We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as it was 4 years ago”
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just as good as it was 4 years ago”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The food there is tasty, reliable and reasonably priced. We go there for take out almost every week. Sometimes the chicken is a little dryer than it should be, but it's usually nice and juicy. And the sweet potatoes are always a guessing game. But this is a problem all over Jamaica - strangely enough, it's very hard to find good sweet potatoes on the island. If you go on a Friday, try the red pea soup. It's delicious and my new favorite.
If you have never been there, GO!!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!
We take all our guests there and they go crazy with the grills and all the awesome smoke. Many take pictures :)
And the staff.... THE BEST! Kimmy, one of the managers, always has a smile on her face and makes us feel welcome every time we see her.
NOTE: do protect yourself with mosquito spray. Apparently, we are not the only ones who love that place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mountaintreetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,259
    821
    262
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth it !!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Some of the best Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork and Festival (sweetbread) !!
It was on our "to do" list and its worth leaving your resort to experience this place. Its nothing fancy as its an outdoor type restaurant with basic table and chairs. The food is served in tin foil which was fine..all part of the experience. We had a ton of food for 2 people and a couple red strip beers and it was a grand total of $20 !! Amazing to see how they prepare the jerk food, very cool. Experience a little authentic Jamaica....worth it !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Rayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Delicious jerk chicken very close to our resort (Jewel Dunn). The guys were friendly and let us take some cool pictures. The setting is very charming.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Jamaican Jerk Chicken”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were out taking a tour with Peat Taylor Tour and mentioned that we wanted some good Jerked Chicken. The atmosphere at this restaurant is so nice to walked up to. You place your order at the cash register and then you get to walk past where they prepare the jerk meats. They have a lot of great outdoor seating and also a bar to get some wonderful adult Jamaican beverages. We dined on the Jerk chicken and pork, as well as, festival and yams. The festival reminded me a lot like funnel cake sticks back in the states without the powered sugar. Our favorite was the chicken it was so moist and full of yummy flavor. It definitely made a wonderful finish to our day! You guys rock, keep up the great work!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrookeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scotchies - Great Festivals”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stopped in on the way back for some Festivals. They were excellent. Place was clean and welcoming. Would gladly return the next time we are in Jamaica. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junior A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing