We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”

Almond Tree Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were greatly disappointed with the dning experience we had this year as compared to previous year. My wife and daughter ordered the steak dinner and the meat was poorly prepared added to this was the fact they served packaged frozen cauliflower and brocolli with the meal. This was Friday night when the farmers come to sell their produce at the market. You would think the chef could have gone and picked up fresh vegetables to prepare and serve with the meal. I also had to deal with poor attitude from the serrving staff when I requested to sit on the patio rather then under the deck area which was extremely hot. Their excuse was they would have to put table coths on all tables not just one. I eventually won out, but it made for a poor dining experience. I would not recommend this restaturant to anyone and will not be giving them my business in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have eaten breakfast here for 3 years. The service is formal, and yet friendly with high standards. They serve Jamaican style, 'soon come mon.' I love the relaxed atmosphere with the view of the bay since this is MY vacation. Breakfast is usually 7 or 8 courses with the most wonderful coffee I have ever had. You can order on or off the menu. Since my husband and I eat such a large breakfast, we almost always skip lunch. All breads, rolls, pastries and desserts are made in their own bakery which is very clean. We have had dinner at the Almond Tree several times. The dinners are wonderful whether American or Jamaican. I always have a doggie bag for a midnight snack.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRastaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I ate at this restaurant several times, as I stayed at the Hibiscus Lodge, and this restaurant is a part of this hotel. They do have a very nice staff, who are pleasant.

The food is also a variety of Jamaican dishes. However, if you stay at the hotel, the hot breakfast is just US$3, which is great, because they serve callaloo, ackee & saltfish, dumplings, boiled bananas, etc. But if you are having dinner, then it's a bit expensive.

The Restaurant has a view overlooking the Caribbean Sea as well, depending on which section you're seated.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great food”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We just got back from Ocho Rios and went to the Almond Tree for our last meal. What a treat. Food is fabulous atmosphere is unbelievable, The bar down stars
has swings at the bar and view of the Carribean. really spectacular
Cant say enough about the food and service. Classy and portions are huge. Everything we had was incredible
A little more expensive but worth every penny.
You will take a dogie bag home.
It is a definite try if you go to Ochie.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank phillythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch or dinner after Dunn's River Falls: Almond Tree Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

After a visit to nearby Dunn's River Falls we had worked up an appetite and wanted to explore Ocho Rios...our driver recommended just two spots and we chose Almond Tree for it's ocean front location. The open air restaurant features many levels of terraces and a bar with swings (careful with your rum punch). The view is great so be sure to bring your camera. The menu features many local specialties and like lamb curry and fresh fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank writeholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing