We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that Great”

Hong Kong International Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 114 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not all that Great”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had been hearing about the place for years and always thought why would I want Chinese food while in Jamaica! But this time decided to give it a try and wondered why all the hype. Yes, large portions, could easily share a meal but tasteless. We both had shrimp dishes with soup as a starter and nothing was good, yes it was eatable but lacked real flavor and at the end of the day spent $50US, which I thought was too expensive, would not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great for Big Portions”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was a Monday night and could not find many restaurants open. It was not very crowded and we were not sure since it did not look that nice and was just about empty. But, the food was good and the portions large. In fact we only ordered 2 entrees and brought back about half the food to our Condo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I do try not to eat chinese while im on holiday and stick to more local dishes but as Ochi doesnt have a large collection of restaurants we went here and im glad we did. It was one of the cheaper meals we had all holiday and the food was delicious.
The only complaint was that our drinks arrived after we had eaten starter and half way through our main course.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food for a Good Value”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Chinese food on main street in Soni's Plaza. Nice atmosphere. Prompt service for both take out as well as dining. Portions are large and can be shared. Large selection on the menu as well as full bar for all cocktails. The wait staff is pleasant and willing to meet your every need. Jewel to eat at.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msfong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food with large portions”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I came to this restaurant on a Wednesday night, we were seated quickly and asked if we wanted drinks. There were quite a few tables filled with diners and a very large party of chinese people, some of whom seemed to work there, so it didn't feel empty. There is a large choice of dishes and a good selection for non-meat and fish eaters. The food tasted very fresh and clean (non-greasy) and the portions were large. The waitress wasn't very friendly despite it being my mums birthday (we brought a small cake) and she only perked up once it was time to pay and there was a possibility of a tip. Still worth a visit if you are looking for something other than Jamaican food and I would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetJamaicaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong International Restaurant also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Hong Kong International Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing