We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Shaw Park Gardens & Waterfalls
Ranked #15 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful, well-kept gardens just a short walk from the center of town.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We very much liked learning about all the native plants and what they use them for. SOme were used medicinally: like nutmeg can be placed under the tounge for motion sickness, who knew?? It also had a beautiful spring from the mountain and was just gorgeous.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doctorheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Loved it. Well maintained. A total treat to visit. Thanks Jamaica!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindahannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a must for every visitor”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A national treasure. Don't miss this excursion! This is a perfect place to have a wedding, right near the Waterfalls.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank karinsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A haven in the crazyness”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the only place where we got peace and quiet during our entire week in Jamaica. We recommend taking a taxi to and from Shaw Park. The ride was $25US for the roundtrip. There are sketchy, dirty rastas with machetes on the road so if you don't mind passing them feel free to walk. The entrance fee was $10 each and it includes a guide. We didn't want the guide and walked around on our own. Beautiful, tranquil place with a waterfall. The waterfall is very nice and you can go in it if you like. It is a small place and the tour groups advised us to go to a new garden Turtle River instead - but we went to Shaw Park since it is the original. It was not overrun by tourists. There was a great view of the city of ocho rios,which looks much nicer from above.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messery
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is paradise!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We liked everything: the falls, the vegetation, the birds, the insects, the smells, the noises.Please keep it this way! It is beautiful!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MEHMessery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaw Park Gardens & Waterfalls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Shaw Park Gardens & Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing