We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again - home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chillin' at Old Fort Bay
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Once again - home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Returned for a 1 night stay with family members (7 people total) and stayed in one of the 4-bedroom units this time. Lots of space, very clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff of 2 ladies took very good care of us - preparing a wonderful dinner and breakfast, just as we asked! They were even able to get through some of our laundry! I had forgotten juice on our shopping list, but the ladies went ahead and made limeade, otherwise, we would have had to go out to get something to drink with dinner! We did have time to enjoy the pool and take a short walk to the nearby beach.....nice touch for an evening of relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank island-gal-in-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Spent a short while in a 2 bedroom unit with some friends. The pictures on the web do not do justice to the units at all. They are wonderfully furnished and very comfortable. Sheree (our housekeeper) prepared tasty Jamaican dishes and took wonderful care of our every need. The grounds are immaculate and the courtyard area very inviting for meeting up with friends. I did not use the pool but instead, walked to the beach - which was just a very short walk down the road. The beach has lounge chairs for your use, so no need to bring any along!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank island-gal-in-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Not my first visit to Chillin' and certainly won't be the last! Went down with a group of friends for a joint birthday re-union. We were well taken care of in every way. Beautiful, restful surroundings... perfect to sit back and catch up with friends. Accommodations were first-class... clean, attractive, modern and well-kept. Pretty grounds to lounge around in. The staff out-did themselves and were always pleasant, friendly and just a joy to have around us! Food... excellent!

Beach is just a short walk down a quiet neighbourhood. Nice, sandy and warm waters! Ideal really!

Room Tip: Lovely garden views mostly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicolagk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

This is by far a hidden gem away from all the crowds. The facility was great, the staff was outstanding, a short walk to the beach and the room were great. Like all villas in this category, you must remember to purchase your food so the staff can cook your meals. The staff is with you from 8-5pm and they can stay longer if required for an additional fee.

One more thing, unless you have friends here, make sure to get a car, because you're away from the big cities and walking to the store is not available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cunni1jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Spent 10 lovely, relaxing days with my husband, 19-year son and his friend in late August. The setting was so relaxing, and the hospitality and warmth of the Chillin staff unforgettable. We loved the central lawn/courtyard set-up and enjoyed many delightful cocktails and great social moments with other guests in the pool after lazy afternoons at the private beach. The villa is tastefuly appointed, spacious and meticulously maintained. Our cook was fabulous and took care of grocery shopping and "going to market" after developing a creative menu which offered every taste of Jamaican cuisine! Convenient central location - close to Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain, Enchanted Gardens, good golf courses and the famous Scotchie's Jerk centre. Margaritaville (just 5 mins away) was a great nighttime attraction for the boys. Easy day trips to Port Antonio and Montego Bay. We have already chosen Chillin as the venue for a 25-person family re-union in 2011 - we'll take 3 of the 6 villas, and can hardly wait to bring back the expanded family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChillawayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I recently stayed at Chillin' at Old Fort Bay with my significant other. We adored this Villa! It is very particular and different from others. First of all, it is situated in a nice quarter close to Ocho Rios, very calm and pleasant with its own private beach and swimming pool. At the same time, we were far from the tourist crowd. Secondly, the staff was superb; they cooked daily meals that were simply delicious! And finally, the rooms were nice and clean and really top notch! In fact, there are several bathrooms...one for each bedroom. The bedroom has an enormous bed, which is made like a cloud in the night sky, so there are stars everywhere and ambiance is tender. I will certainly come back to this fabulous Villa!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

A few minutes to all the excitement of Ochi but a retreat from the crowd. Great for families and couples alike. Definitely the Chillin spot in Ochi.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
2.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
2.2 mi away
Cannon Villas
Cannon Villas
#6 of 32 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillin' at Old Fort Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillin' at Old Fort Bay

Property: Chillin' at Old Fort Bay
Address: Old Fort Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chillin is set in lush tropical gardens and boasts a pool. The property is just 3 minutes away from a gorgeous private white sand beach, and just 5 minutes away from Ocho Rios and all the area attractions. The property offers 1 to 4 bedroom (each bedroom has its own bathroom) fully equipped townhouses or apartments, each with its own housekeeper/cook who will cater to your needs for the duration of your stay. Each bedroom is air conditioned, and each townhouse / apartment has an internet connection, and cable television. It really gives you the opportunity to experience an authentic Jamaican holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chillin' at Old Fort Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillin` At Old Fort Bay Hotel Ocho Rios
Chillin' At Old Fort Bay Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing