We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific course!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Golf & Country Club

Sandals Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular choice among golfers in the know, this spectacular course has 120 acres of lush flowers and plants.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific course!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My hubby went twice to this course and really enjoyed himself!! His caddie was terrific and knew all of gimmicks needed to make things go well for him!! He can't wait to go back1

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHMH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    68
    19
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

It was a beautiful course. Didn't really like that we had to have a caddy. However, our caddy was a great guy and made the day fun and not awkward.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“OK golf course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is an inland course, no water views, with changing elevation. Reminded me of Carambola in St. Croix or somewhat like Mahogany Run in St. Thomas, minus the ocean holes. Greens were tiny and extremely slow. Course was overall in good shape but you can tell it's an older course. Certainly not a top-tier course for the islands, but not a baked-out remnant like those in Antigua or Grenada. Caddy was friendly, generally good with yardage and fair with putts. No water on the course--had to buy it from the cart girl who I only saw once during the (quick) round. Off season mid-morning pace of play was great--walked as a single with the caddie and course was empty. Saw another single ahead of us in a cart but never caught him and was done in 2 hours and 40 minutes. 19th hole was slow -- 30 minutes to get a basic burger. Good diversion if you're staying at Sandals but only worth the $ one time for the non-Sandals guest unless you're extremely bored.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf at Ocho Rios”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Required to have a caddy $17. Cart fee is extra. The course is in beautiful shape. Takes roughly 15 minutes to take the shuttle from the resort to the golf course. First bus leaves a little after 7 a.m. Last bus leaves resort at around 1 p.m. No troubles getting tee times. If you want breakfast you have to take it to go or eat very quickly as the restaurants open at 7 a.m. There are no hassles in getting your food to go so this isn't really a problem. The caddies were great. Tip is expected $10 - $30 depending on how much you like your caddy. They do not work for the resort, just tips so it is good to pay them for their help. My caddy was fantastic. Most are scratch golfers and know what they are doing. My caddy was awesome. He helped me pick clubs, take shots, even helped me improve on my alignment and putting stroke. Cheered me on. You keep your same caddy throughout the week as well. You can store your bags at the club for future use throughout your stay. The course isn't super long but very scenic, in great condition, and offers beautiful views of the Jamaican greenery. The course if VERY walkable with the caddy and if you are decently in shape (my 69 y/o dad walked the course just fine in 80 + degree weather but then again, he walks lots of rounds). Loved every moment. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jessikimkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Even though I don’t golf, I walked the course with my husband during one of his rounds. It was a pleasant walk with great views of local flora (and fauna). (I even sampled some fresh mangoes along the course.) The course staff and caddies were quite friendly. My husband described the course as “good to play while on vacation”. There are some technical holes, but not it is not too challenging.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandals Golf & Country Club also viewed

Sandy Bay, Hanover Parish
 

Been to Sandals Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing