We will definitely stay there on our next trip as well. And I recommend this place strongly to anyone who wants to visit Jamaica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
5.7 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.5 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
#22 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polkerris Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris Bed and Breakfast

Property: Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polkerris Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing