We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamaica Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbus Heights(Ocho Rios)
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
1,255
129
27
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
129
27
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach barwhite suiteplanters punchcroquet lawnbalcony suitemarilyn monroebeach wingblack labblue cottagechef mauricepremier verandahthe cottageswelcome homegarden tourall inclusive planall inclusive option
Filter
Updating list...
857 - 862 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived late on a friday after a grueling drive to Ocho Rios (very Dangerous if you drive there from Kingston be very very careful on the roads) and were recieved by lovely staff who treated us as family.
The rooms are not so big but we got the best room with a view of the enitre resort. if you're the active type than this place is NOT for you, no TV in the rooms and not much to do there but CHIIIIILLLLLLLL, the food is no attraction either, best to drive out to some great restaurants nearby like TOSCANINI - great Italian Res. in any case, we had the beach to ourselves and most of the pool, great private beach and nice (but expensive) beach-bar.
The owners were on the premises all the time but that's a good thing since they're so nice and welcoming.
we had a great time and we'll be back, just don't fall for the all inclusive package, it's unecessarilly expensive and not really worth it.

Room Tip: If you're not booking the ground floor suite try to get yourselves room no. 50, it's the one with the greatest view ever
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had the opportunity of staying 3 days & 2 nights at the Jamaica Inn. We arrived in the afternoon on Saturday and after taking a moment to check-in, we were greeted with complimentary cocktails and accompanied to our cottage to offload --- not before the Reservation Clerk reminded us to enjoy the rooms, but be sure to come back outside --- lol!

The cottage was most tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and beckoned romantically. The view of the Caribbean sea, encapsulating. Our cottage has it own heated infinity pool and access to the sea, outdoor shower and lounge area, a sprawling living room with an almost 180 degree view of the outdoors.

We tried to get caught up in more external activities...but for the our cottage which was an experience in and of itself. Every meal we devoured left a very good impression on our tummies --- very well prepared, presented and satiating.

We need to commend the Jamaica Inn staff who to put it no other way, 'treated us like family'...very eager to please and made it their point of duty to assure comfort. We look forward to our next visit.

Until then...I am about to watch/participate in turtle hatching as recommended by our Concierge.

Xo.

Room Tip: Villa #7 has to be the best, can't imagine any others topping this experience.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

WHAT A LITTLE "PARADISE'' in heaven talk about its all in the details the pics show it all/the beach is right there extremely clean and the grounds are manicured the area is shaded with palm trees why go to the south pacific? 5 star service at 2 to 3 star rates the ride from montego bay takes 1 hr and 1/2 straight run. the inn has all the amenities you could possibly want

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 833JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

For a true vacation in the Carribean, Jamaica Inn is the place. Before we introduce you to the resort itself, let's review a few tips in getting there.

First, the preferred airport has to be Montego Bay (MBJ). Reason being is the taxi ride to Ocho Rios is more-or-less a straight-shot along the ocean, which provides some excellent scenery. Expect to pay around $100 one-way. Shop around online for "tours and transfers". If you don't have a reservation for a taxi upon arrival, just avoid "taxis" that do not display an approved taxi decal. It will have the year of validation on it and MUST be visible on the windshield.

The ride will be roughly 90 minutes, give or take in the event you want to stop for photos. The entrance to the resort is very unassuming...no grand entrance, no glitz. In fact, it's well of the main road and rather secluded.

You will be greeted at the taxi by a member of the resort's staff. The "front desk" is not your usual reception desk...it looks more like a reception window. But upon completing the check-in paperwork, you will be introduced to breathtaking views of the beach and ocean. The pictures that are posted on their website do not do justice to the beauty of the resort. You will be afforded a complimentary beverage upon arrival, as well as every day on the beach. Word of advice...if you take a Planter's Punch, be ready for the "punch". Rum is a staple of many of the drinks in Jamaica.

We had a veranda room (rm 19), which afforded amazing views of the ocean to the west (and gorgeous sunsets) and a very short walk to the beach out the front door. The room has a feel like you were taking a step back in time, however it has all the modern-day conveniences.

The management and staff gets high marks. Each day starts with free coffee, and the management greets you and takes time to talk to about, well, just about anything. The staff is very accomodating and polite. Do not hesitate to approach any of them for anything.

The beach is never crowded. It is protected by outcroppings of rock to the east and west, so there are no others but hotel guests there. We had the same umbrella and chairs each day...never having to "stake a claim" to anything. The water was warm with light waves and the sand is pristine.

The food was fantastic. The restaurant serves food all-day, having the standard breakfast, lunch and dinner menus, yet it also has a "Between Meals" menu as well. If you don't see anything on the dinner menu that suits your fancy, just ask. We wanted lobster one night and the management saw to it we had it.

As a side note, if you want to journey off the property, go on a day when the cruise ships are in port. You will be less of a target for the street vendors.

I can't say enough about our experience

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary_Denise_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Jamaica Inn to celebrate our first anniversary. A year ago we stayed at the Ritz in St. Thomas, USVI and left with a long list of "could have done betters." Not so for this trip. The Jamaica Inn is exquisite. The staff is excellent. Patrice was our favorite (although, as HIMYM fans, we couldn't stop saying her name to each other with enthusiasm). Georgia at the beach bar was also great. I wish we would have gone here for our honeymoon.

Recommendations:
1. Definitely arrange for private transportation from the airport. Our travel agent had us on a group bus from MBJ and Jamaica Inn was the very last stop, the 1.5 hr trip turned into almost 3 hrs. On the return, we sucked it up and had Paul (one of JI's recommended drivers) take us back. We were able to leave at 11 am instead of 8:30 am on the bus. 2.5 more hours in paradise was worth every penny.
2. Bring bug spray. Mosquitoes love me and the few that were there found me.
3. Take the boat to Dunn's River Falls. Through the front desk you can arrange for Tony or Marvin to take you on the water to Dunn's River Falls. It was $70 and totally worth it. We thought we would go around 11, but Charlene wisely recommended we leave at 8:30. As a result, we were able to climb the falls pretty much by ourselves. As we were leaving, the throngs of cruise-goers and Sandals-stayers were arriving. Oh, however, if you plan to do this, bring Keane's or other water shoes you can wear. Flip flops won't cut it. Marvin charged us $7/pair for hole-y water shoes, I did feel a bit ripped off on that point. Another nice thing about the boat ride is that you get to see the other resorts. Sandals barely has a beach, many others in Ocho Rios are on cliffs above the ocean with little access to the water. It made us more appreciative of Jamaica Inn's amazing beach.
4. Go to the Manager's Cocktail Party. Kyle Mais hosted a lovely cocktail party in the White Suite on Tuesday night. It was fun to meet some of the other guests and see the lovely, private suite. There was not much interaction otherwise among the guests, so this was nice.
5. Try to understand the tipping scenario. I'm still confused by this. There is a 15% service charge on pretty much everything at Jamaica Inn, but apparently that is not truly "a tip"? One night Rupert came to our room and asked if we needed anything before he shut down the beach bar. He brought us 6 Red Stripes which we put in our fridge. Then he hovered and hung around until I realized that he was lingering because he wanted a tip. I was annoyed as by my calculations, each of those Red Strips were costing us $10 ($7.50 plus 10% tax plus 15% service charge). I guess he did exert some extra effort, but the next day we had our driver stop at the nearby gas station to buy a few six packs so as not to continue to be gouged.
6. Don't bother leaving Jamaica Inn for meals. We did go to Evita's on Sunday night. It was quiet and does have a nice view. We also went to Scotchie's which was a long drive and not very good. It was empty and we ended up with dried out jerk chicken and pork. The corn on the cob was not cooked all the way. It was disappointing. The food at Jamaica Inn was delicious. The first night my husband and I were sitting on the deck drinking cocktails after the sunset and one of the staffers told him that he had to go back to the room to put on a collared shirt or we had to leave. We knew about the dress code, so this wasn't a big deal, but we didn't realize that it applied outside of the dining area. it worked out for the best as we had our meals sent to our room and we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the table in our outdoor living area.
7. Get a massage. We went to the ocean side spa for a couples massage and it was excellent (and I think it was less expensive than where we usually go at home). So relaxing to have a massage and hear the ocean in the background.

We are not in a hurry to return to Jamaica, but if and when we do, Jamaica Inn will definitely be on the top of our list!

On my ratings, I only gave 4s on Service (because of the tipping irritation), value (because you definitely pay for what you get), and location (because it is far from the airport). If I could have given 4.5's, I would have.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, not sure you could go wrong.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likeprairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews