We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great spot - old time service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great spot - old time service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Jamaica Inn is well located on a beatiful beach. The food, is very good, and the 'white glove' service is more typical of the old times and well above the ordinary hotel brands. Something worth the trip, and made our romantic vacation very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    110
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
794
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was my 7th trip to Jamaica in several years. For some reason, the Jamaica Inn, a property reigning on Jamaican authenticity, had never been brought to my attention.
Yes, it was opened half a century ago but it is not getting old at all.
Tradition, class and island vibes are harmoniously mixed in this boutique hotel.
Rooms have extremely rare features such as outdoor living rooms, some of their with the turquoise sea a foot away. The cottages are as private as you can dream. Ours had a ladder into the ocean.
Food is great, with original local dishes.
Service is lively, high end but not formal. My wife got many Yes Man which draw a smile, each time. As for the surroundings, hit to see on a small boat from Smitty and verify, as you did, that the Jamaica Inn is set on the best beach around. But allow yourself a stop at laughing waters.
We regret... the quality of the night life in Ocho Rios. You are better, after a day of excursions at Dunns River, enjoying the hotel entertainment by the beach. A cool option is the fire they can do for you on the sand, privately.
Jamaica Inn remains a testimony of Jamaica with a touch of British influence, which denotes so favorably vs the All Inclusive invasion.

Room Tip: Ask for room 17 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Overseasintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had the privilege of staying at Jamaica Inn for a few days on a tour of Jamaica.
It is simply gorgeous – I thought the white sandy beaches you see in pictures would be different in real life…no there better.
This is a simply stunning hotel, they make you feel very welcome and the rooms are brilliant…
I’d suggest going with a partner, but it would also be fun with a friend who wants to soak up the rays and the rum.
One of the girls we met was having one of those of those dream honeymoons…and I can see why.
If you are looking for a hotel in Jamaica – you simply won’t go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: I think every room is good - mine was in main building and it was great...I saw a couple of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I loved this property, from the moment we arrived. We had a premier verandah suite overlooking the sea, it was awashed in white which was quite relaxing.

The room was beautiful, the verandah was a large open air living room with a panoramic view of the sea and mountains. We were lulled to sleep each night by the waves outside our door- perfection.

The food was amazing, but quite expensive by any standard, .however there are restaurants close by which are not as expensive, then again not as good.

Grounds are immaculate, and most times we found ourselves alone on the beach. It was like having our own private paradise.

The star of this property is undoubtably the staff especially Georgia (sweet Georgia Brown), She is the beach bar and was always accommodating to make the crazy drinks I asked for. All the staff were friendly and eager to please. Around but never intrusive.

I could go on, but all the praise this hotel has gotten are spot on. We shall return.

Room Tip: If you cannot afford the cottages, the premier verandah suites especially on the water are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viaggiopics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had never been to Jamaica and were looking for a quick, relaxing trip. I had read all of the wonderful reviews of the Jamaica Inn and we took the plunge.
We stayed in Cottage 3, which was spectacular. The cottage was huge and there were four separate outdoor seating areas. The private plunge pool was the perfect place to relax and watch the boats go by. We even had two private staircases that led directly into the sea, where we spent time just floating about.
The bathroom was amazing- an indoor and outdoor shower, a soaking tub and two sinks. This is the first place I have ever been where there have been more than enough towels and plenty of toiletries.
The food was very good- we were lucky to be there for their Sunday brunch, where we tried many of the delicious local foods and the desserts were scrumptious. And our new favorite drink is the Kir Royale, which they served at brunch. Other favorites were the banana pancakes at breakfast and the lobster tail for dinner.
We took a garden tour with Henry, and if you are there on Tuesday and Saturday, you must take the tour. He was so knowledgeable and interesting and he showed us so many things we would have otherwise overlooked.
We had a Couples' Moonlight Massage at the spa and it was heavenly! All you hear were the waves and the tree frogs, and the masseurs were wonderful. Do not miss this.
The entire staff was friendly and professional, and Kingsley was particularly helpful. Anything that you needed, they would bring you right away. Kyle, the GM, was always around, making sure everything was to our satisfaction.
People have commented about the mosquitoes and there are a lot. I got bitten up, but they didn't bother me or itch, so it wasn't a problem. I brought mosquito repellent with me and it was fine.
We will definitely return to the Jamaica Inn and Cottage 3. It was the most relaxing, romantic vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 is wonderful- it is on a corner and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bookchickdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have been to JI several times and it never disappoints. If your ideal vacation includes a tranquil, gorgeous beach with luxurious pampering this has it all. The restaurant is first class with a variety of delicious choices. Dining outside with the beautiful canopy of stars, the lapping waves, and the candlelit settings makes dinner an unforgettable experience. But then, the whole time spent at JI is unforgettable. Couples massages on the cliff overlooking the sea; planter's punch served as you lounge under your own palapa on the beach; taking a dip by yourself during the early morning; afternoon tea sitting on the comfy sofa on your outdoor veranda which overlooks the beautiful, turquoise water; the morning song of the many birds which sing from the beautiful, lush trees and flowering vegetation... sigh. Heaven.

Room Tip: The deluxe veranda rooms are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had our honeymoon at JI in 2007 and decided to revisit after searching for a luxury resort in the Caribbean and deciding there is no place like "home"! This time we decided to stay in the amazing cottage 7 for a magical two weeks on the all inclusive option.

First thing is the room - or villa which it basically is - big open space with lots of seating downstairs with long sliding doors opening up to the amazing terrace with pool. The picture on the website does cover most of it.....although it far exceeds the photos! The only thing it doesn't mention is the outside shower by the steps down to the water which, if you wanted to swim in the sea (which we did not) it is an excellent place to rinse off. Totally fantastic.

Upstairs: Up the gorgeous wooden steps to the bedroom with outside verandah, big bathroom and dressing room featuring a egg bath and an indoor and outdoor shower. Outdoor shower is private enough although you do need to be careful of passing boats!!

Generally the position of Cottage 7 is tranquil. We did have a small issue with noise from the neighbouring resorts "party boat" but this was during the day and only a few times over the fortnight. A bit annoying at the time but a slice of heaven nonetheless. Other than that I would just say you could here dogs barking from a nearby property in the night.....but I am a very very light sleeper so probably wouldn't stop other people sleeping.

Now the room is covered - I will go onto management. As previously mentioned our last visit was a number of years ago during the management of the previous GM. We did become worried initially when hearing there was a new GM but Kyle was utterly fantastic. A lovely, personable and genuine guy who made us feel so special and really made our stay. The few issues we had were sorted immediately and Kyle always made sure you are ok and happy. He really is fantastic - even chatting to us about common interests at length and ensuring every need we had was met. We even received a card in the post after our return thanking us for our comment card. I know that Kyle will see that the few shortfalls we mentioned are taken care of.

Housekeeping is my next point. Generally the housekeeping is fantastic, although a little unpredictable on timing. I would say the general attitude of all staff in the hotel is amazing. The housekeeper even bothered to mention as we went past her in the corridor to tell me she was spraying the room as she knew I was getting mosquito bitten. I was so touched she had bothered to mention it. The staff at the JI are so dedicated and the premium you pay for staying here is worth every penny.

Bar and restaurant service is exceptional. Your favourite drinks are ordered before you've even finished (we were all inclusive -a must by the way) and a particular shout out to the bar staff who ensured we had a full 14 days barely without a drink in our hands....especially welcome in 33deg+heat.! The cocktails of the day were also amazing. The Pineapple Martini will be a favourite of mine forever :) A shut out to Johnson who amazingly recognised us from last time. He has a wonderful smile and is always happy to serve and have a friendly chat to e how you are. We remembered Johnson from 2007 and were so happy to see him still at JI. We hope he is there when we go back - wouldn't be the same without.

The food is as always fantastic. Varied menu featuring vegetarian options as well as lots of lovely meat and fish dishes. The beach barbecue food was so much improved than our previous visit and had a special atmosphere. Towards the end of the stay we took advantage of breakfast and lunch on our terrace overlooking the sea. So special.

The evening entertainment is limited to the dinner band playing for after-drink cocktails but this is all the JI has to do. Perfect atmosphere to sit and relax after a big dinner with lots of wine - we loved it when one of the senior waiters was singing....really added to the magic.

We absolutely love this place and staying in cottage 7 (if you can afford it) is the ONLY place to stay. We will be back once we have saved up again.

I could go on and on but will leave it there. It was amazing the first time we visited but this time the Jamaica Inn has far exceeded its own high standard. There's nowhere like it! Thank you to Kyle and all his team.

Just a side note - Kingston airport has had a major upgrade since 2007 and is air-conditioned and up to international airport standards. I would thoroughly recommend the Kingston Club at the airport. Free to BA Business/Club Class passengers but about £30pp for anyone. We were delayed and it made it an easy (7hr) wait!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.3 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing