We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Benissimo Dining Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evita's Italian Restaurant

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Historic Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Benissimo Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Evita's was one of my Heroes Weekend 2013 dinner stops and it proved to be a great choice. I went with my cousins and we were greeted by the owner at the entrance, an extremely sweet lady. Our dinner was delicious, kudos to the chef! We visited at night and we were treated to a beautiful view of Ocho Rios.

The only issue I had at my table was our waitress. I observed and my cousins felt the cold attitude of our waitress for the night. This won't subtract from the entire experience however (unless you consider the fact that her gratuity is already calculated in the bill -__-).

Nevertheless, I would recommend Evita's to anyone desirous of a romantic evening on the hills of Ochi Rios with a scenic view. Or to friends and family in need of a chill time with tasty Italian food. I would definitely go back. A presto Evita's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MemeLove_876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    190
    56
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I highly recommend Evita's for a GREAT dining experience while in Ocho Rios. The food was outstanding, the service top notch. We had the pleasure of meeting Eva, the owner of Evita's. I must say, she is a delightful lady and it made our dining experience special. The views from Evita's are wonderful even at night. DO go to Evita's, you won't be sorry you did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalGal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent food, cute spot, nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Evita's has a nice view from the hills of Ocho Rios. Our food was good, nothing out of this world, but tasty and good for the price. I had the risotto and my husband had the lobster, both were great. I wish we would have known in advance that Evita's can arrange for pickups as it was a $50 cab ride from our resort, but it was nice to get out and about. We loved that they had a live guitar player, that created a lovely ambiance.

My one beef is that as we were paying the check, the server interrupted to tell us that cash tips were appreciated. Not a big deal for him to have said something, I appreciate that he is making his living and tips are a good part of it, but the delivery of the message could have been a tad more gracious.

We would definitely go back to Evita's if we ever find ourselves in Ocho Rios again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank likeprairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant. ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our kids here to celebrate our daughter's success in her GSAT exams. The food and service were very good. Evita took the time out to speak to diners which was a nice personal touch. She's a wonderful lady who made my kids night fun. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants good food, great view all in an awesome environment.

Helpful?
2 Thank yardiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evita's Restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Evita' is the best Italian food in Jamaica. Excellent service, many choices for food and drink. Probably the best restaurant in Ocho that we have ecountered on our multiple trips there!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pgoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing